We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable relaxed Home from Home”
Review of Caravos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caravos Hotel
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Norwich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A comfortable relaxed Home from Home”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We've stayed here 3 times now and though it's 3 stars are well worn we are happy as it suits our beach bum holiday style. Big rooms with comfy beds and an accomodating staff.Good breakfasts, bang on the no 23 bus stop and within easy walking distance of lots of beaches including naturist ones. The views from the upper floor balconies is great and there are fabulous walks you can make from the hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EARLBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    9
    8
    26
See reviews for
11
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

After we book our holidays I was worried with the reviews
upon arrival I find out that the Caravos hotel is more than OK
great location nice clean (simple )rooms helpful stuff relaxing atmosphere great food and drinks overall had a great relaxing holidays with the family hope to be back in the future

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank largefamilyGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

After reading previous reviews I was not expecting this hotel to be as good as it was .
In particular Dionysus at Reception was most helpful in sorting out small problems.
On the Restaurant side the Maitre D - Vassilos , was very cheerful in catering for our eating needs across the conveniently located (side by side) eating style venues : Italian, Greek Chinese or Indian food for the evening meals

Breakfast was a very well stocked buffet with eggs scrambled or hard boiled, choice of sausages, bacon, beans and sliced or feta cheese, ham, cereals, fruit (peaches and fresh melon prepared) thick cream and of course fresh rolls, jams , honey and tea or coffee.

Trips to nearby Beaches Koukanaries was great and Mandraki and Aghia Eleni were also well worth the slightly longer walks. Convenient and reliable buses to Skiathos town for shopping, sightseeing etc.

We really want to return next year !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAnother_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in Caravos hotel for 4 nights in July. I must say I was very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms were dirty, the 30 year old A/C sounded like a train, the windows wouldn't lock and the shower had no water pressure, while other times it didn’t have hot water. Once complaining to the staff the answer was "oh yeah... this sometimes happens on the 2nd floor!"
The only good thing about the hotel was its location. Despite being far from the city, it was walking distance to Koukounaries beach; I believe the best beach in Skiathos.
No matter what, NEVER stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitrisk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skiathos hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We booked the hotel through the phone. I was tod by the responsible manager that the hotel has been recently renovated and that our room would be a bungalow near the pool. Upon our arrival we faced a very old building. Our supposed to be "bungalow" room was rather an arcade in the woods - it looked like an abandoned room that smelled terribly, the windows didn't even lock and the bathroom was so disgusting. We immediately requested for a change of room. The staff was not friendly at all and at first they gave us another room inside the main building that was equally dirty and old as the previous one. After arguments, they gave us a room that was at least decent. Still old but it didn't smell. The air conditioning system was 30 years old, breakfast was extremeley poor and the cleaning staff horrible. One afternoon after returning from the beach we found out that no towels have been left for us in the room. After calling the reception they told us that our towels would be ready in 30 min!!. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was 5 min walk away from the beautiful beach Koukounaries. I strongly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel for any reason!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We were a little cautious with our booking at the Caravos which we booked through Olympic Holidays. We do not do luxury but we do like comfort and friendliness.The only bad thing about the whole trip was the flight .We were pleased with our room which worked well and was pleasant with effective a/c, a good view and very clean. The pool was a delight and all the staff worked hard to make sure that everything from the breakfasts in the morning to the bars in the evenings were up to scratch. We've had over 20 Greek island holidays and this is one of the best. The plumbing did have it's moments but there was a shower hook on the wall and always hot water except once when we came off the beach very late. There are also delightful walks to other beaches and two good local tavernas 'the spirofila' & The big bad wolf ,try their cheese Pie; Wow!!
The Mandraki ,close by, had a very good greek night with an excellent BBQ. All in all We'd go back again without any hesitation Bob & Pat Mcclenning

  • Liked — It's friendliness and it's clean tidy appearance (Greek standards apply)
  • Disliked — We'd rather have had a fridge than the minibar provided
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patandbobandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying at The Caravos Hotel....We booked it back in March & were very much looking forward to a nice relaxing holiday. When we arrived in skiathos we were told that they were having a heatwave which was a pleasant start, when we arrived in our room in the hotel on the 2nd floor, the air con did not work - we were told that they don't turn it on until July even though they were having a heatwave!! We put up with it for one night but then spoke to the rep as we couldn't sleep in 30+ temperatures & it was actually cooler outside. The hotel agreed to move us to one of the bungalows which we thought looked lovely from the outside but after closer inspection it was pretty rotten but had air con. We paid for B&B but it was a joke as the bread was stale & uncovered & all the food that was supposed to be hot was cold even when we turned up early, some days we went to the Stamelos bar (which is part of the hotel) and paid to have breakfast there which was delicious yet came out of the same kitchen?!!? The hotel staff were very lovely & friendly but I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel until it has had a major refurb. All the rooms were carpetted & were threadbare & didn't look like they'd been cleaned in 20+ years & we had the company of ants which yes it's a hot country your bound to get ants but when they are crawling on you in bed it's not on! The wires were also mostly falling out of the wall exposed or were half covered by plasters! We were told we could move yet again to a more recently refurbished room in the main hotel but without air con we decided to stick with the ants as at least we were cool as most nights it was 30+. The pool was fantastic but they didn't make any effort to keep the area clean & there was bird poo on all of the sun beds which never got cleaned off. Koukanaries as a resort was fantastic & just what we were looking for as the beach was amazing with very clear water & the tavernas were adequate although not very many & we found only a few which we were happy to return to. We spent most of our evenings in the Stamelos bar being entertained by Dino which made our holiday!
All in all, would recommend Koukanaries, Skiathos but not the Caravos hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed mass updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LooLooChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
3.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
37 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arco Hotel
Arco Hotel
#6 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Studios
Lake Studios
#11 of 11 in Koukounaries
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
963 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Punta
Hotel Punta
#1 of 1 in Punta
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravos Hotel

Property: Caravos Hotel
Address: | Koukounaries, Skiathos, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caravos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravos Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing