We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed the last week in June 2013 had a great holiday with my mum and sister ,had forgotten how beautiful the Island is, as it's 10yrs since i last visited .The hotel was lovely and in a great position, the pool area was 5 star .Very quiet and relaxing we will return.Only down side is the very steep hill up to the reception a bit much for my mum at 79yrs old.

Room Tip: As my mum is 79yrs old they gave us a ground floor room which was under the swimming pool area .It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences while spending your holidays in Skiathos in our hotel. We take great pride in offering our guests the highest level of services during their stay in order to make their holiday memorable. That is why we pay very close attention to the thoughts shared by our guests, that help us improve each year.
Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    101
    38
    27
    27
See reviews for
51
169
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We normally stay in or around town in Skiathos but thought we'd try a bit further out this year. We selected the Kanapitsa Mare for it's location - it has 3 beaches within 15 walk, 2 minutes from bus stop 12 and the ferry runs across to Skiathos from both the local beach (Nostos, 5 mins, all flat) and one next door (Kanapitsa.10 mins over the hill). The ferry takes about 20 minst to Skiathos ...check out the times though and arrive a few minutes early - they get quite busy! Both these beaches are relatively quite, both have good Tavernas and both have watersports. The taverna at Nostos is a bit more 'traditional' than it's neighbour at Kanapitsa - service is a little slow, but who cares, the view is fantastic! The other beach - Vromolimnos is about 15 min walk - couple of steep short hills ...bit more of a party beach in the afteroon/early evening and they have a DJ from about 1pm....nice chilled vibe but if you don't like the music you can sit far enough a way....busier beach - younger people.
The hotel itself is modern, roomy and clean....our room was a good size with fridge, safe and air conditioning included...always hot water, bit of a bonus in Greece! They only do Breakfast and snacks so you have to eat out in the evening but why wouldn't you....there are so many great places to go. The rooms are serviced daily, sheets changed around every 3 days or so, fresh towels and loo rolls replaced. Breakfast is buffet - omelette, sausage, eggs, cereal, fruit, cold meats etc....sometimes a little depleted but staff always on hand. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming, aways happy to book a taxi or restaurant for you. The hotel has a lovely pool area with a view out over Nostos Beach. The pool is lovely and warm - great to jump into after a hard day at the beach (salt rather than chlorine)....and big thanks to Marios who runs the bar by the pool, lovely chap, really looked after us and makes 'proper' cocktails! All in all this was a great base for us - easy access to buses if you want to explore the other beaches and not too far into town in the evenings if that's what you want. There are at least 6 tavernas within 15 mins walk one on each of the beaches and 3 others dotted around (avoid Johnny's tho)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guests
I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer holidays in Skiathos. After reading your review the only thing we can say is Thank you for your trust.
Each year at Kanapitsa Hotels Group we try hard to offer high level services to all guests.
Best of wishes from all of us at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have just returned from a two week holiday at The Kanapitsa Mare. Our room was quite spacious and clean. A great location for visiting other parts of the island, and really enjoyed catching the water taxi from the nearby beach into Skiathos town for excellent evening meals. The bus service at the top of the road was also very good, except sometimes it was very full and we couldn't always get on.

We had breakfasts at the hotel which were adequate, but after 14 days of exactly the same breakfasts day in day out we became rather fed up at the lack of variety. Also did not like having tinned peaches as one of the choices. I would really like to praise Yasmina who did a very good job of ensuring everything was replenished at busy times, and what a really lovely young lady she is. Always smiling and extremely helpful, especially at recommending some beaches we had not yet discovered even after having visited Skiathos 5 times! The staff on reception and at the poolside bar were also very helpful.

We were disappointed when after a few days the hotel was full of Corporate guests attending a conference for 5 days, and really felt that the Mare was losing its lovely homely atmosphere, but I suppose the owners have to make their money.

Would return to the Mare, but definitely not for 14 days, I think 7 days would be more than adequate at this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an unobstructed seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us; reading through your notes about the breakfast, i would like to inform you that your points have been well noted in order to help us make the necessary updates to our services. Regarding the variety, please note that that canned fruit is available, along with a selection of fresh fruit that alternates during the week.
On behalf of the management and staff of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is not luxurious but definitely worth a stay.Our standard room was kept clean and air con was free as was the safe and fridge.Lovely pool area with fab views.Great to walk a short distance to water taxi to get to Skiathos town or catch the regular bus to numerous beaches.Mario the bar tender made the best Margarita I have ever tasted.He is a credit to the hotel and speaks 7 languages!Breakfast was adequate and open till 10.30 so good if you like a lie in.Several tavernas within walking distance if you don't feel like going far.Found some great restaurants in the old port area away from the front.Great island if you want to keep away from lager louts.A good holiday in all but wouldn't recommend travel with Small Planet Airlines but that's another story!

Room Tip: book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoughboroughMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guests

On behalf of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa management and staff we would like to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer holidays in Skiathos. We all try very hard to offer high quality services to all our guests and we are happy when guests leave with a smile.

Reading through your review we see that you have managed to explore some of the best Skiathos and Kanapitsa have to offer; especially the excellent sea taxi!!!

Best of wishes from all of us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ok, this place a scenic view can't argue. Rooms are quite basic, (but clean) and the staff seemed to me a bit not experienced but very kind. Breakfast is in the average too, maybe more lower than higher. In general I've noticed the hotel was lacking of maintenance, you know small defects spread everywhere that you could fix easily, maybe cuz we went mid june. The price per room is definitely to high.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Italian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting our hotel and taking the time to write your thoughts about your experience during your stay with us. I apologise about not reaching to your expectations, but in order for all to have an objective view we need to clarify a few points:
You stayed with us on business for multiple days; if you experienced any "maintenance trouble" or were not satisfied with the breakfast why did you not inform the reception staff which is there to assist with any issues our guests have?
The purpose of the reviews (and that's one of the reasons that why strongly encourage them) is to help the business improve their services; it does not help anyone making allegations that "the hotel lacks maintenance", "small defects here and there", etc.
It is easy behind anonymity for anyone to make any allegations they see fit after they have departed from the hotel.
As I noted earlier, the staff (which you should know is very well trained) is there to help make your stay easy and relaxing and to service any and all needs that you may have.
The only prerequisite is that you inform the reception staff or the hotel manager that you need assistance with an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautifully positioned hotel, just a couple of minutes walk from Bus Stop 12 on Skiathos main road, yet overlooking one beautiful beach and only 5 minutes walk from a second one. We chose, almost by accident, probably one of the best locations on the Island. Simple 3 star hotel - lovely staff. Very helpful.Plain but pleasant breakfast - self service. Handy for bus - as above - but also for the water taxi which goes to Skiathos Town from both the aforementioned beaches 8-10 times during the day and evening - just 3E each way. 3 local tavernas within short walk. Kanapitsa Beach taverna particularly good recommend their red house wine! The Cape Kanapitsa Hotel - same owners - looks very interesting too and access to both hotels' facilities available to residents of both. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try hard in both our hotels to offer the highest level of service to each guest. Apart from that there is not much more to say apart from a sincere Thank you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely location and superb views. All facilities better than we have previously experienced in Skiathos. Situated half way between Skiathos town and Kookanaries it is well placed for transport to either end of the island with bus and water taxi close by. Three or four excellent tavernas within easy walking distance.
The manager was very attentive to all his guests and the staff were all friendly. The manager recommended us to the highlight of our holiday - a day yacht charter with Sail the Day and Captain Stefanos. Stefanos sailed,cooked beautiful meals and snacks,entertained and was generally a "good egg" all round . We also thought that the charter price was very reasonable for all we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryEvans1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear guests
It was a pleasure having you with us and we are glad to read your kind words. It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The charter "sailing" was a new addition to our offered services and we are glad that you had a great day.
Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
Skiathos Club Hotel Suites
#48 of 84 in Skiathos
82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#60 of 84 in Skiathos
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Property: Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing