We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another glorious holiday at the Villa Apollon Skiathos”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Apollon Skiathos
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have just returned from Skiathos having had four glorious weeks at the Villa Apollon, Achladies. This is is our fourth return to the Villa Apollon though we have now been visiting Skiathos yearly for about 8 years and still it holds great magic for myself and my husband. Our hosts, Captain and Dounia are just lovely and will do all they can to help make your holiday successful and enjoyable - as has been said many times before - they cannot do enough for you. This year is the added bonus of breakfast being included which provides a wide choice of food to start your day and Sundays is a special day with lots of added extras. Of course what also makes the breakfast also special is being able to sit by the pool in the sunshine enjoying the wonderfuls views - takes a lot to beat. Dounia and Captain also cook evening meals and provide snacks during the day. The menu is limited but Captain does his lovely pork chops, steaks and mixed grills on the BBQ and they are delicious. There are also lovely pastas and a lovely "special" Greek salad and much, much more. If there is something else you would like that is not on the menu they will do their best to provide whatever you ask for. We would recommend fresh fish which is mouthwatering.

The atmosphere at the Villa Apollon is excellent. In four weeks we saw lots of comings and goings but everyone was very friendly and we all enjoyed each others company at various times. Some of those guests are "returnies" like us which speaks volumn about our hosts.

The accommodation is basic but very comfortable and cleaned daily with linen and towel changes several times a week. The staff are a cheery bunch and always helpful and do their utmost to provide a good job.

Villa Apollon is situated on a hill which provides the glorious views from all the apartments. There is a bus stop very close by which is convenient for trips to other resorts up and down the island and of course to Skiathos town.

The town is very pretty and has lots of tavernas and bars giving a great atmosphere day and night. We are still finding new places to explore on Skiathos even though we have been back and forth so many times now.

I could go on and on with this review but I recommend that you go to the Villa Apollon and discover lots lots more for yourself - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Villa Apollon Skiathos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 445 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Back again this year for our 4th 4 week visit to the Apollon, that in itself should tell you how good it is and now as the heading " with breakfast" (see pictures).
We just love the atmosphere and hospitality that Captain & Dounia provide, along with the comfortable accommodation and wonderful views.
Having read some previous reviews, we can now state that the bathroom taps HAVE been changed, a towel on the floor and a scrape on a tile, is not to us a major issue.
We overheard a couple of grumbles whilst on our stay, one was the number of steps to the beach. I would suggest to those who have walking or breathing difficulties, look at the pictures and see how far off the beach you are ( Not far but down hill from the Apollon). Besides that there are other ways to and from the beach. In our experience,if you have any doubts at all, regarding anything before you book, Dounia, will always answer your questions, promptly and truthfully.
It is hard to add anything to the glowing reviews that the Apollon has but to us its still "simply the best"

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We came to Skiathos to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and it was our first time on this amazing island.
As soon as we landed the people of Skiathos were so friendly and welcoming, especially our hosts Captain and Dounia. Villa Apollon is a great place to stay! It is in a great location between bus stop 9 & 10 and a few minutes walk to a stunning beach. Supermarkets and Taverna's are near by but not necessarily needed due to the tasty food of gigantic portions prepared by Dounia and sometimes Captain!
The studio apartments which we stayed in are small but very clean. it is equipped with everything you need and its great to chill out on your balcony with sea views! Apart from the hosts themselves the bar and pool area really makes this property special. I would highly recommend Villa Apollon and look forward to returning to this beautiful island with so many surprises.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

If you want to stay at a lovely place with lovely people look no further, it is not 5 stars in the way of accommodation but the friendliness of the captain and Dounia and the food more than make up for any shortfalls. They were really helpful and great company. Our only regret was not eating enough meals at the hotel. We went out most nights to try many different restaurants but only one (The Windmill) topped the food we had here. Everyone there seemed to be regular visitors but it was in no way cliquey and we still had our privacy. The water taxi is a five minute walk down the hill and runs hourly into Skiathos town and you will not wait more than 5 minutes outside for a taxi (about 6 euros into town). We are definitely going back. Sorry there was one other regret, only staying a week!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Another lovely holiday at Villa Apollon. A very warm welcome by the owners who do all
they can to make your stay special. Can't beat having breakfast by the pool overlooking
the fabulous views of the bay. Very pleasant eating at the Villa if you've had a hectic day on a boat or plenty of tavernas to choose from in Skiathos town. Not had a bad meal in Skiathos yet. Skiathos has everything you could wish for on a holiday, lovely beaches,
beautiful views, boat trips and cobbled back streets to explore in the town. Will be definitely going again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annepotter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My 12 year old daughter, my cousin & I have just enjoyed the most perfect week thanks to Dounia & Captain, this fantastic hotel in an idyllic location on the best Greek island I've had the pleasure to visit so far (and there have been many). Dounia and Captain could not have been more kind, fun and helpful and are a rare find.

Not much to add to that and what's said below. The steps to Achladies beach would be difficult for the less mobile but as Mike below says, the bus stop really close by allows easy access to a number of excellent beaches including Koukounaries only 15 mins or so away. Also bear in mind that the steps take you through the Achladies Apartments amazing gardens where there's an aviary and turtle protection reserve - you may even get to encounter the effervescent Pauline (not vastly unlike Donna in Mamma Mia LOL) and hear about the escaped iguana :-)

One word of warning - the trip to Skopelos (Mamma Mia tour) from Skiathos town on "Poseidon" advertises 3 stops on its boards at the old port. In fact it only stops twice (Skopelos town & another which allows 30 min bus transfer to THE church), missing out the beach the boards clearly state you'll stop at. They wouldn't entertain even a partial refund on the basis that it was impossible to do 3 stops in the time ... so why advertise it?! This was the one and only negative experience of the entire week, and returning home to Captain & Dounia and a carafe of their finest white soon wiped out the disgruntledness! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms 5 to 8 poolside
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just returned from a week at Villa Apollon. Dounia and the Captain are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment, which was very clean and comfortable. The view from the balcony, and the quality of service more than make up for the basic bathroom facilities.

The villa is some way above Achladies beach - it is only a short walk, but does include 89 steps - more of a problem on the way back than going to the beach in the morning! However the nearest bus stop is very close to the gate and there are many fantastic beaches which are easily accessed from the bus route. Buses run every 15 minutes and there is also an hourly water taxi to Skiathos town. The round the island boat trip (from Skiathos Town - 20Euros, but negotiable - we paid only 15 per head) is a great way to see all the beaches at one go, and then to decide where to spend other days.

A very relaxing holiday. Not sure how quiet it would be in high season but at this time of year it is hard to think of a better place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bickertonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
959 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Apollon Skiathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Apollon Skiathos

Address: Achladies, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range: $48 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3.5 kms from Skiathos town and 4.5 kms from Skiathos airport at one of the best beaches of the island named Achladies where you can find water-sports, tavernas, bars, restaurants, water taxi to town and supermarkets. Bus stop no 9 is 50 meters from the gate of the Villa. The most important characteristic of Villa Apollon is the feeling of comfort and relaxation.PRICE INCLUDES WELCOME DRINK, BABY COT,WI-FI CONNECTION, PARKING.STUDIOS (2 PERSONS) double bed or two single beds.STUDIOS (3 PERSONS) one double bed and one single bed.ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-4 PERSONS) one double bed (bedroom)and two single beds at the living area.TWO BEDROOM APARTMENT(2-5PERSONS) Two bedrooms one with double bed and one with two single beds can sleep up to five-six (5-6) persons adding one or two single beds at the living area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Apollon Skiathos Hotel Skiathos
Apollon Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing