We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Siemsens Gaard
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Svaneke
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although we got the smallest room on the second floor it was a nice stay, and the garden is beautiful. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the view from the restaurant.
We did not meet any staff in the reception but that is probably because we were late in the season and not so much people around

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Unnur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The big plus here if the weather is good is the view over Svaneke´s harbour from the terrace. We had Salmon and Sild for lunch which was very fresh and good quality, but nothing really special. Prices were a little high compared to the good but average food. Service was ok. If you are on a trip I recommend Siemsens Gård for lunch or maybe just a glass of wine to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent four days at this lovely old hotel which has been operating as an Inn/Hotel since around 1662. The room was comfortable, very clean and roomy. The hotel staff were very helpful and professional. Our room included half pension (breakfast and Dinner included) the breakfast included a wide variety of items which were wonderfully presented. Dinner meals were varied to include fish, veal and steak and were nothing short of First Class. If you plan on spending some time on Bornholm I highly recommend this charming hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomc879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a small hotel across from the water overlooking a marina. Overnight stays include an European breakfast and dinner is also served. In town location allows walking to all the shops and restaurants. An outdoor sitting area and private terraces allow for a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Ask for room with a garden terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect Danish village. We stayed three nights and had three memorable dinners and three wonderful breakfasts in a beautiful dining room with a view of the harbor. Our room had a view as well and also a kitchenette and comfortable seating area. The staff was helpful in outlining day hikes, including places to stop for lunch. Bikes were available for rent right on the premises. We had no car but came by train, ferry and bus from Copenhagen. Everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highmtnhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a two day group trip to Bornholm. Location at the harbour side is really nice - the view is spectacular. An at the same time you are right in the middle of the small, cosy town Svaneke. Rooms are ok, but nothing special. We found that the service was good; reception, beautiful garden as well as in the restaurant. The food we had including breakfast was very good. Will definitely be back here during next visit to Bornholm. Note they have 3 night offer (you pay for 2 nights only) during September 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The location is amazing! its right by the habor in the lovely little coastal town of Svaneke. We stayed there for two nights and honestly the location makes this place - and thats it. When its all said and done - at the end of the day you are shelling out around 150 US a night. Lets just look at what you get:

1) unbeatable location. Right by the water. Spot on
2) A lovely flowery garden - though quite windy as you are about 100 feet from the ocean
3) very mediocre and overpriced rooms.
4) Expensive food that is only so-so
5) A completely disorganized service. Most of the staff are untrained and uncaring students who work there for summer only. Considering that the place want to brand itself as "up-scale" thats just not going to cut it.
6) A reception thats never open - well not when we needed it. No one to call, no one.
7) a reactive staff rather than a proactive approach. Staff is helpful in trying to resolve your issues - but fact is that the problems we had could have been easily avoided by spending a few bucks...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svaneke
8.5 mi away
Hotel Klippen
Hotel Klippen
#2 of 3 in Gudhjem
66 reviews
17.7 mi away
Griffen Spa Hotel
Griffen Spa Hotel
#1 of 8 in Roenne
30 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel GSH, Green Solution House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Skovly
Hotel Skovly
#2 of 8 in Roenne
85 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Friheden
Hotel Friheden
#1 of 16 in Allinge
73 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Allinge
Hotel Allinge
#3 of 16 in Allinge
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siemsens Gaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siemsens Gaard

Address: Havnebryggen 9, Svaneke, Bornholm 3740, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Bornholm > Svaneke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Svaneke
Price Range: $140 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siemsens Gaard 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Siemsens Gaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Siemsens Gaard Svaneke, Bornholm, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing