We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skopelos- Perfect holiday...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dionyssos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dionyssos
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skopelos- Perfect holiday...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from Skopelos and we're already planning our return. We arrived from rainy Manchester to blazing sunshine at Skiathos before catching the Flying Cat ferry to Skopelos Town. Our Hotel, The Dionyssos, was a 10 minute walk up a fairly steep hill but the hotel had already collected our baggage from the ferry port so it was an easy walk.
We were welcomed by the staff and shown to our room which we found adequate and comfortable. The twin beds were firm but we slept well. Our balcony afforded a view of the harbour (albeit between the houses opposite) and was bathed in early morning sunshine but was shady from midday on- a definite plus! We had read in some reviews that the bathrooms were a bit dilapidated but found ours to be fine if a little spartan. The shower was hand-held and was not often very hot but who needs a hot shower in 36 degree heat? The pool is large enough, it's clean and well maintained and the sun terraces offer plenty of space for sunning and relaxing. We never found a shortage of sun-beds, deck chairs or tables, and the poolside bar had an excellent stock and is the perfect spot to end the day.
The staff were fantastic- nothing was too much trouble. This is a family run hotel and it shows. Some of our fellow guests were repeat visitors, and we will definitely be going again.

As for the town, well What a fabulous place! the harbour is beautiful and very well-kept, fishing boats bobbing alongside charter vessels, and the waterside tavernas were fantastic. There we found traditional Skopelot and Greek dishes, Italian style food and even some English fare, though we didn't try much of that. For a midday snack, try Cafe Gala, opposite the ferry terminal or Korali, at the other end of the harbour. Evening meals are best at Gialos, next to Korali, Anna's, which is up the hill a little, or if you have kids, Stergio's offer an excellent range of dishes on two levels, with a playground directly outside.
The local brew is Mythos, an excellent lager type beer ( and I don't drink lager at home ) which can be found just about anywhere but I enjoyed it best at Braxos, an elevated bar at the northern end of the harbour, and at our hotel's poolside bar, where they have it on draught.

Skopelos is an amazingly beautiful island, and to see it properly is very easy. The bus service is frequent and cheap, and car hire very reasonable. The beaches are gorgeous, though you won't find much sand and our favourite was Kastani. Secluded but well catered by the one cafe bar, it's the ideal spot for a quiet day of sunbathing or just plain chilling out. There are plenty of excursions available, either by boat or coach, and plenty of amazing places to visit.

Make sure your camera has plenty of memory- you'll need it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get early sunshine and afternoon shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

just got back from the best holiday we ever had. this hotel is typically greek so might not be to eveyones taste but we loved it. staff extemely helpfull and friendly could'nt do enough for you. location is great with very good veiws,lots of terraces to sit on if you did'nt want to sit around the pool,which by the way is fab. breakfast did consist mainly of eggs{fried,scrambled or ommlettes} but with pelnty of other things to choose from you did;nt go hungry. lots to see and do in the surrounding area and excersions aplenty. our fav restaruant was sergios not much to look at but service and food was amazing. we would most certinaly reccomend this hotel and will be going back next year.

Room Tip: higher floors offer the best all round veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlemeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just returned from a two week twin centre holiday in Skopelos and Skiathos .
Our first week was at the Dionyssos Hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed .As previous posters have mentioned we were a little apprehensive from some of the negative reviews but were so pleased with our choice of hotel .
The Dionyssos is a very traditionally Greek decorated hotel which makes you feel immediately relaxed and at home .The restaurant area and lounge areas are very comfortable as are the outside terraces and pool area which has ample loungers and views of the sea and surrounding residential houses . The staff are very welcoming and helpful if you have any questions about the hotel or local area
Our room was at the front of the hotel on the second floor and had beautiful views of the sea .There was plenty of storage with wardrobes , shelves , drawers and bedside tables . Also a dressing table and enough electric sockets with a tv too although limited channels .
The decor was the same as the public areas being of dark wood .
The balcony had a table and two chairs being nice to sit at in the afternoon after a day out .
The room was cleaned every day and always smelt fresh on our return .The towels were changed every day and bedding a few times during the week .
Breakfast was very enjoyable with a good choice of food and always a hot choice too which changed each day eg omelette , fried egg , small sausages with meats ,cheese,yogurts,fruit,cereal,bread,toast,jams,cake,a variety of tea and coffee .The chef was always in attendance tidying up ,checking the food and clearing the tables .
There were plenty of eating places along the harbourside , in the side streets and along the front to eat at .We were always very pleased with the food and price .
Skopelos Town is an ideal place to stay with interesting museums and churches to visit . The bus service is good and other beaches are easy to get to .
I would be very happy to return to the Dionyssos in the future and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet ,comfortable, authentic and welcoming hotel .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmanicolaliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel was very disapointing, we stayed at Birmingham Plazza a UK 4 star on the way out which possibly skewed our perception but. Bathroom is a death trap hard tiled edges are sharp and every shower was a flooded slippery floor. Usual poor old Greek plumbing with a bin for the toilet paper. Our first offering of a room had the last occupants paper in it !!!

Loads of short steep stairs made of local stone everywhere, very dingy and dark throughout. Our second room, obtained 10 mins after 1st, had am ashtray and the local smokers corner outside.

Breakfast was adequate, but would really benefit from access to the wonderfull verandah outside. The staff were helpfull and pleasant and the cook and waiter at breakfast would always try and remember your preferences at breakfast. But a soft boiled egg was a step too far. The room was an adequate size and cleaned regularly, but dowdy tired and lacking in any thought of somewhere nice in the room to sit or a desk to sit at to write or any nice furniture at all. The bed too hard and the linen old but clean, no kettle,tea,or coffee. but an expensive room service.

If hiring a car its an experiance in itself but there is adequate parking at the hotel via some interesting narrow allyways.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool have an excellent view of harbour, sea and pool, North facing rooms have a poore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_M2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel looks great on the outside but the rooms are small. Twin beds that are not very comfortable. As mentioned before the bathrooms are thrid world. We were there 5 nights and checked out and moved to another hotel close by which was half the price and a little better. The pool is SUPER! Taverna staff not that helpful.

Room Tip: Room over the pool is great unless they are having a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmcd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanfield, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and have just returned. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, very clean public areas, our room was cleaned every day. Yes, the bathrooms are a bit basic but you get used to that in Greece!!
We had a first floor room at the side which overlooked a residential area but this was ok - we didn't spend a lot of time in the room any way!!
Plenty of sunbeds and the pool area was never overcrowded. A short walk into the harbour with some great cafes and tavernas to choose from .
We read some mixed reports but decided to go with it and are so glad we did!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshys_nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The location of the hotel is ideal - very close to the harbour. Bit of a hill just outside, but it's not too large a hill. The staff were very pleasant and efficient. Hotel pool area very nice - I was certainly able to enjoy lazing around there, jumping in and out of the pool when it got too hot. Enough loungers and chairs to cope with the numbers of people. Lovely lunches at the poolside taverna. Bit of a hitch when we arrived - the room we had been allocated hadn't been cleaned and we had also been allocated one of the ones with the large air con unit just outside. Light sleepers, so we asked that we were moved elsewhere. The problem was solved straight away and we were given a different room with lots of apologies. More than happy with how it was resolved and how quickly. The hotel is a bit tired and dated and could benefit from a refurb, but it was clean and well run. I'd visit again and would recommend it to others - very typical of a lot of greek hotels of a similar class/price range.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I'd suggest getting in touch up front to try to avoid the rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnapped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
9.2 mi away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
5.3 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skopelos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alkistis Hotel
Alkistis Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skopelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 2 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Denise
Hotel Denise
#9 of 26 in Skopelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#3 of 26 in Skopelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dionyssos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionyssos

Property: Hotel Dionyssos
Address: 37003, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dionyssos 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting proudly on a hill overlooking Skopelos Bay, Hotel Dionyssos offers the observer a real taste of traditional architectural design. A spacious terrace with bamboo chairs overlooks the large swimming pool with residing tavern and pool bar. Our lovely garden comprising both domestic and tropical plants surrounds the three sides of the hotel. All in all, Hotel Dionyssos provides its guests with not only elegance but also a unique and distinguished quality: The Personal Touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dionyssos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionyssos Hotel Skopelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing