We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aegli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aegli
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Verona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

excellent hotel, rooms are new, wifi is free, rooms are soundproof, bathroom is excellent and clean, there is even a free bottle of mineral water in the fridge. luxurios hotel with a very friendly staff at the reception. Breakfast is probably one of the best I never had. For the price of a double they gave me a triple!! It is in front of the port so to reach the boat you only need 5 minutes walking. Panorama from the room was fantastic. In Greece and in Volos it is difficult to fond beautiful hotels like this one.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oraldina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    100
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
51
107
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Nice hotel and nice spread on at Breakfast time. The hotel is on a sea front harbour promenade. They have internet access which is free . One computer for all the residents. The people are nice and helpful and there are a few fast food places for "gyros" if you want! The rooms are big and spacious and the beds are comfortable, not great but comfortable. The toilet and bath rooms are decent too. Has a tv in the room too.
All in all, good place, great transport links and close to the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as the others will have a window facing a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iorek_0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Aegli, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear customer,

thank you for you preference and for taking time to write a review on your stay with us!

We take all comments seriously and we constantly try to enhance your stay. We are pleased to announce that we have just finished refreshing our rooms and renovating our lobby and cafe areas, and we invite you to indulge yourself with another weekend in charming Volos.

We look forward to hosting you again in Hotel Aegli,

Sincerely,

Fouad Mansour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mykonos
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We just came back from staying at this hotel for one night, we were lucky and had 2 front rooms with a balcony that you can at least see the water and harbour.

This is a the one of the oldest hotels there, which they have renovated, but with being so old no matter what they do, it really cant get better. The rate was 70 euros with breakfast and taxes included. There is one space of parking along the road, or you must go across the street and pay for parking, which wasnt a big cost and we did.

When we were taken to our room we either had to take a very old elevator, which is kind of scary, or walk a very long walk, up the stairs and around many hall ways which felt like being in a maze.

Our room was very small, with a shower bathroom which had a curtain, it has the tv on the dressing table, which I think should be put on the wall, as it takes up space. The towels were good, and they gave you slippers, which I defintely used, because what really turned me off was the carpet which was full of stains, and defintely needs changing or at least washed proffesionally.

They said that they are continuing to renovate, but it was difficult because it's open all year round.

I would stay there again if they changed their carpets.

The breakfast is with large selections, but their omelettes were watery, and the fried eggs were like plastic, they looked like they had been prepared alot earlier, maybe they had because they have 77 rooms and cant make them fresh.

If your there for one night I guess it is okay, and I looked around basically most of their hotels are in the same conditions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorergr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the hotel overnight in September on our wandering trip around Greece. The hotel was very reasonable in terms of tarrif, clean, good breakfast and the room had views of the harbour. It was a little run down overall but this wasn't a major issue. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

My title says it all. This place was filthy and the girl at reception so rude compared to everyone else we dealt with in Greece! The bathrooms were foul, the water in the shower backed up after two seconds, and they have the hide to call this place a 4 star! This was worse than a dodgy hostel. The only positive about this place is that it is located directly opposite the ferry port.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOzza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

The room was booked on occasion of a seminar in Volos.
The hotel is on the harbourfront just accross the entrance, into the heart of the city.
Parking is payed during shop and night hours and very difficult.

Actually it is two pre-war II hotels renovated and jointed in one. This makes corridors and lounges a little confusing.
The Hotel is in very good condition and very clean.
Our room was internal with a window overlooking a service shaft!
The furniture was new and simple but decoration was inexistant.

Breakfast is from an adequate buffet in a tiny restaurant in the basement.

Our stay in this kind of room was for two nights and was acceptable, given that the price was payed by the conference organizer.

  • Liked — new furniture, clean
  • Disliked — Internal room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volos hotels
0.8 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 32 in Volos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Volos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipseli Hotel
Kipseli Hotel
#18 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#3 of 12 in Portaria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#23 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.0 mi away
Protessilaos Hotel
Protessilaos Hotel
#28 of 32 in Volos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aegli

Property: Hotel Aegli
Address: 24 Argonafton, Volos 382 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Volos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aegli 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Aegli" hotel is the historic hotel of the town of Volos. Built at the beginning of the 20th century, located at the city center, by the seaside, it constitutes a timeless accommodation choice at Volos. "Aegli" hotel is located at the most privileged spot in town, with a fantastic view on Volos port. With special attention to detail and aesthetics in all hotel areas, we guarantee an unforgettable stay in a friendly, modern and luxurious environment. The hotel has 72 sleeping rooms, 6 of which are luxurious suites, and which have been radically renovated in 2012 and 2016. All of the rooms are equipped with a private bathroom with hair dryer, central heating, TV set, satellite TV, refrigerator and amenities. Start your day taking your breakfast at the American type buffet or drinking your coffee just a breath away from the gulf of Pagasetikos. Our multilingual and well trained staff is always at your disposal in order to serve you in the best manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Aegli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing