We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria Yiannis Apartments
Ranked #34 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My sister and i decided to have a girly holiday last july for a week and stayed here. We wanted to just relax and do nothing. We stayed in skiathos before but this was the first time at the Maria Yiannis. I will never go anywhere else again in Skiathos. The appartments are spotless. Basic but very clean. The pool was clean and fairly quiet. The beach is just a 5 minute walk away and the bus stop is at the end of the drive. I would definatley recomend staying here infact we had only been home 2 weeks and booked for the year after (which is now full). Can't rave enough about how fantastic the Maria Yiannis is. Although if you are going take a torch, it can be quite dark on the roads around the area. Oh and Manos is fantastic. Will do any thing to help. Highly recomend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HannahP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Maria Yiannis Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited for 2nd time in Aug 2012. Super location and very nice set up. Its not the Ritz but just good value for money. Very clean and your looked after by Manos & Lily. Pool bar excellent. The beach is very good ( Sandy ) and only a 5 minute walk where you can call in the supermarket on way to stock up on drinks and sandwiches. From 5 o'clock on you can have a drink in the Frog bar at end of road. Hi Lisa. Transport is brill on island, so simple. would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alecace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just had a week at Maria Yiannis. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Skiathos. Ideal location, clean (if basic) apartment, relaxing pool area, good bar service, near the beach, several good tavernas in easy walking distance

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedahblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here, the accomodation is great, very clean and lovely staff who are very, very helpful.....especially Manos and Lily, just across the road is the well stocked supermarket and the Frog Bar. The beach is a 2/3 minute walk and the bus stop is right outside the appartments (15min journey into Skiathos town) Had such a great relaxing holiday.....what more do you want. Will be going back next year......can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We got married on saturday and booked honeymoon on sunday and flew on tuesday, had no idea what this place would be like, after booking and a quick look on here we knew it was a good choice.
We had a suprise of petals on the bed and fresh fruit and bottle of red wine waiting for us in the room, room was lovely, spacious, clean, beds pushed together to make one whish is rare.
We had an amazing time, mamos was always around to help and lilly was lovely. Omeletes are nice and the greek salad was amazing!
enough sunbeds, even some spare, pool was clean all the time. and so was the complex.
Bus stop right outside which made going into skiathos or the other direction easy.
The supermarket across the road is run by the same family and is fully stocked with everything you need including daily fresh bread bakery.
cant say enough about this place, really is great! would defo go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Neil_and_Emma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Came back a few days ago and this resort is strongly recommended. Excellent location especially as the bus stop is right outside the apts (fare will be either 3.20 or 4 euros per couple depending on how far you're going).
Very clean rooms with maid service every 2 days except Sundays. More loungers than guests around the pool which appeared fairly quiet but to be fair, we spent our time on the beach. Got to mention the very kind Manos, who ran the pool bar. Top bloke! Some photos depict a green pool but this must be an old shot. Rest assured the pool is beautifully blue :-)
Troulos beach is literally minutes away but use the bus to see the other beautiful beaches the island has to offer.
Lots of restaurants in Toulos and many more in the Port. They offer delicious food for great value (we were spending between 25-35 euro). Ones to look out for include Ratouille, Villa Rosa (although was very quiet), Sunrise Taverna - remember to ask for a doggy bag when eating here!!! Salt and Pepper is apparently nice but seeing as you have to book, it put me off. In town there's the fabulous Windmill which is well worth the hike! Slightly more expensive but the food is out of this world! Down below very close to the bus stop is Scuna which is second to the Windmill in my opinion.
The boat trip was very enjoyable but, and this is our fault, we got the wrong one! Nonetheless, we went to Skopelos and Alonissos and it was very enjoyable. A long day mind. Next time, we need to get the Poseidon trip if you want to visit the church and beach used for Mama Mia.
I would go again and I would definitely get a car to explore the north of the island. It's worth mentioning that there is only 1 road in Skiathos which in situated in the south measuring 12km long. Any other 'road' is a dirt track to the gorgeous beaches in the north.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jlj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first time to Skiathos and as usual, we were a little apprehensive about somewhere new. We need not have worried as the apartments, people and the island overall, were fantastic. Apart from having Michael Schumachers sister as a taxi driver once, the holiday was probably the most relaxing we have had.The apartments could not be faulted, clean, well maintained - all the facilities you could ask for. There were plenty of sunbeds, the pool was cleaned several times a day, the snack bar was just about right for snacks and drinks throughout the day and Manos was the perfect host (and very inventive with his cocktails).

As you left the apartments, there was a bus stop either side of the road to take you further South, or North to Skiathos town. Maximum of 2E per person, running every 15 minutes or so up until midnight.The bus stops (26 in total) are at points of interest - essentially every bay or beach track. Alongside the bus stop heading to Skiathos town is The Frog bar, behind which is a typical corner shop type supermarket, which is about 2 minutes from Troulos beach down a single track lane. The sandy beach itself was excellent - clean, plenty of sunbeds, with Tavernas and a takeaway cafe set just back from the beach. The sea was a lovely temperature, perfect for cooling off, and gently shelving.

There were plenty of Tavenas, no need to eat in any one twice if you did not want to and very competitively priced - we did not have a bad meal whilst we were there, prices ranging up to around 30E for two courses, plus drinks for both of us. Particular favourites of ours were Sunrise, Villa Rosa (Lamb in Lemon sauce was sensational) and Ratatouille.

Skiathos town was a typical Greek main town, but with more shops than most of the other islands we have visited. If you are after a very good bistro type meal, excellent service, with sensational views over the harbour, especially at sunset (but maybe twice the price of local tavernas) climb the steps immediately behind the harbour to either The Final Step, or The Windmill (booking recommended, but not always necessary).

We had an excellent rep in Sam, very helpful indeed and always happy with a ready smile! We booked the sailing trip, which we thought was well worth the price, with Captain George and his wife being excellent hosts. Sailing over to Skopelos, taxi waiting to take us to the famous church from Mamma Mia, back on board for a swimming stop in a lovely bay, Meze lunch on board, freshly prepared by Georges wife, then off sailing again with a further swimming stop, finally returning around 5:30.

We also booked a local water taxi from the harbour over to Tsgouria and spent the day on this traffic free small island just sunbathing and swimming. We could have walked to another bay with a church, but by then were far too relaxed to make the effort. Trips ran to other islands as well, including ferries and katamarans to Skopelos and other islands/mainland.

All in all, a perfect chill out holiday, very friendly and helpful people (especially Manos and Sam), great apartments, nice pool, lovely beaches, and plenty of local tavernas. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the pool, but the ones overlooking the pool directly face South East so get...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moyleswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Luna Hotel
La Luna Hotel
#2 of 10 in Troulos
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#3 of 10 in Troulos
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parisis Villas
Parisis Villas
#8 of 17 in Troulos
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zaharo
Villa Zaharo
#3 of 17 in Troulos
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspa Victoria Apartments
Aspa Victoria Apartments
#9 of 17 in Troulos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Yiannis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Yiannis Apartments

Address: Troulos, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Price Range: $36 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maria Yiannis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Yiannis Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing