We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff but hotel nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Piscine Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff but hotel nothing special”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First the positives: the hotel's location, very close to the main street and bus stop 3; the enthusiastic and highly professional staff; the cleanliness and the comfortable shaded seating areas for when you have had too much sun.

Now the downsides. It's a little cliquey. Most of the guests have been coming for years, and every time there is a flight from Doncaster or East Midlands, it seems there are effusive hugs and reunions. For the first part of our stay the group noisily clung together in the bar and on the sunbeds, and there were quite a few smokers. The snooty southerners (including us) prefer to keep to themselves.

The staff are less friendly once they realise you're not going to have lunch in the hotel and will be eating out in the evenings. There's nothing wrong with the Crazy Cow restaurant: we ate there once and the salmon was better to the salmon I had in The Final Step. But the choice of sittings - 7.30 or 9.30 - didn't work for us. In our early sitting, there were hardly any other diners and it wasn't dark so there was no atmosphere sitting by the pool.

The cocktails are pretty awful - we had a bloody Mary and a dry Martini.

Breakfast has been commented on before, and I am almost reluctant to do it again because clearly no notice is taken of the comments judging by the cut and paste response from Olga each time. But yes, you do expect fresh coffee and something equating orange juice (it really is little better than squash). The choice of fresh fruit is limited: usually apples and two types of melon. In another hotel on Rhodes, breakfast was sumptuous with bircher muesli, fresh fruit salad, eggs cooked to order.

The pool area is a little overcrowded and the beds are not the type you can move around very easily to get the best sun. The beds in the front, on a wooden platform, are a good choice because most of the guests are unable to use them. There should be more umbrellas.

I was extremely grateful for the hotel's library of books left by other guests, having broken my Kindle by leaving it in the sun.

In summary we would definitely return to Skiathos: fabulous, gorgeous island. But this hotel is not for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyacinth_bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaFateeva, Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your constructive review on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to read that your expectations weren't fulfilled during your stay at out hotel. Our main intention is to always satisfy all our guests' requirements and expectations. Please be assured, that all your comments are taken into consideration because we always try to do our best and continuously improve on our services and standards at the hotel.

On a more positive note, we would like to thank you for mentioning our Crazy Cow Restaurant and that you enjoyed your dinner and our cuisine. A special thank you for underlining our highly professional staff, the cleanliness and comfort of all hotel areas.

We do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the future.

With warm regards,

Olga Fateeva
Sales and Marketing Manager
La Piscine Art Hotel****
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    95
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
79
483
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our third year in a row to this lovely hotel ! All the staff always go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and special, Olga needs a particular mention as nothing is too much trouble for her to arrange. The food is excellent, breakfast is the best variety we have had in Greece and the evening dinners at the Crazy Cow Restaurant are wonderful, we ate the best steak we have ever had abroad ! We have a room overlooking the Pool, Angela always keeps it spotless ! Our only negative comment would be that the bathrooms need updating, the shower is in the bath and the floor gets very wet. Every year as soon as we come home we want to book again ! we also enjoy meeting up with other guests who also return every year, this reflects the popularity of this hotel and the beautiful island of Skiathos which has a magic about it. And yes we have booked again for next year !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Before going to La Piscine Art hotel I consulted Trip Advisor and was really pleased with the positive reviews and excited for my holiday.
Don't get me wrong. The staff are very pleasant, but so they should be, they work in the tourist industry in a recession. We ate at Crazy Cow restaurant, and while it was probably the best meal we had while we were there, I think that says more about the quality of the food in local restaurants rather that the hotel.
Aside from that it seemed that every holidaymaker staying at the hotel had stayed at the hotel before and there was almost a competition between them all about who knew the most about Skiathos and who got on best with the staff.

I have travelled extensively all over the world (including other Greek Islands) and this hotel is more 3 star than 4 star without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RubyR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaFateeva, Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor!

At La Piscine Art Hotel we always try to provide the best services to all our guests and that's the reason why many of them prefer to stay with us, year after year.

We appreciate your compliments about our Crazy Cow Restaurant and you should know that we feel delighted that it was your best meal on the island.

Once again , thank you very much for your constructive comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

With warm regards,

Olga Fateeva
Sales and Marketing Manager
La Piscine Art Hotel****
Phillian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel. The last was 5 years ago. No hotel works so hard to please. The staff are all exceptional and certainly help you to have a great stay. The hotel is very clean. Our room was cleaned thoroughly everyday. Clean linen and towels in abundance. Breakfast is more than worth getting up for. Lighter options or a full cooked breakfast if you prefer. The food at the hotel has a huge reputation anyway and is delicious. NB if you are short of space in your case don't pack a pool towel. Clean towels are on all sun beds and get replaced during the day as they are used. Lovely big towels better than you'd pack!! We had a few special requests and a couple of unusual requests while we were there and all our needs were kindly met. Even a bag of dry rice for a wet phone. One thing I do like, even though the staff work hard you don't feel they are rushing and don't really have time for you. I absolutely loved our week. Would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Pay for the pool side view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackSwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate at the Crazy Cow restaurant and were able to experience the hotel for a night. It was very professional both in terms of staff and the quality of the food, and reasonably priced considering the high quality setup at the hotel.

Only downside was the lack of children for us (if we were wanting to stay), but the staff were able to get this across well without causing any offence and taking the child for a meal at the hotel seemed welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Surprised this is not in top 3 ranked hotels in the town. Staff are excellent and very accommodating to your every needs. Hotel is in a prime location, only 10mins from Papadimonti street - main walking area to bars/ tavernas/ restaurants + harbour. Also remarkably close to the airport without hearing the planes. Beds around the pool are extremely comfy. Breakfast is fab + crazy cow restaurant is exceptional - not jut for evening dinner, but also great selection of lunches. This is our 2nd stay + will almost certainly be coming back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the second consecutive year that my husband and I have stayed at La Piscine and we never normally stay at the same hotel twice and we were not disappointed. I really do not know where to begin. Ok, the hotel is situated just 5 minutes walking distance from the town centre and a few minutes away from a bus stop that can take you all across the island. The Crazy Cow restaurant, which is part of the hotel is by far one of the best restaurants that my husband and I have ever eaten in. La Piscine is currently rated 4 star but the quality of the staff, the food and the customer service is definitely 5 star. A big well done to Olga, Dean , Michael and the rest of the staff, sorry for not mentioning you all personally. La Piscine is a very friendly hotel and if you want to visit a beautiful island and stay at a beautiful hotel then La Piscine is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
488 reviews
4.5 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,045 reviews
3.2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
4.5 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#4 of 12 in Koukounaries
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piscine Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piscine Art Hotel

Property: La Piscine Art Hotel
Address: Evaggelistrias, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Piscine Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Piscine Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Piscine Art Skiathos
Hotel La Piscine Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing