We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Season's end' in Skiathos!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Villa Apollon. Captain & Dounia certainly do make you feel very welcome, and urge you to come to the bar for a welcome drink once you’ve got all your bags upstairs. The first thing we did was to open our patio doors to see what the view was like, and we weren’t disappointed, the view over the bay was beautiful. A quick change of clothes and we were down to the bar to have our drink and to say hello to everyone. Captain is a character, full of banter and larger than life!!! (just don't get into politics, or mention anything Turkish!! ha ha!) Dounia was very friendly, and gave us a brief chat on what the area had to offer etc.
The bar area is nice and big, with a covered eating area and also a few tables outside facing the bay, so you certainly get a nice view when eating your meal. All the reviews you read about Captain's steaks and Greek salad are true - he definitely has a knack in the kitchen!! There is a nice pool, and the sunbeds are luxurious, with lovely padded cushions, and fresh blue towels are laid out on each bed every day.
The staff at the Villa were lovely and friendly, always ready with a smile and quick to help.
The apartment itself was basic but had everything you needed. A bit of extra worktop in the kitchen area would have been good, because there are some nights when you just can’t be bothered to go out and it’s a challenge to prepare a meal when you’ve only got the draining board to work on!!! Also, we thought we would lose the shower curtain a couple of times as the rail was practically out of the wall at both ends, but we managed!!
The nearest beach, Achladies, is a steep 5-10 minute walk down the hill along the main road, and once you get there it is lovely, beautiful clear water and nice sand. We had a couple of really lovely evening meals in the hotel restaurant (try the moussaka), which is right by the water, a perfect place to sit and watch the water taxi come and go. The taxi, by the way, is a brilliant way to get to Skiathos town, one of the highlights of the holiday! It only cost a couple of euros each and is great fun!
Skiathos is a pretty small island, and to see the best of it we really recommend hiring a 4x4 jeep (rather than a car) and going for a good trek, especially up to the north coast. We found some lovely beaches there – Hidden Beach (near Aghia Eleni) and Mikri Asselinos are both lovely. Also the Evangelistria monastery about 5k from Skiathos is beautiful, and definitely worth a visit. There is only one main road on the island, and you tend to go by the numbered bus stops (there are 26) as reference points! We stopped off at various beaches along the south coast, some better than others. The one to visit if you are feeling adventurous is the Little Banana beach, which is the islands main naturist beach. The water there is crystal clear, and has a nice taverna.
One of the most exciting things we did was to go plane spotting at the airport!! You can stand literally at the end of the runway and the planes come in within feet of you, it is the most incredible sight. Be warned though, I thought I was standing at a pretty safe distance whilst filming a plane taking off (even though I took notice of the warning signs!!), and I was still blown more or less off my feet!!! If I had been standing any closer I’m sure I would have landed in the sea!

Now for the grumbles!!

The main thing we found about the majority of beaches in Skiathos is that they are a little dirty, the main culprit being the cigarette butts that are everywhere. I think we had a whole summers worth on some of the beaches we went to – a bit off-putting.
We were a little concerned when we arrived at Villa Apollon to find that the main road runs right outside, and sometimes the “mosquito” motorbikes and lorries were very annoying!
I think our main gripe is the end of season Skiathos “wind-down” that we experienced the last couple of days of our stay. This was evident in some tavernas we visited and was also apparent at the Apollon. We found all the cushions had been taken off the sunloungers and the pool hadn’t been cleaned for a couple of days when we went down the last but one afternoon of our stay. That next night the parasols and tables and chairs outside were all put away, and the bar was completely cleared out!! It made you feel a bit like you were outstaying your welcome! I don’t know if this is typical, we were the last people there (apart from a young family who left on the same day), but in our view if you still have people staying with you, you wait until they have gone to clear everything away!!
Having said all that, we had a cheerful enough goodbye from the Captain the next morning (Dounia didn’t appear unfortunately).
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Villa Apollon, but I think that if we were to return we would go at the start rather than the end of the season, as everything seemed just a little tired and jaded by the time we left!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lassabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 447 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

Dounia and Captain are terrific hosts and make you feel more than welcome.
I have been staying here for over ten years and the warmth and friendleness makes you keep going back for more.
The apartments have wonderful views out to the pool and the sea.Everything is clean and the rooms and beds are very comfortable.

There is a well stocked bar area open all day and food available all day if you want it.The grilled steaks and pork chops are to die for ,huge portions. The mixed grill is a speciality but make sure you are really very hungry!!!

The Villa Apollon is a magical place and only a few minutes into Town by bus or taxi.

My friend came with me this year for the first time and she is well and truely hooked!!!

First Class Well Done Dounia Captain and the Team.

3  Thank Sunnybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We have just returned from a simply fantastic week in the Villa Apollon. Everything was superb - the location, the views and especially the hosts, 'The Captain' and Duonia. These two lovely people go out of their way to make all the guests enjoy their stay on the beautiful island of Skiathos.

The accomodation is more than adequate with simple self catering facilities, comfortable beds and although the bathrooms are small - hey! who parties in a bathroom?

Eating with the Captain is an experience not to be missed - but make sure you don't eat for a few hours before and take it 'Slowly, Slowly'.

The Esperides Beach is a short walk downhill where you can catch the water taxi into Skiathos Town and buses are very frequent up and down the coast.

All in all a great place for a holiday - we will be back!!!!!!!

Max and Angela

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank Spielberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Villa Appollon, Skiathos, Greece . Our party of four couples of pleasantly mature years stopped at the Villa Appollon for the first time .We had previously visited Skiathos two years before and
holidayed together in a number of other Greek islands.
The welcome provided by the Captain and Dounia the owners of
Appollon was second to none . From the moment of our arrival we were treated as "family " and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The facilities are excellent , the apartments being cleaned daily
and the views from the complex are wonderful.
The bar which always seems to be open is a great gathering point and the food provided is of exceptional quality . Do be aware of the Captains steaks and chops which are truly amazing in size . They are superb as is the best Greek salad in Greece !
The complex is ideally situated providing nearby access by bus
to all the beaches on the south of the island.One of the beaches within 5 minutes walking distance also provides a regular water
taxi in to Skiathos town which is only 3 k away.
The Captain and Dounia seem to attract many people ( some of whom who were there at the same time as us) who return again and again to their wonderful complex. On our last day having travelled with XL we got caught up in the crisis . They reassured us that they would find accommodation for us for as long as we might need it and the Captain drove two of us to the Airport twice that day to get an update on the situation. We shall not forgive them for informing us that a rescue flight was coming that evening for us when we all desperately hoped to spend more time at this gem of a place !
Having travelled widely over many years I have never been moved to place any entry previously on Trip Advisor but the whole Villa Appollon experience is such an outstanding one that I feel I should share it with others .
Needless to say we will return along with countless others again

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NedKellyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We knew we had picked the right hotel on arriving with the warm welcome we received.
We were shown to our very clean adequate rooms before finding the well stocked bar for a deserved drink. The first night we ate at the hotel and my goodness the portions are huge but you get quality as well as quantity.
We did eat elsewhere and while nice to see some of Skiathos the best food was to be found at the hotel. Douinais did prepare one of her Beef Stifados and would say the best meal of the holiday and one of the best meals ever tasted.Do try the Villa Apollon Special Cocktail, they taste good and make sure you sleep well. Although it is difficult not to as the beds are of a good quality.
The pool is lovely with views over the sea whilst you lay on the comfortable sun loungers. The views are stunning and it is only a 5 min walk to the beach.
We did explore some of the Island and did this by bus, the bus stop can be found opposite the hotel. They are cheap, crowded but a good culture experience and very regular.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the bathroom is a little small but when you are on holiday how much time do you spend in there! The Kitchen is well equiped with a toaster, microwave, coffee machine, fridge and kettle and plenty of cooking utensils. So much more than you usually get in self catering apartments.
The people we met were lovely and have returned here year after year and it is easy to see why.Yes there are ther places with bigger bathrooms and kitchens but will you find the genuine hospitality, the views, the food or the greek atmosphere? We will be returning and also would like to thank Jeff , Sue ,Dale, Wendy and others for making us feel welcome on my daunting holiday alone with the children.They too made it special. And of course a big thank you to Captain and Dounias for working so hard to make our holiday spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HAZELOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Accommodation clean, spacious 1 bedroom apartment for 2 people. Top floor overlooking pool with beautiful views over the bay. Dounia and the Captain are friendly and speak good English, they will help you with anything you wish to know, good restaurants to hiring a jeep. Only about 12 apartments so not noisy and mainly adults so relaxing by the pool is easy. Try the vegetarian pizza - best ever and Greek Salads made the Captain and Dounia. Easy to get into Skiathos Town, bus stop up the road or water bus is more relaxing. Lots of good restaurants in town (The Jailhouse) and bars etc. Wouldn't drive again, Greek drivers too FAST! for us. Beautiful beaches, very hot, excellent accomodation - would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We came back from the VA last week after having a week there. All in all a very nice, privately owned complex, but don't be fooled this is not a 5 star hotel. For Greece the standards are above average and the friendly, welcoming, safe and very clean nature of the place is to be commended, but the apartments themselves are nothing special. We stayed in No 2 on the top floor. The balcony and 180 degree uninterupted views are second the none but the rooms are as basic and cramped as you will find in most places at this price in Greece. The bathroom is frankly, poor - clean but tiny (and I mean tiny) with a shower tap 3 feet off the ground (an original hellenic wet room!). Is this really the best that can be provided, it doesn't fit with a No 1 rating ? The kitchenette is as expected but beware - the whole of the aluminium unit gets hot when you put the electric hob on. My wife burnt herself and any small child could easily touch it when squeezing past the bed to the loo. Should you need them don't expect anything but Greek channels on the TV in the room, apart from a looped english news channel.

The pool area is lovely, clean, great sunloungers and fresh towels and v safe for small children. The food is as good as anywhere we tried, but no cheaper. The Manianta Gardens taverna/bar on the nearby Achilades beach is very good, lovely setting and v convienient.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rji1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: $47 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing