We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maraki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maraki
Ranked #31 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed there in August 2012 and enjoyed every minute of the holiday. The accommodation was clean, basic but fine for a holiday.
Although the hotel is situated on a main road the traffic noise wasn't a problem. The hotel is within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants and 2 small but well equipped shops.
The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and even though we went at the height of the season it wasn't busy and the loungers and parasols were plentiful and very reasonable to hire.
The main problem was that the buses got extremely crowded after about 5pm, so,if you wanted to go to Skiathos town in the evening you needed to leave much earlier than 5 to get there or get a taxi. The taxis drive past very frequently and are easily hailed and reasonable too!
The poolside bar was run by Sakios, a very friendly and helpful chap who seemed to worked 24/7 but was always smiling.
A great holiday for all ages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hi everyone, although I have never stayed at Villa Maraki I have been there for drinks, snacks and I have friends that have stayed there.
It's situated on the side of the main road just before bus stop 16, near the area called Platanias. It’s surrounded by lush pine trees and makes the surrounding very comfortable with a cool feel.

To get to the large sandy beach of Agia Paraskevi it’s a short walk of about 125/150metres, this beach is very family friendly and has sun-beds sun-shades and small shop for refreshments.
Villa Maraki offers self-catering accommodation with sea view and an outdoor swimming pool with sun terrace and bar area to keep you refreshed as you lounge around letting the sun do its work.
If you take a short walk about 100meters there’s a lovely family run restaurant called KOHYLI and Christos and family will make you very welcome and the food is all cooked to order and its brilliant.

(From the owners) All the studios and apartments are traditionally furnished and have a private balcony. They include a kitchenette with dining area, air conditioning and a TV. Each unit has a private bathroom with hairdryer. Guests can have a refreshing swim in the pool of the hotel or enjoy drinks, coffees and snacks at the poolside bar overlooking the Aegean Sea. The main town of Skiathos is 8.5 km from Villa Maraki. The nearest bus stop is 200 meters away, while super markets and restaurants can be found at 1 km. Free Wi-Fi and free private parking are provided.

My friends that have stayed there have agreed that the statement above from the owners is a fair and true description, but I would like to add that you get a very friendly welcome even if you just call in for coffee, and looking out from the bar area is stunning!

I hope you fine this helpful and enjoy your stay on Skiathos. John Newport Wales

Room Tip: A good all round place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there a couple of years ago. Although I found it slightly pricy for self catering apartments it really was a great place to stay. The guy in charge is a really nice chap who looked after us well and also helped us out with getting a much cheaper hire car that what was being offered by our holiday rep. it has a nice little pool and bar and is a great place to base yourself for your trip to Skiathos. The room was basic and the fridge annoyingly loud but to be honest we went expecting this sort of thing as it is 3 star accomodation on a Greek Island after all. The location is great - right in the centre of the Island with a nice beach across the road. To the right of the Villa along the road are a few nice restaurants. The road it is on is fairly busy at times but this did not bother us at all. The Island of Skiathos is tiny and easy to drive from one end to the other as it's basically 1 road! Check out the Banana Beach - it's pretty special when the sun sets and has some comfy beds on the beach and plays some nice chill out music whilst the sun sets. Definately recommend both the Island and Villa Maraki. Please don't expect a 5* hotel, it is what it is. Also, there is a big slope to get up to the Villa itself so be aware!

Room Tip: There are probably only 15-20 there so not sure if any are better than others. We had a nice little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

these self catering apartments were exactly as described on their website. Typical greek accomodation- basic, but we were very lucky, and were given room 13- and despite that there was only 2 of us, the room was split level, with bedroom upstairs and a downstairs sofa-bed, table, kitchenette and bathroom.
Our roon was cleaned every day; and towels/ bed linen replaced every 2/3 days. Small pool which was great to cool off after a day at the beach. Pool bar serves snacks and drinks- and will stay open more or less until you stop drinking. Sagis who runs the bar was absolutely brilliant- he could not have done enough for us- he called and booked local restaurants for us, and called a bar in skiathos town when I left my bag behind.
There are 3 supermarkets all within 10 minutes walk, and bottled water can be purchased very cheaply.
Villa Maraki is well placed in Aghia Paraskevi as there are plenty of restaurants within 10/15 minute walk. We visited every restuarant along the strip and enjoyed every one. There is a track alongside one of the bigger supermarkets- which leads to another set of bars and restaurants.
We enjoyed the following restaurants- Orsa (fantastic service and breakfasts), Jimmys (priced very reasonably), Konsalls, Green Park, The View (which is around the corner from Villa Maraki) and Platinas bar.
We would recommend Villa Maraki and Aghia Paraskevi to anybody wanting a quiet and relaxed holiday. The apartments are up a very steep and uneven slope so maybe not suitable if you are unsteedy of your feet or need to use pushchair.

Room Tip: room 13- double bed upstairs and sofa bed- one of the larger rooms i think, with a balcony with a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoverofPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Villa Maraki Studios are set into the hillside and do have steps to each appartment. The setting is good with the beautiful beach of Agia Paraskevi across the main road below the studios.There is a small supermarket along the road to the right which has most foods you need and you can order the local brown bread[really good] by asking the assistant. The appartments are quite spacious but we were disappointed that the bedroon only had a double bed and not twin beds.Facilities in the appartment were basic and adequate. We used the air conditioning as the weather was very hot and this worked well. Rooms were cleaned every day and linen changed every 3-4 days.The pool was small but deep and adequate for the number of people staying[only 15 rooms]. It was lovely and clean.Staff were very friendly at this family run accomodation.The bar had snacks that were good and well presented. Overall a very good studio block with easy access to Skiathos town by bus at stop 16 [down the road-right].There were not many sunbeds and umbrellas but often people went to the beach so usually there were some available. Certainly a place to return to for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent a week at the Villa Maraki apartments. The rooms are small and quite basic but very clean and well looked after. There are only a dozen or so apartments which meant it was far more friendly than some of the bigger hotels available. We had maid service every day and complimentary toiletries, which was nice. The pool bar was open from early till late and Saggis (apologies if the spelling is wrong) was an excellent host and makes the most wonderful mohitos and strawberry daquiries. The food was really simple but very tasty. The pool itself is rather small but really clean and welcoming. Only a few sunbeds which were quickley claimed, om a first come first served basis. Some of the apartments up up a long flight of steps which could be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties. Villa Maraki is on the main bus route (bus stop 16) and the bus runs every twenty minutes or so either into the old town, which is very cosmopolitan and is a must on an evening for people watching or to the beaches at the other end of the island.

Room Tip: The higher up the stairs, the better views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank northumberlandsandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.1 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ostria Hotel & Apartments
Ostria Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 9 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Poseidon Villas
Poseidon Villas
#5 of 67 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maraki

Property: Villa Maraki
Address: Agia Paraskevi, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maraki 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maraki is located at the southern coast of the island, 150 meters from the organized beach of Agia Paraskevi, near the settlement of Platanias at a distance of 6,5 kilometers from the town of Skiathos island. Studios, Apartments & Maisonettes can accommodate (2-6) persons, are equipped with fridge, cooker and have their own balcony with view.Our residents can enjoy the swimming pool by the snack bar and the beautiful plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Maraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing