We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel at the port”
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aegli
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Volos
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Aegli Palace hotel in mid September for business. I had a double room on the second floor, which was small, but had a large balcony at the side of the hotel (only a few of the rooms have balconies though). The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were very well designed to fully take advantage of the available space - indeed, the bathroom door was designed so as to avoid taking up space! The rooms were air-conditioned with double glazed windows, which was very good as the area is quite humid and just opening the window does not help that much (plus, there are mosquitoes outside, so make sure you get a mosquito repelling device from the reception). Housekeeping was excellent, everything was perfectly cleaned. The TV had some international programming. The complimentary WiFi operated well for all kinds of use.

Breakfast was served in an oddly shaped area (basically three joined rooms) and, unusually for Greece and the class of the hotel, included hot items. Everything was good quality and replenished quickly, and while the buffet was small, it handled a large tourist group that all went together for breakfast. Overall, very good value for money.

The hotel is located right on the passenger harbor and about a 10 minute walk from the train and bus stations. The area around the hotel is pay-to-park, and it's hard to find a spot anyway - if you have a car, you'd do better to use one the parking at the harbor for longer durations, or just park your card further inland where parking is free (allow for a 10 minute walk for this). The promenade in front of the harbor is full of restaurants and cafes, but they mostly cater to the temporary visitor. There are two streets running parallel to the harbor forming the center of Volos, and there plenty of choices there for everything. The traditional restaurants are mostly located next to the train station while the modern cafes are located on a street at right angles to the harbor a few blocks away from the hotel. I found that I could walk anywhere to central Volos in less than 15 minutes, without needing a car or public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xgeorgeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aegli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 323 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable hotel with nice room. Simply but complete breakfast. My room also had a nice view on the sea port. The location is perfect to take the boats for islands. In conclusion I advice that place in Volos

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KadinsKy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Excelent hotel,luxurious,very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast very tasty and probably one of the best.
Everything is very new.
I will definitely go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are excellent!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A really nice hotel to stay in Volos... we have perfect sea view from our balcony, very nice rooms and attractive reception...
After we left the hotel we got the ferry (just opposite the hotel) for Skiathos Island..!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlanetEarthTravel_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I missed the dolphin to Skiathos and had to stay overnight to Volos. Aigli hotel was the best possible hotel option.Comfy bed, spacious bathroom, polite reception, most convenient location. I will definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Despina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

excellent hotel, rooms are new, wifi is free, rooms are soundproof, bathroom is excellent and clean, there is even a free bottle of mineral water in the fridge. luxurios hotel with a very friendly staff at the reception. Breakfast is probably one of the best I never had. For the price of a double they gave me a triple!! It is in front of the port so to reach the boat you only need 5 minutes walking. Panorama from the room was fantastic. In Greece and in Volos it is difficult to fond beautiful hotels like this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oraldina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Nice hotel and nice spread on at Breakfast time. The hotel is on a sea front harbour promenade. They have internet access which is free . One computer for all the residents. The people are nice and helpful and there are a few fast food places for "gyros" if you want! The rooms are big and spacious and the beds are comfortable, not great but comfortable. The toilet and bath rooms are decent too. Has a tv in the room too.
All in all, good place, great transport links and close to the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as the others will have a window facing a wall
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iorek_0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Aegli, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear customer,

thank you for you preference and for taking time to write a review on your stay with us!

We take all comments seriously and we constantly try to enhance your stay. We are pleased to announce that we have just finished refreshing our rooms and renovating our lobby and cafe areas, and we invite you to indulge yourself with another weekend in charming Volos.

We look forward to hosting you again in Hotel Aegli,

Sincerely,

Fouad Mansour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Volos
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 33 in Volos
410 reviews
3.5 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#15 of 33 in Volos
134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#8 of 12 in Portaria
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Address: 24, Argonafton Street, Volos 382 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Volos
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Aegli" hotel is the historic hotel of the town of Volos. Built at the beginning of the 20th century, located at the city center, by the seaside, it constitutes a timeless accommodation choice at Volos. "Aegli" hotel is located at the most privileged spot in town, with a fantastic view on Volos port. With special attention to detail and aesthetics in all hotel areas, we guarantee an unforgettable stay in a friendly, modern and luxurious environment. The hotel has 72 sleeping rooms, 6 of which are luxurious suites, and which have been radically renovated in 2012 and 2016. All of the rooms are equipped with a private bathroom with hair dryer, central heating, TV set, satellite TV, refrigerator and amenities. Start your day taking your breakfast at the American type buffet or drinking your coffee just a breath away from the gulf of Pagasetikos. Our multilingual and well trained staff is always at your disposal in order to serve you in the best manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing