We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
47
64
31
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
47
64
31
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hand held shower pool bar small hill skopelos town few minutes walk good size excellent position reception staff hard beds great pool comfortable rooms ring road family run by foot balcony port sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

We were three that stayed here for 5 nights. The room is meant for two. I slept on a pulled out chair. After the first night I had to ask for some kind of extra mattress. The bed was hard and creaked a lot. I got an extra cm to sleep on and after that I slept much better. The fridge was not working when we arrived. But after letting the reception know the fridge started working:) they have a decent sized pool area. The breakfast is ok. All three of us are big coffee drinkers. We like it strong and bitter so the sweet breakfast coffee didnt work for us. But that's just us:)

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tonjev770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

Stayed here with my son in two separate rooms in September. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, adequate with good options and kept very clean. Bedrooms were kept very clean and serviced twice a day. Beds were a bit hard and the bathroom a bit outdated, but I have seen worse 3 star! Pool towel provided even though would not expect this in a 3star. I felt that for a 3 star hotel the Dionyssos was very good and would return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The Dionysos Hotel is by Greek standards, a reasonably well constructed hotel, but it does have the usual quirks. Ceilings that look like they were put up on a Friday afternoon after a long ouzo session, plug sockets that make no sense in where they were positioned, and radios that don't work. It is very clean, and the staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The pool is crystal clear, and a beautiful blue colour. The pool bar is well stocked, and not as expensive as you'd think. €4.50 for a large Mythos. The cocktails are also very good, and the barman certainly does not skimp on the alcohol either.
The rooms are not bad , they are also very clean, but, and a very big BUT. The beds are awful, they are rock hard and not at all comfortable. One other thing that the hotel has absolutely no control over, are the cockerels that live in adjacent properties.
Breakfast is the usual European buffet affair, featuring fruits, yoghurt, muesli, cereals and a few hot options every morning. Fried eggs, boiled eggs, omelettes, and something vaguely resembling scrambled eggs. Breads, cheeses and olives. If you like coffee, you are going to be very, very disappointed, I'm sure every morning someone goes down to the fishing boats and drains a few of the bilges and then serves it up as coffee.
The location of the hotel is almost perfect, a short walk (uphill on the way back) to the town centre, and restaurants. All in all not a bad hotel at all, and deserving of its 3 star rating.

Room tip: Try and get a room over the pool
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

Stayed here during Aug bank holiday week. A very attractive hotel with plenty of character. The public indoor area was very spacious with plenty of seating as was the outdoor area with terraces and again plenty of seating. You could also have your breakfast on one of the terraces. The pool areas had plenty of space and sunbeds with a nice outdoor bar. We enjoyed the views to the port area where you could see the ferrys etc coming in and out. The pool is mostly quite deep with a small shallow area with proper steps in one corner and across one end. Also a gazebo by the pool, All the public areas were always kept spotlessly clean and tidy.
The hotel decor has a lot of wood panelling and lovely tiled floors in keeping with the Skopelos building tradition. which people may find a little old fashioned but I do not agree.
We had no problem with the free wifi during our stay in all the public areas and in our room - 206.
The rooms were quite spacious with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. Slept very well during our stay. We had air conditioning included which wasn't too noisy. Also had a free safe and fridge. Travelled with Thomas Cook.
There was always hot water and good lighting in the bathroom with lovely white thick towels which were changed regularly, The toilet bin was always changed daily.
We always found all the staff to be friendly and courteous with a smile on their faces.
Could not wish for a better location only a few minutes walk from the port and the town.
A small hill near the hotel but a short one, There are also steps into the hotel and once inside a few more steps.
Always enjoyed our breakfast and my top recommendation was the yoghurt and honey.
Would not hesitate in returning here.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JandR9913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile


The old adage "you get what you pay for" certainly does not apply to the Hotel Dionyssos. This hotel is extremely disappointing, to the point where I felt the need to create an account on Trip Advisor in order to accurately review this hotel. See below for my comments:

1) Beds / mattresses - awful. The mattresses are extremely firm and the mattress coils poke through the bed into your back, making a restful night sleep impossible.
2) Bed sheets - terrible. The sheets are hard and have a plastic feeling, which are not only uncomfortable but also loud, causing one to frequently be awoken in the middle of the night when tossing and turning on the uncomfortable mattress.
3) Toilets - terrible. The toilet in our room did not flush (barely even flushed urine). We were forced to primitively use the toilets in the basement as a result. When we discussed this with our receptionist, we were simply told that water pressure on the island is weak. Somehow the public toilets seemed to be functional.
4) Customer service - subpar. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were moved three times within an hour until we were properly placed in a room that we had requested. And this was only after arguing with the hotel Dionyssos receptionist. Additionally our room's safe was locked when we arrived and it was not until the late evening before the manager arrived and unlocked the safe. The staff, however were overall friendly and nice.
5) Wifi - awful. It did not work in the hotel room and barely worked in the lobby. Extremely misleading for the hotel Dionyssos to advertise functional wifi on their website.
6) "Sea side" view - unreliable - do not waste your money on this. Most rooms on the sea side still do not have a view of the sea as it is obscured by other buildings.
7) Rooms - average to below average. Aside from the aforementioned issues with the beds, sheets, toilets and wifi, the rooms in the hotel are overall old and slightly run down. The towel rack in our bathroom was also broken. There were also no hand towels or washcloths provided. On the plus side, there is a nice deck.
8) Breakfast - average food.
9) Outdoor pool - great. Large and clean.
10) Location - great. Right in downtown Skopelos town.

Overall, the experience at the hotel Dionyssos is underwhelming and disappointing, and as such I would not recommend the hotel Dionyssos. It is not worth the money, time, or dissatisfaction experienced while on vacation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank saug19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews