We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little village”
Review of Panormos Beach

Panormos Beach
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet little village”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Good taverna on beach for food and refreshments,we visited as a stop on a Mama Mia day excursion after visiting other attractions,seemed a sleepy,typically Greek village suitable for sun bathing but no night life as such

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 114pam114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    168
    49
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent for swimmers (that's why I prefer it) but sea does shelve away quickly. Good selection of tavernas too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach with good tavernas”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in Panormos at the start of the season. Only a couple of the tavernas were open but that was fine for us.

The beach is pebbly and the water was cold this time of year, but the water is crystal clear. When the weather heats up over the summer I imagine the water would be warm and the sea perfect.

We visited Espresso cafe on the beach front - it's situated across the road with seating on the beach too. Good place for day time sunbeds, lunch and evening drinks.

We really liked Linarkia cafe, at the far end of the beach (to your right hand side as you face the sea). We had dinner there a couple of times and a drink in the evening as the sun went down. The owner was lovely and the place was frequented by locals the whole time we were there. There is a good menu but as we visited in low season not everything was available. That was fine, I asked the owner for a recommendation and got fresh squid and octopus that had been caught in Panormos Bay that day. Fantastic value too, I recommend ordering the local wine that is served in jugs (sold by the kilo or parts of in Greece). My husband enjoyed cold Mythos beer

We found some hidden coves around the beach too. There is boat hire during the high season which we hope to try another time, but they boats were not yet in the water when we stayed.

The local bus stops in Panormos and runs a good service four times a day between Skopelos Town and Loutraki, stopping at several places along the way. The bus times in between Loutraki and Skopelos Town are not published so you have to work it out - it's half an hour from when the bus leaves or arrives at Skopelos Town from Panormos.

Panormos is a lovely place, it's relaxed and despite having a few tavernas lining the beach the buildings are all traditional Greek and have red rooftops. It doesn't have a busy holiday resort feel, and keeps an atmosphere of being among locals.

There is a good mini market in Panormos too, that was in the process of being fitted out when we visited but the lady who runs it is lovely and we could buy what she had available. Once it's all up and running it will be great - a good selection of food, wine, household goods and there will be a cold food storage and a bakery too.

Panormos bay is beautiful. I have put on a review about Rigas taverna (couldn't find Trip Advisor pages for Linarkias or Espresso) and attached a photo of the bay there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunsets”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a lovely beach we stayed just up the road in a self catering apartment. There are some restaurants / tavernas here and in peak season a small super market. The swimming is lovely, It's a pebbly beach and may not be entirely suitable for kids who arent confident in the water as there is a bit of a shelf i.e. it gets deep quickly but the water is crystal clear. We had some wonderful evenings here sitting in the beach front tavernas after our meal watching the sun go down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Morph320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Skopelos is a small beautiful wooded Island in the Sporades, the best months to go are May for the Greek festivals, and June amd September.
Skiathos boasts over 40 beaches, Panormos is reputed to be one of the best in Greece and the world.
There, you definitely enjoy swimming in crystal clear sea waters.
Panormos little settlement " is my favourite, quiet, and a wonderful place to "de-stress".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panormos Beach also viewed

 
Skopelos, Sporades
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 

Been to Panormos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing