We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maraki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maraki
Ranked #32 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Just coming to the end of two weeks of heaven! Villa maraki is kept spotless by the friendly and pleasing staff, sakis behind the bar is very friendly and nothing is to much for him to ask for, he puts on a Greek night with his family and friends on a Sunday night for 10 euros its great value, even if I did end up in the pool! Villa maraki is situated near bus stop 16 so is convient for the great cheap bus ride into skiathos town.all the tavernas and restaurants in the area are within walking distance and offer great value our favourites being jimmys and green park. We will be definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived Sakis the manager made us very welcome. The rooms are clean and kept so daily by the friendly staff. Linen is changed every 3 days. Tea towels are supplied which is a first for me! Good range of crockery - all matching - supplied. There's the usual kettle and a working hob, again a first for me in Greece, along with a toaster. Fridge had a icebox perfect for freezing water bottles for days out. Aircon at 5 euros a day good value for money as is the safe. We had a 1 bed apartment. The bathrooms are wet rooms so don't expect a bath. The only thing I do wish is that the shower head gave an even spray rather than a lame jet, no problems with pressure, a good strong powerful shower let down by the head. If you can find a cheap shower head I'd bring one with you just in case as I will be next time I visit here next year. Do go to the Greek night as Sakis and his family do make a lot of effort and it really is worth the money, there's no pressure to join in the dancing but you find you want to anyway. All in all an excellent holiday in excellent apartments in a fabulous location with the beach just across the road with loungers at just 4 euros a day opposed to 8 euros everywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheStouts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having been to Skiathos on a number of occasions and for what ever reason had yet to find a self catering accommodation that we were made to feel welcome felt at home there. The Maraki accommodation is typical Greek self catering not the largest but adequate, in the rooms is a hair dryer, toaster, safe deposit* & air con* (* these are paid for locally) very clean and well presented, the bed linen & towels are changed every third day, the staff are friendly & helpful. The pool is adequate in size for a quick dip with ample sun beds provided, the pool bar that serves snacks throughout the day and in the evening. The approach to the accommodation is up a short "steep" uneven drive and there are a number of stepped levels around the complex which makes it not "friendly" for people who have mobility problems or families with young children,that said that is the extent of the down side of the complex, the plusses far outweigh these. If you enjoy spending the day on the beach then the clean sandy Agia Paraskevi beach will not disappoint it is about a four minute walk away the bathing is safe and there is no shelving when entering the water, there are at least two tavernas that serve drinks, ices & snacks, sun beds/parasol cost eight Euros a day. The Maraki is located between bus stops15/16 and the buses run about every fifteen minutes to Skiathos Town in one direction to Koukanaries in the other. Because the Maraki is located along this road there is some road noise around the complex this is more noticeable during the day but during the evening/night this is less noticeable as traffic movement lessons. There are two supermarkets within easy walking distance (three minutes & five minutes) and a number of restaurants/bars again within easy walking distance, would suggest you give Jimmy`s Restaurant a try we have yet to have a bad experience there, the food is varied and reasonably priced and the staff are efficient and friendly. Certainly we will be returning again to Skiathos next year and the Maraki will be at the top of the accommodation list we will be looking for in the brochure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Having read all the great reviews of this place, was expecting a bit more than we got. Its in a great location, very clean and pitureqsue. I think we came unstuck with the room we had (room 15). It was a 1 bed apartment but the bedroom was really, really small with no room to walk around. The kitchen area was tiny - if u wanted to use the kettle u couldn't use the rings or wash up, and the tap had some sort of spray thing underneath which meant that when the water came out it was really slow but sprayed everywhere?? The balcony was good but the chairs were dining chairs with upright backs, hard and very uncomfortable - not good for having a relaxing drink after a day at the beach. The bathroom was ok'ish but no shower curtain so it got flooded and the shower mat/towel got soaked. We took part in the Greek night - greek salad (mostly tomatoes) chicken leg, peas and potatoes, and greek yoghurt with honey. For 10 euros each was not good and the main was only warm. I think this place could be ok - we saw another 1 bed apartment which was much bigger than the one we had and was quite comfortable. The pool area was nice (but music too loud as several people said), but most people seem to go to the beach. All in all would I go back??................. no it wasn't worth what we paid

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salthegalSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maraki at the end of may for two weeks, and fell in love with it. Acomodation great lovely apartments which are perfectly situated in aghia paraskevi close to the road that runs through the resort so you are nice and handy for the tavernas and bus stop (skiathos bus service is fantastic a bus runs every 20 mins and cost you one euro 60 cents to skitathos town which is lovely, or any of the many beaches along the coast road). the rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day and bedding and towels are changed every three days. the owner makes you very welcome as does sakis who runs the bar, he makes lovely cocktails and really makes you feel welcome. hope to return again to this lovely place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks end of may, the apartments are very typical basic Greek apartments, clean, very good service, central in the island. We hired a car and travelled all over, although the bus stop is just a few yards away.
Small pool which was spotless.
There's a beach over the road, we liked to go to Maratha beach or kanapitsa, preffered as we're quiet with lovely taverna at kanapitsa.
Skiathos is beautiful. Don't hesitate to go. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

For those who know Skiathos, the Markai is between stops 15 and 16, which means it's located pretty much in the centre of the Island so great for getting to beaches and only a 10 minute taxi ride (20 minutes on the bus) into Skiathos town. For those who've not been to Skiathos before, means you are in a great location at the Maraki, next to the one main island road, with views from I would guess just about every one of the apartments out over the sea. It's a lovely and well appointed small Villa complex. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are kept clean and are tidied every day. There's a great little pool and bar and meals area as well as plenty of loungers if you don't want to wander to the nearby beaches. We've stayed three times at the Maraki and are heading back again in June for another fortnight stay - for the price, the Maraki is really hard to beat. And of an evening there's plenty of bars and restaurants within a few yards of the Villa to choose from if you prefer heading out. And if you want to self-cater there's at least two small supermarkets close by as well. If there's any drawback to the Maraki is the closeness to the road and it can get a bit noisy with buses, bikes and trucks going by, but this does settle down by evening time and certainly by night you shouldn't get disturbed by it. All in all, a great place to be.

Room Tip: Some of the apartments have the bedroom at the rear, these are better for avoiding traffic noise if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.1 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 18 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poseidon Villas
Poseidon Villas
#5 of 67 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maraki

Property: Villa Maraki
Address: Agia Paraskevi, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maraki 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maraki is located at the southern coast of the island, 150 meters from the organized beach of Agia Paraskevi, near the settlement of Platanias at a distance of 6,5 kilometers from the town of Skiathos island. Studios, Apartments & Maisonettes can accommodate (2-6) persons, are equipped with fridge, cooker and have their own balcony with view.Our residents can enjoy the swimming pool by the snack bar and the beautiful plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing