We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in a great location, highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iakovaki Suites & Spa
Ranked #27 of 373 Thessaly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were three couples staying in Iakovakis hotel for 4 nights in mid-September 2013.
The hotel is in an excellent location close to the main road and just minutes away from the beach, with a wonderful view of the area. This small boutique hotel , tastefully decorated, with spacious clean rooms, pool and spa and parking space.
Charming Thanos runs it with a smile and sympathy. Rich breakfast dishes are served fresh to the table.
We also ordered small dishes and drinks in the evening by the pool and it was excellent.
Great value for money.
This is one of the best hotels we have ever been to.
Sure we get back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank assaphf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Leaving behind the beautiful and unspoiled village of Agios Lavrentios we thought to spend one more night close to the coast before driving all the way up to the other side of Pelion again. It was our 11th day touring around the villages of Pelion, with one more week to go.

UNIQUNESS: The (hotel) and I have it in brackets because it is not actually the kind of hotel we all know. It is unique in its kind. It is not even a getaway with the way we use this word. It is the perfect place for couples who want to spend an extra special romantic stay, or for those who want to live the perfect romance. It is an adult stay only accommodation. Each room is a small suite and each of the 8 suites is different.

LOCATION: The hotel is in the southern part of Pelion close to the villages of Milies, Afisos and Kala Nera. The village of Koropi is not one of the popular ones but it does have a small sandy beach not very far from the suites and one or two taverns and some café bars. I would not encourage people to come here if they don’t have a car or if they are solo travelers.

THE SUITES: They are created to meet the expectations of demanding guests whose aim is to spend moments of tranquility, and romance. The mansion is set in a natural environment about 1.50 km from the beach and it is surrounded by olive groves. It is set amphitheatrically so most of the suites overlook the sea and have nice and spacious balconies with seats of bamboo chairs and stools.

INTERIOR: I would call it traditional architecture, the one we come across in most hotels and Guest houses in Pelion. The interior decorator has added elements that match well with stone and wood but also added modern facilities to create a combination of classic and at the same time trendy look. The 8 suites differ between them and have different colours and different facilities depending on the expectations, demands and budget of those interested.
Some suites include a fireplace, others are extremely modern with minimal lines with shower and a Jacuzzi for two in the room, and facilities that create the ultimate sensual atmosphere. Warm colours are used in the entire building with attention given to detail.

THE INDOOR POOL: The highlight of the whole property and the facility that makes this business unique is the fact that guests are able to book the Spa room with the sauna, the hamam (Turkish bath) and the indoor pool of the ground floor and have it exclusively for themselves on a free basis. I guess the best hour to use it can be during the night with candles on. So, guests have all the above for free on an exclusive use for 2 hours each day and this counts a lot as a special treat. The only thing for the guest is to decide when they wish to use it and book much ahead.
The Spa is nicely decorated with impressive materials in modern design that give a feeling that you are in your private luxurious estate. I guess this exclusive privacy is a moment that most guests look forward to.

Tip: There is not a therapist in the premises but if guests need extra treats or a massage this can easily be arranged by just a phone call. Only, let the reception know much ahead.

STAFF/SERVICE: Impeccable. I would call them professionals! Nothing is too much for Thanos and Yianni. They even recommended a nice tavern for us to dine that evening. Upon arrival we were offered a cool drink and the welcome was warm and friendly till the moment we left.
Unfortunately we did not have the chance to meet the owners as they were out those days.

OUR SUITE: The suite we had was the ‘Paradosiako’. It was on the ground floor right next to the reception. The word paradosiako means traditional and it did not actually differ from any other traditional suites I stayed. I cannot say that it was something outstanding and it is considered the cheapest alternative compared to the rest of the suites. It was spacious and clean all right, had a nice balcony overlooking the gardens and the parking lot but we could also catch a glimpse of the sea in the distance. We had a treat of some wine, and there were flowers in a vase. A normal 4* suite. By the corridor there was a little kitchen hidden behind doors but it seemed locked. I don’t know if ever has been used and for what reason. A safe and a mini fridge were also provided.
The bed was comfortable and had a peculiar yet nice design. I guess the room looks more beautiful in winter with the quilt on and a carpet. Honestly I was kind of disappointed having the cheapest suite!

Tip: It truly pays for the little extra to book a better suite. If it hadn’t been for those 2 hours I mentioned above in the private spa room on the ground floor, the main building and gardens are just like any other hotel in the area.

BATHROOM: The bathroom was quite spacious with a walk in shower room and there was a Shower with artificial rain. There were facilities like robes, plastic slippers, a hairdryer and the Oliva toiletries but I expected at least a hydro massage shower which was missing.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is served until 12:00 noon so it is no need to rush and this is good for those who wake up late. Unfortunately all tables were already reserved out in the terrace which means that we were the ones to get up late that day. We sat indoors but it was ok. It was nice and cool from the air conditioning. Well, it is the kind of breakfast I like, -white table cloth, fresh orange juice, a mixed omelet prepared right that moment, toasts, cakes, a huge mug of Greek coffee and finally a tasty homemade dessert out of the hands –Thano’s recipe, who seems to be an expert in his little kitchen….I need to get the recipe!

GARDENS: Beautifully surrounded by much greenery, blue-grass, a terrace bar and a stylish hammock, yet you hardly see anyone walking outside even if it is summer. We did have a walk out there for some photos late that night and only when somebody noticed the flash of my camera appeared in a distance to have a glimpse and disappeared again in seconds.

DINING OPTIONS: I did not come across the cellar and nobody mentioned anything about it as I saw it highlighted on the website of the property. I guess this has to do with special occasions and upon request. Of course other than a snack guests don’t eat here but the boys can recommend somewhere you can eat depending on what you really want. We wanted the real local tavern and Greek meze type of food. You cannot find a better one in the area, so I highly recommend ZORBAS. I was thrilled with the quality of everything, the service and the flavours. It is in the nearby village of Afissos.

EXPLORING/DINNING: I guess if you are here and you are in an upgraded suite there is no need to even bother get out of the premises. The amazing guys at the bar can send you up a nice snack. If you still want to go out I can highly recommend visiting Milina and Horto if you want to explore another village. There are amazing coves and lots of breathtaking natural beauty out there. In Milina I recommend lunch at STATHIS seafood tavern, and at Horto make a stop at the Olive Bay Café you will come across before reaching Milina. It is an amazing cove for swimming but snacks and drinks are highly rated.
If you drive to Kala Nera (5 minute drive) I highly recommend Paris Taverna for the authentic Greek cuisine and also check IBISKOS Café Restaurant. You can have beach beds and an umbrella which appear to be free as long as you buy a drink.

In all it was a nice stay, -it could have been more romantic if we had a better room I am sure. I recommend the business for all the above reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is just a perfect place for relaxing holiday or romantic trip. Suites are large, very comfortable, with obviously designer work. Everything made for relaxation and perfect accommodation. Staff extremely helpful and friendly! Whole complex is in quiet surrounding, with beautiful view to the sea. Everything made to provide you unforgettable stay. Excellent value for the price!

Room Tip: The suite with a sea view and jacuzzi is the best. Ask for "Enastron"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edobosarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Volos is always a great weekend getaway near Athens. It combines great sea and the fantastic mountain of Pelion.
With my partner we wanted a romantic weekend and we were informed about this wonderful hotel from friends. It is an adult, for couples only hotel, with small suites.
Room was very spacious, well equipped and clean. Balconies are overlooking on the sea which is ~2Km away.
They also have a spa center with internal swimming pool on the basement which you book it for private use for 2 hours per day, included in price. Breakfast was also brilliant.
Do not miss to go to the village of Milies which is less than 10Km away or to Afissos for swim.
Highly recommended to revamp your relationship. ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This feels more like staying in someone's beautiful home rather than a hotel. All the rooms are individually designed with fantastic attention to detail, although the design wouldn't be to everyone's taste. A slight criticism too, as in some instances it did seem like style over substance. The wardrobe doors for example opened in a very awkward way making it really easy to bang your head, the suede sofa was beautiful to look at, but didn't look very inviting to sit on! However it was a lovely room, with a nice big balcony and the house is set in beautiful grounds. The owner and staff, were unbelievably helpful and couldn't do enough for you. When we wanted to go for dinner one night and wondered whether to get a cab, the owner offered to drive us to the restaurant. Janine who was on duty most days was always incredibly helpful. An example was when one night we bought food and took it back to the hotel and Janine set up a table for us outside, made us a dressing, chilled our wine etc. I would love to go back to this hotel with a group of friends and take over the whole place. Perhaps we will one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greece1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were looking for a place in the area of Pelion (somehow you can not find pelion in TripAdvisor) . We found this place by chance in the internet .
As soon as we arrived we had an amazing welcome by a very very nice owners and a girl that works there and her name is Janine ,
We saw immediately that the place is one of a kind ! the hospitality was the best we ever had .
We took the Junior suits and the owner upgraded us (without asking for it) to a bigger suit.
In the suit we had a private Turkish Haman; Jacuzzi,little Kitchen hidden behind doors, 2 TV sets,DVD and MP3 / CD player . The bathroom was huge and so was the room with a great terrace and an excellent view . One side with mountains and Olive trees and at front ,the sea - just perfect ! Everything in one spot.
Price is very reasonable ,including a very nice breakfast on the terrace with a sea view.
i got so excited by the place that I had to see other rooms - as every room is different . All the rooms were amazingly equipped and I could stay in any room that I saw .
The Hotel has an outside pool and an inside hot pool with Jacuzzi jets in it . The inside pool is a huge room with furniture's and you can block 2 Hours for a private use from 10:00 till midnight every day ,no extra charge .
The place is open all year and in the winter you have in every room a big fire place.

We will be back for sure ! and being so impressed we have passed the info to all our friends as we really think it is a unique and very relaxing spot.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice . There is one room which is on the ground but you have great faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room was amazing, the hosts were so welcoming & kind. Breakfast was very yummi & made fresh to order. Pool was sooooo clear & clean. Seriously, we had an amazing stay & are defenitly coming back for more....

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraBaruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thessaly hotels
11.7 mi away
Volos Palace Hotel
Volos Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Volos
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Minelska Resort
Hotel Minelska Resort
#1 of 3 in Kala Nera
65 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Domotel Xenia Volos
Domotel Xenia Volos
#1 of 33 in Volos
429 reviews
9.7 mi away
Portaria Hotel
Portaria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Portaria
208 reviews
6.4 mi away
12 Months Luxury Resort
12 Months Luxury Resort
#2 of 6 in Tsagkarada
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iakovaki Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iakovaki Suites & Spa

Address: Koropi, Milies, Magnesia, 37010, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Thessaly
Price Range: $135 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iakovaki Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Iakovaki Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iakovaki Suites & Spa Greece/Thessaly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing