We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, stunning. stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ionia Hotel Skopelos
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a must and well deserves over and above the rating that is stated. The best we have stayed on the Greek Islands. Cleaned to a high standard everyday, Clean towels and linen every other day. Good decor, pristine, lovely pool area. Please look out for Yannis's woodwork for sale in reception area - totally amazing.
Skopelos is the most beautiful island, very traditional. Took a boat trip over to Alonnissos - 20 euros, well worth it. water taxi to Glisteri good. Resturants in abundance, buzzing but maintains that greek character.
Hev and Steve

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor, great views of the ocean - we had room 233.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BECKSCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I honestly can't fault this hotel. The rooms are cleaned everyday to a good quality, the breakfast has a wide variety of things to choose from, including Greek yoghurt and Skopelos honey. The bar offers a variety of drinks as well, but I found the drinks quite expensive compared to the price of drinks down along near the harbour. The town is in a good walking distance and so are boutiques, restaurants, chemists and shopping markets. The room I stayed in even had a fridge and air-conditioning! Also, the Greek people are the nicer people I have ever met, they always want to help, and aren't just being nice to get your money like in other countries. The pool is clean and is open at respectable times. Families with children are placed in the rooms nearest to the pool, which is very helpful if you have children. Another bonus is, pets are allowed, which is quite hard to find in other hotels. After returning from Skopelos and looking on the internet, I found out Ionia is the closest hotel to the harbour with a pool! I really recommend going that little bit further from Skiathos as the island is truly beautiful and so is this hotel. If you are doubting travelling here, don't! You won't regret staying in this hotel or even on this island!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for a fortnight and can't fault the hotel. Clean rooms, good breakfast, nice pool, and thank goodness no blaring music. Helpful staff, very friendly, nothing to much trouble. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardLincoln_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Firstly I would like to mention how friendly all the staff were, the lady called Matus who looks after the bar made our evenings special, she was so friendly to everyone, and very interesting to talk too,and loves the job she has.
The location is not far from the harbour, and was lovely walking down the narrow streets with all the shops we could look at on the way to the harbour area,
Skopelos it is very laid back area to be, friendly and very safe to walk around.

We would recommend the hotel, and all being well will return again for a holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent hotel.Very friendly staff and excellent room cleaning. The breakfast with a wide choice of food.The hotel has a swimming pool very clean and open from 9 am to 19 pm.
Very good the location, near there are many restaurant.The city center is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a fortnight - and were reluctant to leave this beautiful island and wonderful hotel! What marks this hotel out from so many others is its wonderful, friendly staff who take a genuine interest in your visit. In particular Janis (whose paintings feature around the hotel & town) & Ildi were 2 of the nicest people we met and take real pride in their jobs. They were a lesson in exemplary customer service & hospitality. The hotel itself is in a great location less than 5 minutes stroll from the harbour front. The pool was fantastic - and rarely busy. Equally the pool area was fantastic - plenty of sunbeds and beautifully tended plants/vines offered welcome shade. This really was an oasis on some scorching days. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate for the price we paid. Comfy bed, air-conditioning, TV and the whole room was spotlessly clean. We were lucky to have a great balcony with view over the ocean and pool. The breakfast was delicious: bread, jams, biscuits, cake, cheese, ham, plenty of fresh fruit, youghurt & local honey.

The pool bar was lovely - not a great selection of lunchtime snacks but great range of drinks. There is a small shop 2 minutes from the hotel (run by another wonderfully friendly lady with an ever-present smile!) to get basic provisions.

We've travelled to maky Greek Islands but this was definitely our favourite. Skopelos is simply stunning - make time to explore the back-streets with their beautiful flowers and tiny chapels. We'd reccommend hiring a car if you want to see the whole island (although there is a regular bus route that takes in many of the main beaches). The beaches are stunning. Clean, clear water, uncrowded. Favourites included Agnondas, Limnonari, Perivolo and Milia. The small beach at the Ionassis (Mama Mia) Chapel is also worth a visit - but you'd need a car or boat to get there. We didn't have a single poor meal in Skopelos. One of our favourite restaurants was at Adonis - Greek music every night played by a fabulous duo on guitar & lute - and great value food. Moussaka, stuffed zuchini flowers, tope, Greek salads, aubergine salad were particular faves!

You'd be hard-pushed to find a better holiday in the Greek Islands. Going for something pricey would compromise the wonderful friendly, homely atmosphere you experience at the Ionia. No we don't work for the hotel - we just had a brilliant holiday there & want to tell you about it!!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies but ask for one with a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SECRETPERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this hotel centrally located in the town of Skopelos. Was a bit hard to find at first, but the streets are all narrow and similar there. Spacious room, but a bit outdated. Especially the bathroom with moldy shower curtain. Nice balcony. The bed was the biggest drawback, where you could feel the springs. Breakfast was served inside, but only for one and a half hour and it got crowded the last half hour and people had to sit in the lobby. The selection was ok for Greek standards, but nothing out of the ordinary. A big plus for the great service provided by the ever friendly and smiling receptionists. Good wifi coverage, but only in public areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skopelos hotels
0.5 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skopelos Town
360 reviews
3.9 mi away
Adrina Beach
Adrina Beach
#1 of 3 in Panormos
427 reviews
4 mi away
Adrina Resort & Spa
Adrina Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Panormos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rigas Hotel
Rigas Hotel
#3 of 6 in Skopelos Town
163 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panormos Beach Skopelos
0.6 mi away
Skopelos Village
Skopelos Village
#4 of 23 in Skopelos
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionia Hotel Skopelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionia Hotel Skopelos

Address: Hora, 370 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range: $62 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionia Hotel Skopelos 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In green Skopelos can Even when staying in the town of Skopelos to feel the magic of the emerald island. The amazing country with its traditional architecture, hospitable residents and easy access to the beauties of the island, ideal for an unforgettable holiday. The old part of Hora, 150m. from the port we chose to build the IONIA Hotel. Built in traditional style, on four levels so that all rooms have views of Chora. It is fully renovated in 2007 and features 47 rooms with spacious verandas, bathroom, air (cooling-heating), refrigerator, TV, pool, breakfast room, bar, snack bar, lounge, TV and parking. The impeccable service and traditional hospitality will make your holiday unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ionia Hotel Skopelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing