We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful island....”
Review of Hotel Dionyssos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dionyssos
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned from Skopelos today and i could not wait to write a review. We stayed at the Hotel Dionyssos for 10 days and we were very sad to leave.
The Hotel is excellent, it has a beautiful traditional Greek decor however is very basic, but do not let this throw u! After reading many reviews on here we were terrified about how we would find the rooms, however we could not have wanted more. They were spacious, well air conditioned which is a life saver in 38oc heat, and had loads of room. we stayed in room 221, and it has a beautufl view from the balcony! especially in warm evenings. It is dated and plain...but its greece! The hotel was busy but great, breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, ham, cheese, honey and toast. I went with my boyfriend, however there was a lovely mixture of other couples, young and older, families with young children, and groups of friends. The staff could not do enough for us, and were very kind and helpful at all times, they always wore a friendly smile and were very welcoming, especially the bar man who we made very good friends with! The pool is fantastic, with so many sun beds you will never struggle to find one, and on saturday nights a delicious BBQ is served! along with music and dancing by the lit pool which you MUST go to!

The town its self is by far the most beautiful i have ever seen, and im not sure why some people have complained about walking up the hill to the hotel? it is literally a 2 second walk up a small hill. many love the location as it is in perfect distance to walk to the shops and the buzzing nightlife, with bars and restaurants along the glowing harbour, however is a perfect escape for peace and quiet too.

Go on the glass bottom boat trip! its only 20 euros for 8 hours! you will visit many places, which includes a marine park, an enclosed beach which we dive off the boat from and many other amazing places which you would not even no existed! including a cave!

We will be returning next year, and cant wait to see the lovely staff again =)

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dionyssos for two weeks at the end of July2012, although the hotel was busy, it didn't feel crowded. All the staff were very friendly and we really did enjoy our holiday there. The decor is very traditional and although the bathrooms could do with an update, its perfectly adequate. We stayed in room 119 just off reception which was a little noisy some mornings but it woke us in time for breakfast! The beers at the pool bar were a little more expensive than in "town" but all in all we would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AandA-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here from 29th June for two weels. We were with a party of 11, all couples in our mid fifty's, we holiday together most years. This was without doubt the best greek Island we have stayed on ( we've done about 6 Islands to date) and the Dionyssos was a great hotel choice. It was a tradition greek hotel, the staff were all very friendly, our rooms were a good size with lots of storage space, cleaned every day with sheets & towels changed at least every other day. The pool area was lovely with plenty of sun beds plus a good poolside bar. Saturday night is BBQ night, which we did on both the saturdays that we were staying. Good value ,great food ( yummy salads) well worth staying at the Hotel for.

The hill to the Hotel wasn't as bad as we thought it was going to be. The bars and returants on the front were all good ( well all the one's we tried were.) We did find a great place called Anna's not on the front but set back up a little bit...... from the hotel gates go straight over ( not down the little slope) keep walking through all the pretty little roads and you should start to see little arrows directing you to Anna's .... very traditional food, live greek music, in a beautiful setting.

As a group we have a rule that we try somewhere different every year, but it was a unanimous decision that this was worthy a second visit, so we will be coming back , it might not be next year, But we WILL be back.

You must visit Kastani beech, we visited quite a few beeches all were good but kastani was the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lizzielimejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Greek Island hopping trip. The staff there are extremely friendly and it's super close to all the shops. They had a barbecue by the pool while we were there & the food was fabulous, as was the service. We highly recommend Hotel Dionyssos.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sparrelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Have just returned from the Dionyssos, have been going for many years and had another excellant holiday. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are spacious with plenty of storage space, yes I know the shower is hand held and yes you have to put toilet paper in a bin but this is Greece and if you don't like this ( which some people obviously don't ) don't go to Greece, most people don't find this a problem, the staff are all excellant nothing is to much trouble and everyone is so friendly and make you feel at home, I did read one review that said the management didn't speak to people, are you sure it was the Dionyssos you went to, to us they are not management but are our friends as are all the staff. The pool area is good with plenty of sunbeds and a nice pool bar, the pool itself is large and is kept spotless. Anyone thinking of going to Skopelos I would highly recommend giving the Dionyssos a go I don't think you will be dissapointed. Thank's again Yiannis and all the staff, we will see you again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bwwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from Skopelos and we're already planning our return. We arrived from rainy Manchester to blazing sunshine at Skiathos before catching the Flying Cat ferry to Skopelos Town. Our Hotel, The Dionyssos, was a 10 minute walk up a fairly steep hill but the hotel had already collected our baggage from the ferry port so it was an easy walk.
We were welcomed by the staff and shown to our room which we found adequate and comfortable. The twin beds were firm but we slept well. Our balcony afforded a view of the harbour (albeit between the houses opposite) and was bathed in early morning sunshine but was shady from midday on- a definite plus! We had read in some reviews that the bathrooms were a bit dilapidated but found ours to be fine if a little spartan. The shower was hand-held and was not often very hot but who needs a hot shower in 36 degree heat? The pool is large enough, it's clean and well maintained and the sun terraces offer plenty of space for sunning and relaxing. We never found a shortage of sun-beds, deck chairs or tables, and the poolside bar had an excellent stock and is the perfect spot to end the day.
The staff were fantastic- nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run hotel and it shows. Some of our fellow guests were repeat visitors, and we will definitely be going again.

As for the town, well What a fabulous place! the harbour is beautiful and very well-kept, fishing boats bobbing alongside charter vessels, and the waterside tavernas were fantastic. There we found traditional Skopelot and Greek dishes, Italian style food and even some English fare, though we didn't try much of that. For a midday snack, try Cafe Gala, opposite the ferry terminal or Korali, at the other end of the harbour. Evening meals are best at Gialos, next to Korali, Anna's, which is up the hill a little, or if you have kids, Stergio's offer an excellent range of dishes on two levels, with a playground directly outside.
The local brew is Mythos, an excellent lager type beer ( and I don't drink lager at home ) which can be found just about anywhere but I enjoyed it best at Braxos, an elevated bar at the northern end of the harbour, and at our hotel's poolside bar, where they have it on draught.

Skopelos is an amazingly beautiful island, and to see it properly is very easy. The bus service is frequent and cheap, and car hire very reasonable. The beaches are gorgeous, though you won't find much sand and our favourite was Kastani. Secluded but well catered by the one cafe bar, it's the ideal spot for a quiet day of sunbathing or just plain chilling out. There are plenty of excursions available, either by boat or coach, and plenty of amazing places to visit.

Make sure your camera has plenty of memory- you'll need it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get early sunshine and afternoon shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

just got back from the best holiday we ever had. this hotel is typically greek so might not be to eveyones taste but we loved it. staff extemely helpfull and friendly could'nt do enough for you. location is great with very good veiws,lots of terraces to sit on if you did'nt want to sit around the pool,which by the way is fab. breakfast did consist mainly of eggs{fried,scrambled or ommlettes} but with pelnty of other things to choose from you did;nt go hungry. lots to see and do in the surrounding area and excersions aplenty. our fav restaruant was sergios not much to look at but service and food was amazing. we would most certinaly reccomend this hotel and will be going back next year.

Room Tip: higher floors offer the best all round veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlemeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
0.5 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#4 of 23 in Skopelos
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skopelos
85 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 3 in Panormos
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prince Stafilos
Hotel Prince Stafilos
#5 of 6 in Skopelos Town
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dionyssos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionyssos

Address: 37003, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: $49 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dionyssos 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting proudly on a hill overlooking Skopelos Bay, Hotel Dionyssos offers the observer a real taste of traditional architectural design. A spacious terrace with bamboo chairs overlooks the large swimming pool with residing tavern and pool bar. Our lovely garden comprising both domestic and tropical plants surrounds the three sides of the hotel. All in all, Hotel Dionyssos provides its guests with not only elegance but also a unique and distinguished quality: The Personal Touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dionyssos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionyssos Hotel Skopelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing