We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Skiathos
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had our wedding here this year in early September and after a year planning with many emails to Panos we had our perfect day, the hotel staff were very helpful nothing to much trouble, Marios makes the best cocktails on the Island and alway happy to try something different. The hotel is located near bus stop 12, its so easy to get about either bus, taxi or water taxi a great place to explore. There are so many restuarants to choose from, we had our reception at Salt & Pepper in Troulos which was fantastic.
The veiws from the hotel are breath taking and the two beachs near have great taverners, our favourite is the Kanapitsa Taverna food was lovely.
A great big thank you to Panos and all the staff at Kanapitsa Mare for making our Wedding Day everything we wished for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view as the Hotel is quite high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guests
It was a pleasure having you with us and holding your wedding at our hotel. Organising the details over the winter together, it gives us great satisfaction and pleasure to see the wedding realised, and being a successful - romantic event.
I would like to thank you for your trust, wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    104
    44
    29
    27
See reviews for
54
180
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice Location but seriously overpriced, neglected and rather unclean.I have to agree with previous reviews that it is appears generally understaffed and any query or requirement seemed very hard to be dealt swiftly

Surprised by so many adamant reviews - If i was given the choice I would skip it

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guests
It is rather sad to read such reviews with general statements about the hotel being "bad, understaffed, overpriced,etc". Reviews are meant to help other travellers form an objective opinion about the accommodation, attraction they wish to visit. In addition, they are meant to help the business improve by receiving meaningful suggestions - proposals about potential weaknesses in the offered services. It is easy hidden behind anonymity to try and make bad statements about a business.
That being said, we leave it to all readers and visitors of Skiathos and our hotel to judge the value and tone of your "review".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skiathos hotels

midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After staying at the hotel last year, we decided this was the perfect wedding location. The hotel has stunning sea views and we loved the peaceful location. We liked the fact that it was very quiet here on the evenings.
Whilst planning the wedding over the year, Panos was very helpful responding to my many email queries. Whilst at the hotel, all staff members that we met were extremely helpful. Our room was cleaned every day hence I'm surprised at some of the reviews I read earlier. Marios is a star and makes the best mojitos in town, he looked after us very well.
We had our evening reception at Johnny's restaurant which is opposite the hotel and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear bride & groom
It was a great pleasure having you with us after our correspondence throughout the winter. We are all very happy and excited that the wedding turned out as you imagined it and everyone was with great big smiles!
On behalf of the management and staff of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and wedding and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Having read a number of mixed reviews before we travelled we went with an open mind and I'm pleased to say it was a wonderful holiday. Kanapitsa Mare is in a really great location and we couldn't believe how close we were to everything; beaches, tavernas, bus stop (12), water taxi and water sports! The hotel is really big and has a nice feel to it. We were in room 510 and had a lovely view and we had upgraded to a superior room which I would recommend. We had a lot of space and the bathroom with shower and separate jacuzzi bath was fantastic. Picking up on a number of previous comments the towels would be the only thing we would agree on needing improvement. They are hard and worn but this would by no means ruin your holiday! We also had lovely fluffy dressing gowns in the bathroom which helped. The hotel staff were really friendly and helped us when the mosquito screen needing repairing, they booked restaurants for us (which always had lovely sea views) and they kindly let us stay an extra hour in our room after check out time. Breakfast was fine, I don't know how much more variety people would want; there was breads, yoghurt, meats, egg, cereal and fruit! As per the other reviews, Mario's cocktails are fabulous and a great way to start the evening. All in all a great holiday spot that won't disappoint.

Local recommendations: Kanapitsa Taverna (lovely for lunch or dinner), Vromolimnos Beach, Infinity Blue Restaurant in Kolios, Final Step in Skiathos Town. Poseidon Boat tour to Skopelos. We hired a little boat for a few days from Nostos beach and it was great to get over to some of the little islands in the bay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your vacation with us. We welcome and encourage guests reviews; it is your kind comments and suggestions that help us improve our services.
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for your kind words; please note that your suggestion for the towels has been noted.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel for a relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first time visiting Skiathos and found the hotel to be everything we needed and expected. It is a 3 star rated hotel, so expect that, we got what we expected, good service, good hospitality and great location. 3 very good beaches and tavernas very close by, not far from the bus stop 12, which is about 10 minutes from town. Breakfast at the hotel is continental not full English, which is available in town, but we enjoyed the choices provided.
The views from the rooms were great overlooking the beach, rooms were clean and spacious, maybe a few more drawers, but no complaints.
There is a tennis court close by which is not advertised and not often used.
We were there for a friends wedding and the event went ahead with no problems at all, Panos, the manager was there to assist with photos and videos and really made the event special. Not forgetting Mario behind the bar, really made the drinks available when required.
Also many thanks to the Salt and Pepper restaurant for the wedding reception, again great food, great service, regards to George and Yannis.
We are enquiring about returning again next year, and would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, lower floors may access the wi-fi areas, not available through out the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guests
It was a great pleasure meeting you in our hotel and taking part of the wedding service by the pool area. As far as the accommodation is concerned we try hard each year to maintain high standards of offered services throughout the facility to all guests. It makes us very happy to see our guests leaving with a smile and pleasant memories, especially this year that marks 40 yrs of excellence in the Hospitality industry of Skiathos, Greece.
As for the wedding, we worked hard throughout the winter to organise a romantic wedding service and judging from the smiles of the bride and groom (and of course all the guests) we succeeded!!!!
Once again thank you very much for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very helpfull staff nothing is to much trouble even when we asked to change room due to loud neighbours we were upgraded with no charge excelent. Fantastic views and location to explore by bus or water taxi into town second time visiting this hotel thanks again to all that made this a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer Skiathos Holidays. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been coming back to this lovely hotel for several years - this was our fifth visit and other members of our family come separately too. (See my previous reviews)

Once again we had a lovely, spacious room on the third floor with a stunning view.

Everything was pretty much the same as we have come to expect - great pool, friendly staff, a good night's sleep (the beds are much improved) and a friendly welcome from Panos the manager.

OK the breakfast is still exactly the same every morning (also as we have come to expect) - perhaps sometime there might some variation: one lives in hope, but there's a reasonable choice, so not terribly important. This year the lunchtime menu was much more restricted than previously, so that was a slight disappointment but we weren't there for lunch every day anyway.

However, once again we very much enjoyed our visit and hope to return again next year: can't say more than that!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure welcoming you with us for one more stay. It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you have noticed some of the changes we have implemented. As for the lunch menu, it is already under restructuring so that next year more options will be added.
Once again thank you for your continued trust and support.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#34 of 83 in Skiathos
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#57 of 83 in Skiathos
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Property: Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing