We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 wonderful weeks, and can highly recommend this hotel! No luxury at all, but very, very, very cozy :) Cleaning of the rooms every day, very friendly staff, very nice pool area and the hotel is situated in the "old town" area and only a few minutes' walk to the center of Skopelos Town. We are already planning to come back to Ionia Hotel and beautiful Skopelos!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LineRuud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! You really feel that you are in the middle of the lovely town of Skopelos right among the little windy streets. Hotel Ionia is very clean, linen and towels changed alternate days. The staff were always friendly and helpful. There is air conditioning included in the price in the rooms. Although there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, we took along a travel kettle and our own tea bags. There is a small fridge in the room so we could keep fresh milk and enjoy a cup of tea! Alexandra had also advised us that tea could be ordered from reception from 8.00 until midnight. Breakfast is continental buffet and is constantly being refilled. My favourite was the huge bowl of Greek Yoghurt with local honey drizzled on….delicious. The swimming pool is larger than most of the ones we have had at previous accommodation in Greece. There are trees providing natural shade and the pool area was always quiet with plenty of spare sun loungers.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had a lovely view of Skopelos from our terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great hotel just up from the town water front. Good choice at breakfast, nothing cooked but a good spread as mentioned by other reviewers. The rooms were checked everyday, the bathroom if you know what I mean! The towels were changed every other day and the sheets pretty regular too. A quiet pool bar area one week and a little busier in the second. The pool was 2.8m deep at one end but only 0.4 m approx. at the other. We never ran out of hot water. The staff were great, check out the art work and wood carvings by the main man, cleaner maintenance and breakfast host. We had a double bed which was a nice surprise as you often end up in two singles. Ample parking space for the hire car and access from the top of town. We went with cosmos. Security box available in reception 1euro a day and air conditioning freely included and small tv. Free wifi.

Room Tip: You can see the sea from the top floor apparently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Mid June booked through Cosmos. I was a bit apprehensive as the price was extremely good but the trip advisor reviews were excellent so decided to take a chance and I wasn't disappointed.. I have to say this was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in in Greece and we have visited many Greek Islands. We had a pool rom which was lovely with a terrace overlooking the pool. The room was immaculately clean and cleaned every day. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it and the staff were extremely helpful. Because its quite a small hotel I also found it to be very friendly and spent many a happy hour chatting away particularly to a lovely couple from Manchester next door. A lot of people there were on return visits and I have to say that I will certainly be returning. It is a very typical basic clean Greek hotel and if you want luxury it is not for you but if you want traditional Greek then it is.The hotel is extremely central to the port just a 10 minute stroll through the lovely local streets with lovely shops many selling local produce.
Skopelos itself was beautiful. I have been to a lot of Greek Islands and found Skopelos to be my favourite, to me it had the right balance of being still very traditional with very nice restaurants and bars. Pedros on the harbour front was particularly good. We hired a car a went to all the lovely beaches, Lemonarci (a bit further along from Panormas) was my favourite. We even braved the two hundred odd steps up to the Mamma Mia chapel which was well worth a visit.
I for one will definitely be returning to Skopelos and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room numbers 111,112,113,114 for the pool rooms which have a lovely shaded terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abrahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Ionia in Skopelos, and really didn't want to come home. Contrary to the last review, we found the staff - all the staff - to be helpful, friendly and willing to go 'over and above' for us. Free air-con too.
The premises are clean and tidy (although the rooms are a little dated but typical of Greek islands) and the pool was fantastic - larger than average and plenty of space around for sitting in the sun or relaxing under the shade of a huge tree there. It was cleaned early every morning and was usually quiet for most of the day.
The bar by the pool served a fairly limited but adequate selection of drinks but had toasties, sandwiches and ice-creams if you didn't want to leave the pool area.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from some lovely restaurants - try Anna's for something a bit special, or Alexander's or Platanos for typical Greek dishes. We found the restaurants facing the harbour were quite basic but fairly pricey.
It's a good idea to rent a car for a few days as the island's easy to explore. A few of the roads can be steep and winding, especially on the drive to Aghios Ioannis, the Mamma Mia church (a bit disappointing too). Stafilos beach is only a 10 min drive away from Skopelos Town - it's down a steep hill and it's a quiet beach with sun loungers and a small drinks stand; a mix of sand and shingle.
Further along the coast is Agnontas, a village with a small pebble beach but lovely and peaceful with a couple of excellent seafood tavernas on the beach. The sea's lovely to swim in here. Kastani beach, the 'Mamma Mia' beach, was easy to find from the coast road and was busy and popular with music playing all day and decent snacks and a bar. The one to visit if you like a livelier place but the sea was a bit rough when we went.
Overall, we'd recommend Ionia for a holiday provided you expect a good quality Greek hotel rather than 5 star luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillyBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in Skopelos 3yrs ago at Dionyssos Hotel which was very good. This year we decided to try Ionia Hotel because of the positive reviews we read. Big mistake! In our experience everything was too much trouble for the staff in the Ionia hotel. Day 1 i asked the person who was behind the bar for a gin and tonic,but was told i couldn't have one until the next day as the girl who usually made the drinks wasn't there until 4 the following day. I did tell him how to make one,but he said he couldn't do it so i settled for a small bottle of revolting wine. We were told off on the first night by reception staff for leaving our key in reception,although she specifically told us to leave our key with them at all times. What she failed to say was unlike other hotels the reception closes at 11 so if like us, you return at 11.30 you could be locked out or face the consequences! We had to ask for a hairdryer and the remote for the air conditioner. Never once saw the pool being cleaned,unlike the Dionyssos. Bathroom tiny! Overall our experience in this hotel was awful. Motel,rather than hotel,but you get what you pay for! Skopelos beautiful, trips fantastic,food excellent in the Tavernas,people lovely (with the exception of some in the hotel)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely, peaceful hotel up the hill from the port. Flowery gardens; lovely pool with lots of natural shade. Alexandra is very helpful on reception. Some rooms have their own shady terrace. Would certainly stay there again. Very good value.

Room Tip: Ground floor room, furthest from pool, more peaceful, and had a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
0.6 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#4 of 23 in Skopelos
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#2 of 3 in Panormos
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skopelos
85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionia Hotel Skopelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionia Hotel Skopelos

Address: Hora, 370 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionia Hotel Skopelos 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In green Skopelos can Even when staying in the town of Skopelos to feel the magic of the emerald island. The amazing country with its traditional architecture, hospitable residents and easy access to the beauties of the island, ideal for an unforgettable holiday. The old part of Hora, 150m. from the port we chose to build the IONIA Hotel. Built in traditional style, on four levels so that all rooms have views of Chora. It is fully renovated in 2007 and features 47 rooms with spacious verandas, bathroom, air (cooling-heating), refrigerator, TV, pool, breakfast room, bar, snack bar, lounge, TV and parking. The impeccable service and traditional hospitality will make your holiday unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ionia Hotel Skopelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing