We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

For those travelling to Skiathos who want good accomodation in a great location you need look no further. Captain and Dounia, your hosts, strive to make sure your holiday is a memorable one. Within easy reach of the airport but without the aircraft noise, getting to Skiathos Town couldn't be easier. Take the water taxi, at the nearby beach, hop on a bus or jump in a more conventional taxi. We stayed in an apartment catering for 3 people. Plenty of room with a large balcony overlooking the lovely pool with futher views across the sea to neighbouring Islands. From the welcome drink on our arrival to our last evening the whole experience was just fabulous, made the more so by wonderful hosts and guests who simply become 'part of the Villa Appollon family'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    35
    10
    19
    3
See reviews for
127
221
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well, another year, another visit to Apollo. Arrived to find that once again there'd been some changes, but, although the changes are large enough to make a difference and be noticed, they are small enough to never change the basic (and much loved) fabric of Apollo. This year some changes to the rooms, lovely new colour schemes for the bedding and new bedroom furniture bringing just the right amount of update to the rooms.

As ever, a great mix of old friends and new people (who, because of the nature of Apollo, soon became friends) - you feel comfortable right from the first minute you arrive - getting to the bar to have Dounia and Captain announce "Fix me baby" and encouraging us to try the Fix lager (apparently one of the oldest Greek breweries) they were stocking this year alongside the usual brews.

Myself and my wife had a week on our own at Apollo then family and friends flew in to join in my birthday celebrations - Dounia and Captain did their usual and went above and beyond what might be expected of hosts - last year for my 50th birthday it was a huge cake baked by Dounia - this year it was a massive Melon which had been injected with enough Vodka to make Moscow sozzled ! As with the cake last year - no charge for this lovely gesture to finish my birthday meal with my friends and family.

Over the course of the two weeks there we, along with others, were discussing how expensive the Eurozone was, and make no mistake, when you go on holiday in Europe nowadays, its a costly affair, well, if you want a holiday and not 2 weeks of holding the purse strings so tight that they cut into your hands. But the amazing thing is that going to Apollo as an independant is as cost-effective as going with a package, but I've never in all the years of package holidays encountered hoteliers/hosts as genuine, generous and friendly as Dounia and Captain. And, you really can't put a price on the view at Apollo and the feeling of "family" that everyone has, and shares, with both old guests and new. While we were there a group of 3 young ladies who were visiting both the island and Apollo were there, and they were lucky enough to witness the "silver path" across Achaldies bay which appears with the full moon. To sit there in the evening, eating your dinner, drinking a glass of wine and sharing time with great company is truly magical. Some previous reviewers have said that Apollo is cliquey - but as these ladies can attest, it is anything but that - experienced "APOLLONIANS" are always quick to invite new people into the fold, sharing their experiences and eager to learn about the newcomers over a refreshing beverage, so if people feel it's cliquey, then they need to look in the mirror at themselves as to why they feel that way, and try engaging with people.

The food, as ever, was great - massive portions to challenge even the largest appetite, and all cooked perfectly. And if you can't manage it all - well then it gets packaged up for you to take back to your fridge to have as lunch the next day.

It sounds trite - but for both me, and my wife, there really is no place like Apollo. Within minutes of arriving the stress has just melted away and time stands still until that horrible moment when we pack our cases knowing we've got to leave. Every year it becomes harder to leave, and the hugs we get from Dounia and Captain get held longer and firmer.

So there you have it - nowhere else works for me like Apollo - not just in Greece, but anywhere in the world. They've got, for me at least, the balance between traditional Greek with some contemporary "new world" touches just right. I would encourage you to try Apollo yourself and form your own opinion - make new friends, feel the calming, welcoming atmosphere and hopefully get touched by the magic and then.....come back and hopefully expand our world-wide group of friends who we've met at Apollo.

Till next year babies....missing you already....Yammas xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmorvanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a fantastic week at Villa Apollon. Owners were really friendly and very helpful. Villa is very well located a minute from the bus stop and supermarket and a five minute walk to the beach. Pool was lovely with stunning views over the bay. Accommodation was very comfortable and we had a big balcony for eating and relaxing with views over the pool and bay. Meals available at Villa Apollon were delicious. We would definitely return and would highly recommend Villa Apollon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

For those wanting a truly Greek experience Villa Apollon is the best choice on the island. We have now been back four times to enjoy the view, the food and especially the company of these very special people. Their generosity and desire to make your holiday special gets better each year. The rooms had been recently refurbished and were comfortable and clean. We will go back next year and many more for our Greek fix.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiro1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed a lot our vacations in Skiathos and our stay in villa Apollon. It is just few minutes walk from the beach, the studios have all necessary equipment, there is a nice swimming pool with the stunning see view. The owners really make sure that their guests have nice time in Apollon, without mentioning their cooking which is out of competition. Though during our stay we tried several nice restaurants in Skiathos,
fish dishes and greek salad from Captain and Dounia were by far the best.
Without any doubt we will come back.
Julia & Valery from Geneva

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_andreeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from our favorite retreat once again. We didn't think any more improvements could be made but oh yes the rooms have been upgraded once again new furniture curtains and matching bed linen make the rooms so cosy. As always the hosts Dounia and Captain were at there best entertaining us aswell as serving delicious food day or night.. We spent many happy hours at the pool both day time and evening chatting to the other guests many we have met before and some there for the first time. You can get the water taxi from the beach into Skiathos town which takes about 15 mins but is well worth it as the town is spectacular seen coming into the harbor. There are many places to eat or just sit and have a drink and watch the world go by aswell as many historical places to explore. Yes the Villa Apollon is a brilliant place to stay and easy to access all of the Island . Will we return oh yes and maybe not even wait till next year. Thankyou Dounia and Captain one again for making our stay unforgettable .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and all have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Once again nothing but praise for the villa apollon. Captain and Dounia, the hosts really are a remarkable couple and every year improve the place. The views are breathtaking and the food is excellent. So many highlights to recall. I really could go on and on and on and on and on and on, See what I mean! However I highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys good food, wine, stunning views etc. go on feed your soul. I will be back next year, I must, I owe Dounia 3 euros. Steve j. Bury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Property: Villa Apollon Skiathos
Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing