We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alkistis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alkistis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Skopelos
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a large-ish attractive complex of low-rise apartments built I believe around 20 years ago. It is a little way out of town in a very quiet rural setting. Around is all green and pleasant with good views to the bay to the south and the hills to the east. It is set in a good-sized plot and feels quite open. There is plenty of parking for hire cars. It is family run and has that feel - everyone is very helpful.

The room we had was in Block 'C'. This is furthest from the pool and amenities but the quietest and has the best views. We had a ground floor apartment which had a lovely bit of garden by the patio (see photo), a glimpse of the sea and stunning views up the hillside. For great sea-views you need an upstairs room. Decor is a little bit dated but although not in the full flush of refurbishment the rooms don't feel ready for a refit just yet. Still got a few years in them. Our room was huge with a dining table and 4 chairs and 2 massive sofa-beds. A large twin room was separate. Studios are smaller we believe. The apartment was kitted out well with a mini-cooker and kettle, toaster and coffee percolator and so on. All you need to self-cater but we ate out every day anyway. Breakfast was fresh fruit, yogurt, toast and coffee on the terrace.

The welcome-pack was one of the most generous I have seen! Coffee, tea, honey, olive-oil etc,! Fantastic! Enough to keep you going until the first shopping trip. We were self-catering so whether everyone gets this I don't know. The room was nearly perfectly clean except there were a few dead flies in the light fitting which one would have cleaned out in your own home. No issues with the supply of loo rolls etc.

Guests were a mixture - one family group and some young couples and a few middle-aged couples like us. There is plenty of space for kids to play including a play park with swings etc.

The pool is a big plus point! Very nice indeed. Clean and well maintained (they drain it every winter). It is very picturesque - and huge, with a swim-up bar open much of the time. Topless sunbathing was acceptable by the pool. The pool is very deep at one end - 3m at the deep end so good for diving (there is a spring board) but children need supervision. This is Greece where they are not too health and safety conscious (you often see a whole family on a motorbike, no one with helmets on!) So it is down to you. The pool has a toddler's end which is enclosed. The pool is well away from the 3 blocks of 2 story apartments. 'A' block is nearest (if you have older kids who want to use the pool but be near the apartment) - 'C' block furthest away (about 150m). Some people have said the music played by the pool was too loud - when we were there the music volume was quite low or there was no music on at all.

There were plenty of sun-loungers when we were there (late June). Whether there would be enough in high season - not sure. Some did get 'reserved' by guests which is annoying (by leaving personal towels/hats etc. overnight). The management should prevent that as it is intensely irritating, appears to be 'catching' (if one couple do it others think "We'd better grab some or they'll all be gone!") and extremely selfish.

There is a huge covered terrace right by the pool so if you get unlucky with the weather you could be by the pool but out of the rain. Likewise there is a vast living area inside the main building with loads of books, some games and toys, a TV area and so on. Even a piano! So if the heavens opened you would at least have somewhere to go other than your room.

They do a decent breakfast but we were self-catering so made full use of the nearby good-sized supermarket which sold all you need. This shop is no more than a 5 minute walk away.

There are more shops in town including a very good dive and snorkelling shop. This island is great for snorkeling and if you haven't tried it then give it a go! It really does open a whole new dimension to your holidays. Put a mask on and look under the water! Stunning! Put flippers on and you'll soon feel super-confident in the water as you can go so much further - it's like having Bionic legs! It doesn't take too long to learn how to use a snorkel. Practice in the bath! Anyway with those 3 things (get decent ones as they last much longer) you are set to explore a whole new world! I paid about £20 for goggles, £30-40 for good quality 'fins' as the pros call them and £16 for a snorkel. I found that my suitcase was still under the 20Kgs limit even with plenty of clothes and my snorkelling kit packed.

One slight downside is that the hotel is a fair walk from Skopelos town. Whilst you can walk in and back - about 15-20 mins each way - there is no footpath and it is not a particularly pleasant walk. Remember as they drive on the right you need to walk on the left - facing the traffic. It is never too busy though: not many cars. We took 2 small pocket torches which are about £5 each and offer a bit of safety/visibility. The hotel runs a shuttle bus but that stops at 11pm. High season - July onwards - 11.30pm. However that is not that late in Greece - you may need a taxi which is €5-7 one way. But as we discovered the taxis stop about 1am whilst bars remain open to about 2am (there is an all-nighter for the younger folk!) so you may get caught out. We were lucky and a very nice Australian girl working in the bar we were in gave us a lift and refused any payment. But you can't rely on that!

Car hire is fairly cheap - we paid €30 a day for a brand new baby Hyundai 110 which did everything we needed. You don't really need a jeep unless you are happy to pay the extra for the image - and the chance to explore the dirt tracks that are fairly common on the island. The staff will arrange car hire for you and the car delivered to your door. And we were able to deliver ours back to the harbour on the day we left which was convenient.

Boat hire on the other hand was expensive in our opinion - €90 the cheapest, €130 for a better boat - and you need to book ahead at least one day. We decided against it as we felt if all we did was find a remote beach accessible only by sea, where we stayed all day then it would be a bit of a waste of money to pay for a boat to get there. A nice idea but a bit of a luxury.

People have mentioned sleep quality and the barking of dogs and the crowing of cocks. Well - dogs do bark and cocks do crow. But they never bothered us. If you have a real issue with being woken then I genuinely suggest ear-plugs. I for one am quite ok with waking up and thinking - hey, still got loads of sleep time before I need to get up! And - back to sleep! The cocks have a very lethargic crow - I found it quite soothing! And the dogs bark in the late evening - saying their doggie goodnights to their doggie friends dotted all over the island - and in the morning too. But this is common on Greek islands particularly the less developed ones such as this one (you need to drive very carefully as you may turn a corner and find goats all over the road or come round a bend and encounter a man on a donkey!).

The island is very noisy as far as wildlife is concerned - cicadas are a continuous aural backdrop wherever you go on the island, "singing" from early morning to mid-evening. The chirruping is amazingly loud - 120 decibels I read somewhere for each one! And they are joined all day by the softer sound of the crickets. When the cicadas decide to stop the crickets carry on for another hour or so. We loved sitting on our terrace having a gin and tonic just listening to the evening sounds. Then the dogs are woofing for a bit, and then you may even hear a screech-owl as there appears to be one nesting nearby. And bats silently flit by as night falls. With the sights, sounds and smells it is all very magical!

There are mosquitos on the island of course and we had a regime to combat them. When we went out in the evening we sprayed the room as we left - to kill off any lurking mozzies. Then when we returned we plugged in an anti-mozzie device which you put a tablet in and this ensures the mozzies are not active in the night. When we go out we spray exposed skin with anti-mozzie spray. We got about 3 or 4 bites all week which is not too bad.

Beaches were fantastic and in our opinion definitely a big plus. The best one in my opinion was LIMNONARI BEACH which had exactly the right balance of remoteness (not a town beach) & Bohemian atmosphere: but facilities such as 2 great bar/tavernas right behind. The loungers nearest the road were free as long as you frequented the adjacent bar - no great effort! You usually pay €5-7 a day for 2 loungers with umbrella. The sea is very benign and safe swimming for children, no real tide or currents and waves were tiny. But we would never swim these days without wearing swimming shoes ever since my wife stood on a scorpion fish a few years ago and ended up in hospital. These are about €6 in the supermarket. As there are many sea-urchins here which can cause serious harm if you stand on them these are a good investment.

This is the 'Mamia Mia' island but don't let that put you off. They don't make a big thing of it at all and the only slightly touristy bit is the very picturesque chapel on the massive rock with a Jacob's ladder up it that (apparently!) features in the film but that was a nice visit anyway - just a normal chapel up a great big rock.

The only downside to this island is that you need to transfer from Skiathos and if you are not a good sailor then you might not enjoy the transfer - on the way back we had heavy seas and the crossing on the catamaran was particularly unpleasant. If you suffer from seasickness best go somewhere where you don't need to make a sea crossing. We enjoyed the trip over mind you on the ferry which was great and we saw dolphins following the ferry.

Certainly you will not be disappointed if you choose this island and this hotel!

Room Tip: Block C furthest away but quietest. Downstairs rooms have no stairs to climb and bigger outside area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JumpinJackFlash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burwell, Cambs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks' stay at the wonderful Alkistis Hotel, and to say we enjoyed our holiday is an understatement. Our room was clean and airy with a large shower in the bathroom and a little kitchen area for self-catering, although we only 'cooked' our own Greek yoghurt/honey/nuts breakfasts, other than that we couldn't resist trying out the various tavernas & restaurants in Skopelos town. The best food we ate was from the hotel though, their cook is a star and their specials were worth trying, and they won't break the bank either. Everything was so fresh, tasty and non-greasy. The hotel's swimming pool area is great, plenty of sunbeds in the sun and lots of shade for those that want it. There's a pool bar, and the hotel staff are very obliging and will serve food and drink poolside if you request it. The hotel is a 15 minute walk out of town, which is ok going into town as it's all downhill but I didn't fancy the walk back up in the heat of the day, so the owner helpfully runs the minibus into town at designated times of the day and that was a very useful service. It means you can catch an 11pm service back up the hill at the end of the day also. It was our first visit to Skopelos and I don't intend it to be our last, it was a beautiful Greek island with lots to explore. We would certainly return to the Alkistis as their welcome was as warm as the Greek sunshine.

Room Tip: We had room A3 which was on the ground floor overlooking the pool, it was lovely but I think next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evaluna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Alkistis Hotel and Apartments is quite a large complex for a small Greek island with a huge swimming pool (and pool bar) about 2km from Skopelos town. It's a real haven. Our studio for two overlooking the garden was a very good size, with adequate storage for clothing and good enough mini kitchen. It was very tranquil. It had verandas back and front and air conditioning to make for comfortable nights. It was cleaned daily and sheets were changed every two or three days. It was more than adequate for a two week stay. The garden was a strip of grass with some olive trees but overlooking the olive groves of the land adjacent and the hills of Skopelos above the town. The further you stay from the pool the more quiet is the accommodation.

It's not really walking distance back from the town but the hotel provides a free shuttle mini bus which goes back and forth to town at convenient times. If you miss the bus the taxi back costs €5.

There is a public bus stop right in front of the hotel and if you hire a car, there is plenty of car parking space near the apartments.

For your self-catering needs, there is a large supermarket about 200 metres from the hotel but there is also a restaurant (with a limited menu in June) on site and snacks can be had at the pool.

If you want your own haven with ready access to all that Skopelos has to offer, you could do no better.

Room Tip: C block is furthest from the pool and nearest the chickens. Odd numbers are downstairs and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DougCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a week on Skopelos, staying at the Alkistis apartments.

The apartments are a bit under a mile from Skopelos centre, surrounded by pleasant countryside. It's an easy walk because it's down hill all the way. Taxis back are reliable and are always 5 euros. There's also a regular, free hotel bus to and from Skopelos.

The apartments themselves are clean, fairly spacious, with comfy beds, good, quiet air conditioning. Friendly cats wander around, and, yes, there are a couple of roosters within earshot - what do you expect? It's the countryside!

Two things really set the place apart.

Firstly, the pool is fantastic. Enormous, clean, but informal and relaxing. The bar is just next to it, too.

Secondly the staff are extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They gave us lifts into Skopelos when we'd missed the free bus. They gave us recommendations for the best bars and restaurants in Skopelos. They arranged the Sea Cat back to Skiathos for us, arranged car hire at the best rate, etc. etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

The island of Skopelos is a lovely place. Very green. We hired a car, so we explored, driving through twisty mountain roads and past the many beaches and small costal villages. The beaches are mostly shingly. Kastani beach was particularly good, nestled at the foot of a beautiful pine-covered valley. You can scramble or swim across the rocks to the next beach along, enjoy the free sunbeds, and there are even four-poster beds too(!) We also took a very pleasant boat trip one day from Skopelos to the neighbouring islands for swimming & sightseeing

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great week on Skopelos and the Alkistis made a fantastic base to explore the town and the island - we had an upper floor apartment which was large and comfortable with two private balconies giving views across the countryside and to the sea. The Alkistis has a large swimming pool and a peaceful ambiance which was just what we were looking for. The family running the place couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, sorting out a cheap car hire deal for us and patiently answering all of our questions. Although a little way out of town the mini bus service was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend the Alkistis whether booking it yourself or going through a travel agency.

Room Tip: We thought the upper floor apartments furthest away from the pool were best, but all the rooms seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Close to the town of Skopelos, with free bus, it offers good apartments accomodation in a quiet environment with rooster crowing in the morning...
Good restaurant, wonderful pool, clean room, efficient service.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer garden, which is not private. Second floor rooms offer balcony with better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 915Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can't express in words how we feel about this place. If you are thinking of staying here you will NOT be making the wrong choice. This, we feel, is the BEST place in this area. You are slightly out of town, but this is lovely. It is not inconvenient, as there is a regular mini bus service provided by the hotel (which sometimes has to make a few trips back up from town, due to numbers, but never a problem). Sometimes, we just decided to walk down to town, as the walk was fairly pleasant and only took about 15-20 mins. Its nice to walk.

The apartments are huge! Two balconies, one to the hills and one to the sea (in the distance) both with amazing views, that you can't help looking at. Fabulous cleaners, the apartments owners have set a very high standard for changing towels and bedding regularly. You can also borrow towels for the pool area (not that we did, as we used our own) but, if we return, we will not bother bringing our own towels. The pool is huge! and deep! and wonderful! There is always space to sit or lounge, no reserved sunbed situation. The swim up bar is a lovely novelty and there is a lovely atmosphere. Sometimes the pool is very quiet, afternoons busier, evenings quiet.

You can eat at the apartment's restaurant and the food is home cooked. We have to say, this was the best souvalaki we ate, and sometimes its lovely to just stay at "home". They have a breakfast buffet every day, and a specials board every day for meals and they use the vegetables grown in the veg patch at the hotel.

Staying here, for us, was like staying at a good friends villa. Lots of Greek family, lots of people returning from many, many years of staying here, friendly staff, friendly cats, everything perfect. Like the Greece we used to know and love. One evening, there were some friends of the family in the restaurant singing and dancing and playing the piano, it was so Greek and totally wonderful.

We made friends here that we will never forget.

Chrysoula (Who runs the apartments) is wonderful and knows everything, completely helpful. Thank you!

As for the harbour area, usual busy frontage, lots of boat trips and a playground for younger children. Many restaurants and ice cream parlours (my 10 year old loved). Lots of walking and exploring and a photo opportunity around every corner! Can't recommend Skopelos town enough, it is BEAUTIFUL!

Went on a trip from the harbour to Alonissos, took the glass bottom trip for novelty, but sat up top for the finest views! All Lovely! Trip fantastic and very well organised.

The island itself is one of the most beautiful islands we have been to, the green and the mountains and the ease of the place. The sea is like a lake at some beaches and rough and tumble in other beaches, there is a beach to suit every taste. The trees grow virtually right to the sea, and the water is so clear that you can virtually see to the bottom, no mater how deep. With the exception of the harbour. As for snorkeling, this was the best we have had in Greece. There were fish everywhere! Not really that big, but, as soon as you entered the water, lots of different fish swimming about.

Don't want to be home, just want to be back at Alkistis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
3.8 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 3 in Panormos
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Panormos
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 25 in Skopelos
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
#6 of 25 in Skopelos
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkistis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkistis Hotel

Property: Alkistis Hotel
Address: 2nd km Skopelos - Glossas, 370 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alkistis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkistis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkistis Hotel, Studios And Apartments
Alkistis Hotel, Studios & Apartments Hotel Skopelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing