We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
11
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our 3 week visit to Skyros in June 2014 was a gamble. We had been there once before nearly 40 years ago, and despite the then new-found popularity of the Greek Islands, had found it quiet and unspoiled. Would it be unchanged in 2014?
Despite some limited development and modernisations it has in fact changed very little.
Villa Mantalena benefits from this. A charming upgrade of an old windmill and it's associated buildings plus a couple of new-build villas on a small hill just behind the best beach on the island. All masterminded by the equally charming Antonis who lives on site during the summer season.
We recommend this place unreservedly.
Peter and Trish

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterofBollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in the windmill. The owner Antondis could not have been more helpful and pleasant.

All his villas and apartments are situated around a well kept garden. The lovely old windmill stands at the entrance gates under the shade of a most magnificent Constantinople Acacia tree. The inside of the mill is decorated in the Skiros style with lots of carved woodwork as well as a nice selection of Greek antiques. Outside is a patio with views to the sea.

The location is at the northern end of the island just behind Grismata beach. Most days we had the lovely sandy beach to ourselves (late June 2013).

I can recommend Skyros for sightseeing or just enjoying the many sandy beaches. It is well worth driving around the northern side of the island where the scenery is superb and there are many small farms. Despite what is shown on the map, the road is surfaced. If you enjoy wilder mountain terrain then the drive to Rupert Brook's grave and beyond should not be missed.

If you are a lover of his poetry you will be enchanted by the grave, which is situated in a remote olive grove beside a stream. His poem "If I should die think only this of me, that there is some corner of a foreign field that is forever England ......... " is inscribed on a marble plaque.

Room Tip: Each building is suited to differing sizes of parties. The apartment in the upper part of the windmill where we stayed was ideal for a couple but could also accommodate two children on converted couches.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGreektraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spend wonderful daysa in Villa Mantalena. It is abit away from the Chora, but if you have a car or scooter it is no problem. We stayed in the windmill and really liked it. From the terrace and the bedroom you can see the sea, the beach is 4 minutes away by walking. Antonio is taking care of everything, no question or little problme is enough! We even could try his delocious barbeque fish. There are many sweet little cats arround, but they do not bother you.

We will come back
Thomas, Wolfgang and Anita

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaefer1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Villas Mantalena, run by exceptionally friendly Antonis Tsivolas, is a complex of four individual buildings set close to the beach Girismata, the biggest being the villa, the most interesting being the windmill with two appartements. The upper windmill appartement offers a terrasse with a nice view over the sea and the close-by village Molos on Skyros.

We stayed in both the villa and the windmill and loved the places, the latter was a bit more exceptional regarding the unique layout. The clean rooms are in a traditional, inviting style. Both appartements offer private seating places to linger, a kitchen, A/C, free Wi-Fi (only close to the reception) and TV (we didn't use that one). Besides the inviting, beautifully done appartements and the lovely garden, the big plus is the owner Antondis Tsivolas himself: a splendid host in the best of all senses.

No breakfast or food is served, but Skyros itself offers exceptional good greek restaurants, the best - I istories tou Barba - only five mins by car from the Villas Mantalena.

Room Tip: The upper appartement of the windmill offers a terrasse, a great view and a special unique layout.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carambellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews