We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every step is worth it.......”

Agios Ioannis Sto Kastri
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Every step is worth it.......”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a must for every fan of the Mamma Mia movie and also for those people who have never seen the movie but like to visit the classic small Greek Orthodox churches.

The church of Agios Ioannis is situated about a 15 minute drive out of Glossa down a small winding road. We went at a very quiet time in early June and I imagine that this road can get very busy in high season. There is not much of a car park but there is a small kantina and, especially in Summer, I would recommend taking a cool drink with you for the climb.

So, let's start by saying that we all know that Hollywood has artistic license and there is no way that the wedding party actually all got into the actual church - BUT - the location of this place of worship is something to behold. It is spectacular and well worth the effort. Okay, the climb is steep and narrow but the steps are well constructed and the hand-rails are very safe.

Our visit was, somehow, enhanced by the fact that as we arrived there was a thunder storm starting way out to sea and we could see the lightning strike the sea in the distance.

The visit is, or course, free but I doubt that many people would resist the opportunity to light a candle and say a prayer, if only for a safe journey back down the stairs!! There is a small collection box for donations.

Worth the time, and the effort!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    119
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Difficult to get to but a worthwhile tourist stop”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The famous Mamma Mia church is quite a long way from anything, and you really need a car to get there. Even then, I recommend leaving in good time so as not to get stuck on the tiny winding roads when night falls. There is a tiny aptly-named cafe, just at the end of the road before you have to disembark and climb the steep stairs to the top. The church is NOT the same as the one in the movie, so be prepared to squeeze into a tiny traditional Eastern Orthodox island church – and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinaAberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you were a fan of the "Mamma Mia" movie or are just looking for a quaint little chapel and stunning views, this is a must! The ride to Agios Ioannis was beautiful with many fig and olive trees and breathtaking scenery. I would suggest wearing closed shows however when climbing the stone steps as I was wearing sandals and managed to hit my toe on one of the steps and got a nasty cut. The views from the Chapel are incredible however, and I enjoyed the whole experience very much!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning setting for a wedding”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went on a family holiday to Skopelos in May 2013 for my mums wedding.. I expected the steps to be harsh and hard work as having read up on the chapel many say its unsafe, it is not. Handrails are in place when the steps get steep and when they are no handrails they really aren't needed. You can't step on rocks and get to some of the shallow water at the bottom which make stunning photos. Absolutely amazing chapel and gorgeous views, well worth a trip if your are in Skopelos and head to the kastani beach which is also off the mamma Mia film

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wow!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last summer i went to 'Αγιος Ιωαννης στο Καστρι'..it it was a breath-taking scenery!! The beach was really beautiful and the water had a nice blue colour and it was so clean that i could clearly see from inside the sea. It was an exellent experience!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chrysaISLANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agios Ioannis Sto Kastri also viewed

Skopelos, Sporades
Skopelos, Sporades
 
Skopelos, Sporades
Skopelos Town, Skopelos
 

Been to Agios Ioannis Sto Kastri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing