We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Review of Alkistis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alkistis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a week on Skopelos, staying at the Alkistis apartments.

The apartments are a bit under a mile from Skopelos centre, surrounded by pleasant countryside. It's an easy walk because it's down hill all the way. Taxis back are reliable and are always 5 euros. There's also a regular, free hotel bus to and from Skopelos.

The apartments themselves are clean, fairly spacious, with comfy beds, good, quiet air conditioning. Friendly cats wander around, and, yes, there are a couple of roosters within earshot - what do you expect? It's the countryside!

Two things really set the place apart.

Firstly, the pool is fantastic. Enormous, clean, but informal and relaxing. The bar is just next to it, too.

Secondly the staff are extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They gave us lifts into Skopelos when we'd missed the free bus. They gave us recommendations for the best bars and restaurants in Skopelos. They arranged the Sea Cat back to Skiathos for us, arranged car hire at the best rate, etc. etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

The island of Skopelos is a lovely place. Very green. We hired a car, so we explored, driving through twisty mountain roads and past the many beaches and small costal villages. The beaches are mostly shingly. Kastani beach was particularly good, nestled at the foot of a beautiful pine-covered valley. You can scramble or swim across the rocks to the next beach along, enjoy the free sunbeds, and there are even four-poster beds too(!) We also took a very pleasant boat trip one day from Skopelos to the neighbouring islands for swimming & sightseeing

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great week on Skopelos and the Alkistis made a fantastic base to explore the town and the island - we had an upper floor apartment which was large and comfortable with two private balconies giving views across the countryside and to the sea. The Alkistis has a large swimming pool and a peaceful ambiance which was just what we were looking for. The family running the place couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, sorting out a cheap car hire deal for us and patiently answering all of our questions. Although a little way out of town the mini bus service was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend the Alkistis whether booking it yourself or going through a travel agency.

Room Tip: We thought the upper floor apartments furthest away from the pool were best, but all the rooms seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Close to the town of Skopelos, with free bus, it offers good apartments accomodation in a quiet environment with rooster crowing in the morning...
Good restaurant, wonderful pool, clean room, efficient service.

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer garden, which is not private. Second floor rooms offer balcony with better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 915Rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I can't express in words how we feel about this place. If you are thinking of staying here you will NOT be making the wrong choice. This, we feel, is the BEST place in this area. You are slightly out of town, but this is lovely. It is not inconvenient, as there is a regular mini bus service provided by the hotel (which sometimes has to make a few trips back up from town, due to numbers, but never a problem). Sometimes, we just decided to walk down to town, as the walk was fairly pleasant and only took about 15-20 mins. Its nice to walk.

The apartments are huge! Two balconies, one to the hills and one to the sea (in the distance) both with amazing views, that you can't help looking at. Fabulous cleaners, the apartments owners have set a very high standard for changing towels and bedding regularly. You can also borrow towels for the pool area (not that we did, as we used our own) but, if we return, we will not bother bringing our own towels. The pool is huge! and deep! and wonderful! There is always space to sit or lounge, no reserved sunbed situation. The swim up bar is a lovely novelty and there is a lovely atmosphere. Sometimes the pool is very quiet, afternoons busier, evenings quiet.

You can eat at the apartment's restaurant and the food is home cooked. We have to say, this was the best souvalaki we ate, and sometimes its lovely to just stay at "home". They have a breakfast buffet every day, and a specials board every day for meals and they use the vegetables grown in the veg patch at the hotel.

Staying here, for us, was like staying at a good friends villa. Lots of Greek family, lots of people returning from many, many years of staying here, friendly staff, friendly cats, everything perfect. Like the Greece we used to know and love. One evening, there were some friends of the family in the restaurant singing and dancing and playing the piano, it was so Greek and totally wonderful.

We made friends here that we will never forget.

Chrysoula (Who runs the apartments) is wonderful and knows everything, completely helpful. Thank you!

As for the harbour area, usual busy frontage, lots of boat trips and a playground for younger children. Many restaurants and ice cream parlours (my 10 year old loved). Lots of walking and exploring and a photo opportunity around every corner! Can't recommend Skopelos town enough, it is BEAUTIFUL!

Went on a trip from the harbour to Alonissos, took the glass bottom trip for novelty, but sat up top for the finest views! All Lovely! Trip fantastic and very well organised.

The island itself is one of the most beautiful islands we have been to, the green and the mountains and the ease of the place. The sea is like a lake at some beaches and rough and tumble in other beaches, there is a beach to suit every taste. The trees grow virtually right to the sea, and the water is so clear that you can virtually see to the bottom, no mater how deep. With the exception of the harbour. As for snorkeling, this was the best we have had in Greece. There were fish everywhere! Not really that big, but, as soon as you entered the water, lots of different fish swimming about.

Don't want to be home, just want to be back at Alkistis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed 1 week in this hotel with my 14-years-old daughter. Very warm-hearted and friendly staff welcoming us. There was a mini bus driving hotel guests 6 times a day to/from town for free. They even picked us up from the harbour when we arrived although I had not made an appointment. The owners/staff of hotel Alkistis are prepared to walk the extra mile for you! They even arranged a free transportation to Skopelos port when we were leaving.
Wonderful pool bar with fresh fruit juices for my daughter :) I went for a lonely morning swim almost every morning before breakfast - lovely! The pool is really the best! Big, clean and perfectly warm/cool water. Thank you! We also loved the breakfast with coffee, tea, orange juice, small croissants, bread, feta cheese, tomatoes, yougurt, honey, etc. Our room C9 was far away from the road in the beautiful garden. The hotel has their own vegetable garden and chicken. The location is a couple of km from Skopelos town in the country side. You wake up every morning to the sounds of the farm animals but it´s very quiet at nights. You can easily take the public bus to the beach or to the other side of Skopelos island. The bus stops just outside of the hotel both ways. It´s not too far to walk either if you prefer walking. Or you can rent a car / bike. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Cleaning + clean towels every day except on Sundays. kitchen is fully equipped although we never used it. Only for keeping cold foods and drinks in the fridge. The people who work in this hotel are very commited and they are willing to answer any of your questions. I recommend Hotel Alkistis to all my friends!

Room Tip: We were happy with or room in the ground floor. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NikiSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having recently returned from a week in an apartment at the Alkistis, I have nothing but praise for the family run complex. The owners and staff are all so friendly and extremely helpful. The apartment itself was far better than we were expecting, being spacious and fully equipped with small cooker, kettle, coffee maker, toaster and fridge, as well as garden furniture both at the front and rear of the apartment. Food served in the restaurant was freshly cooked and made using the home grown cucumbers, lemons and olives. The town of Skopelos was just a 20 minute walk away, but a taxi (€5) is advised if returning in the dark, due to lack of sufficient street lighting and pavements.

Having said all that, the star of the show was definitely the pool! It was a great size, with plenty of seating and, of course, a bar serving ice cold beers poured by a very friendly barman.

All in all, we had a great trip and I would have no hesitation in returning to Alkistis - I would recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flynntheeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just come back from 1 week at the Alkistis in Skopelos and 1 week in Skiathos. I can honestly say that I have never had such good accommodation. We were very impressed - it was like having your own little traditional Greek home. We had 2 balconies, a huge living room/kitchen as well as a large bedroom and a bathroom with a big window - each window looking out onto a fantastic view. The pool area was amazing, although the last 2 days became busier - thank goodness for Ipod's !!! All I would say is that some of the reviews mention that the accommodation is quite near the town - it is a good 20 - 25 mins walk away, and I would not advise walking back in the dark as the road is very busy and not well lit. A taxi is only 5 euro. There is a large supermarket virtually next door which is very handy, and the courtesy bus is an excellent advantage. The staff are good, especially man at the pool bar (forgot name) who is excellent for advice/tips on the island. Also, I must mention 2 fantastic places to eat - there is a kind of "square" in the town, one of the tavernas is called Platanos and serves amazing home-made pitta bread, the food is excellent. Another restaurant in the square is a pizzeria - also amazing. I would fully recommend this - we are even considering returning next year for 2 weeks !!!

Room Tip: We had Room C8 which we would request next time - best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
1.0 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 23 in Skopelos
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#1 of 3 in Panormos
424 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Panormos
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
#6 of 23 in Skopelos
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkistis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkistis Hotel

Address: 2nd Km Skopelos - Glossas, 370 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: $63 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alkistis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alkistis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkistis Hotel, Studios And Apartments
Alkistis Hotel, Studios & Apartments Hotel Skopelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing