We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old glory revisited”
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aegli
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Volos
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel offers although recently renovated offers an atmosphere from the past. Perfectly located just opposite the main port of Volos and in the town center offers a very convenient stay for business travelers and travel visitors alike. Breakfast is of an excellent quality and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ICH4239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your stable preference to Hotel Aegli.
It is moving to hear from customers who have visited the hotel in the past.
We thank you warmly for your positive feedback and we expect to have the chance to welcome you in Hotel Aegli soon.

The Hotel Aegli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aegli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been staying at the Aegli for more than 20 years, most recently in March, May and June 2013. It's in an ideal location - within walking distance to the ferry terminal and shops - the staff are friendly and the cost is reasonable. In the last two years it has undergone a transformation and has moved into the 21st century. The refurbished rooms are beautifully done with working bathrooms and wonderfully efficient - and quiet - air conditioning. BUT - not all rooms have been refurbished. You will be offered two prices - the new rooms and the old. It is really worth the 10 or so euros to stay in a new room. Breakfast is of a good standard. Rooms on the front have lovely views but can be noisy.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the refurbished rooms - it's worth the extra. Rooms on the side are quieter...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest,
we are touched to hear from dedicated customers.
Thank you for your preference and the time taken to write this review.
We are working on improving daily and we hope to have the rest of the rooms refurbished shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you again,

The Hotel Aegli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel has been refurbished in the last couple of years to become possibly the best boutique hotel in Volos! We stayed here for a night before our morning ferry to Skopelos. The hotel couldn't be closer to the port (just across the street from the main entrance) or the shops, cafes and restaurants of Volos.
The rooms are very good size with (really) high ceilings. The bathroom was immaculate, as it had never been used. Toiletries were of very good quality.
Soundproofing is very good, if you want to sleep with the balcony door closed so you can use the very efficient air conditioning.
Breakfast was also of very good standard

Room Tip: Hotel offers 10% discount for guests at the official Nike store (get a stamped business card from re...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest,
we are enthusiastic when we hear of enthusiastic guests!
Thank for your preference and the good words!
We hope to welcome you back soon,

The Hotel Aegli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night whilst travelling to the islands, having stayed here before (a few years ago) we knew that the location was perfect for the ferries. The hotel has had a complete refurb and is clean, light and modern with friendly and helpful staff. Spent a very comfortable night and had a nice breakfast before catching the ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for choosing us for your stay in Volos.
We are glad to hear your positive feedback.
We wish that we will have the opportunity to host you again in Hotel Aegli in the near future!

The Hotel Aegli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is very suitable for a city trip-tour.
It is located near the city port and the center-market.
All rooms are refurbished, modern-decorated and spotless.
The staff are very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Prefer a sea-view room !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KostisThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Palace H, Διευθυντής at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your preference in Hotel Aegli and for the time dedicated to write a review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in our hotel again in the future.

The Hotel Aegli team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

the Aegli was recently refurbished and it's very stilish. Situated on the seaside facing the port it offers quiet elegant rooms and good breakfast for a reasonable price. Free internet connection. Recommended for those travelling to the Sporades or for a longer stay in Volos

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank difficulta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Unfortunately, my experience had nothing to do with what I read in Tripadvisor's reviews. I guess that the double room in the third floor that I stayed was not renovated and certainly not well designed. No balcony for me, only a small window that left no light to the room. The bathroom was extremely small, one could hardly wash his hands. Although there was no outside noise, I could clearly hear the next room flushing the toilet after midnight.
However, the lobby looked an interesting place to be, and breakfast was tasty.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Maggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Volos
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 33 in Volos
410 reviews
3.5 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#15 of 33 in Volos
134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#8 of 12 in Portaria
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Address: 24, Argonafton Street, Volos 382 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Volos
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Aegli" hotel is the historic hotel of the town of Volos. Built at the beginning of the 20th century, located at the city center, by the seaside, it constitutes a timeless accommodation choice at Volos. "Aegli" hotel is located at the most privileged spot in town, with a fantastic view on Volos port. With special attention to detail and aesthetics in all hotel areas, we guarantee an unforgettable stay in a friendly, modern and luxurious environment. The hotel has 72 sleeping rooms, 6 of which are luxurious suites, and which have been radically renovated in 2012 and 2016. All of the rooms are equipped with a private bathroom with hair dryer, central heating, TV set, satellite TV, refrigerator and amenities. Start your day taking your breakfast at the American type buffet or drinking your coffee just a breath away from the gulf of Pagasetikos. Our multilingual and well trained staff is always at your disposal in order to serve you in the best manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing