We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Troulos Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troulos Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

We thought after finding a little gem in Corfu last year, we would not be so lucky this year but hey presto, we did it again! We went to Troulos Bay Hotel 22nd May-3rd June this year and had a wonderful holiday. We last stayed in Skiathos in 1992 at the Skiathos Palace but wanted a smaller hotel this time. Skiathos had not changed much in 17years! and we did not have to land in Thessaloniki this time on the return flight which was better! The location is perfect, the hotel menu is second to none and the staff are all friendly. On arrival we were allocated a nice room but we wanted to move up higher to get a better sea view, this was changed straight away. From Troulos Bay you can walk to Koukounaries beach or catch the bus, the bus service is very good for Greece and very reliable and cheap. It is so easy to go into Skiathos Town. We did a boat trip which takes in the Mamma Mia beach, although there are better beaches, but it has to be seen if you are a fan. Its a great day out to Skopelos. We had a lovely meal in the Windmill in Skiathos Town which is well worth the climb for the fantastic views. We were half board at the hotel, but on this day we could take lunch instead. The food at the hotel was excellent and we didn't eat out any other time. There is not much to do in the evening around Troulos so we used to go into town every other night. Other things we would suggest is climb up to the clock tower in Skiathos Town for the great views and also from Troulos Bay visit the monastery and the dogs home. The beach is just a few steps away from your room, it really is a little bit of paradise. Could not fault it at all, and we hope to return one day in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    73
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
153
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was our 6th stay at the Troulos Bay Hotel. It is ideal for a relaxing beach holiday. We have loved coming here and be reunited with other couple who come at the same time of year most years. We had a great holiday. However, this year there is a "but". We were very surprised, on arrival, that the hotel has undergone some major renovations. All the rooms on one wing of the hotel have been totally gutted and re-styled with improved shower and washing facilities, and now includes a hair drier (although no shaving plug). And the room itself has new flooring and furnishings throughout. The beds have softer mattresses which is a bonus. As before, there is also a small fridge and safe. Overall, a big improvement on the previous decor. The biggest difference though is the appearance of a new swimming pool in front of the refurbished wing. It is not huge but useful and there is only about 10 sets of sun loungers and umbrellas. The whole of the lawned area between the hotel and the beach has been landscaped and access for the infirm is better. All this you would think is a vast improvement (further renovations of remaining rooms is planned for this coming off-season). To anyone coming to the hotel for the first time I'm sure these changes will be well received. However, to my mind, at least, the hotel has lost a bit of its charm and am slightly worried that the reputation of the hotel as a great place for a quiet and relaxing holiday for, let's say, the older folks will be eroded. Almost certainly, future holiday costs through the travel agents will be considerably higher and perhaps push away some of the returning holiday makers. I have heard prices of £1000 for two weeks bed and breakfast discussed - this is too high when you can consider other resorts/islands at all-inclusive rates which are similar. However, you are paying for the rather special position of this hotel right on the beach. Another niggle, is the hotel menu - this does not appear to have changed over the years we have been going. It is good value but there are better restaurants within walking distance providing a wider and more imaginative range of dishes, of a higher standard, for only a little more. I hope that this hotel will be revamping their menu along with the facilities in order to compete. I'm sure there will be others who disagree but overall, despite the refurbishment and the continued excellent staff, the Troulos Bay Hotel is loosing some of its appeal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Skiathos is a pretty, relatively unspoilt island and Troulos Bay Hotel is ideally situated on the beach.The views were wonderful and it's perfect for a relaxing holiday. if you don't want to travel far, there are several good tavernas close by offering traditional greek food at very good prices. We particularly liked the Paradosi which served a two course meal with a litre of very nice wine for 9 euros each, and they presented us with a liqueur after we paid our bill! A nearby small supermarket supplies any basics you might need, and the owner also runs a fast food place next to the hotel which did a great 'gyros' of pork or chicken, tzatziki and salad for 2 euros - an excellent cheap lunch if you are on a tight budget. Having said that, the food at the hotel was imaginative and plentiful ,although breakfast could have been better - no fresh orange juice, processed cheese slices and ham (spam?),boiled eggs, and DIY toast.
The welcome surprise for us was the addition of a pool, built over the winter so not yet mentioned in the brochures. It was perfect for popping into the sea for a swim, showering off and avoiding paying 6 euros a day for beach sunbeds! Skiathos town is 15 minutes on the bus and worth a visit, although not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Just returned from Troulos Bay and we will definitely return another time. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms, although basic, were really clean and towels and sheets were changed every other day. It is ideal for a restful holiday although young teens might be bored as there is not much for them to do. The view from our room and the dining room was beautiful as was the beach. The sea was crystal clear and ideal for small children (a snorkel is a must as there are lots of fish). Only annoying thing was that the shower on the beach was pretty intermittent and seemed to get turned off at 3.00 p.m.

The local bus service was brilliant, every 15 minutes, although rather overcrowded at peak times. Skiathos Town is only 20 mins away by bus and shops and restaurants are plentiful (great food at The Windmill restaurant) or you can just look at all the luxury yachts. Lovely island.

  • Liked — Location and scenery
  • Disliked — Cooked breakfast only every other day. The alternative was pretty tasteless.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovegreece0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

We arrived in the evening and the hotel looked really attractive with it's lights on. Decorated in white and blue with lots of flowers outside it does make a pretty picture. The staff are lovely once they know you although my young daughter wouldn't speak to any of them! The guy on reception kept trying to win her over with sweets whenever we picked up our key!
Very clean, the maid was a hoot, dancing to music whilst she worked and towels changed every other day. She did a great job.
Views are to die for. really quiet and relaxing. We are in our 30s and I must admit it was full of people in their 60s - 70s. It seems to be suited more to that age group. They had more fun than us though. We could hear them partying whilst we sat in our room reading as the children were asleep!
Breakfast is fine. Scrambled eggs and bacon some days, sausage and beans on other days. Do fill up on the gorgeous greek yog and honey though. That's the best thing! It was a shame they didn't put any fresh fruit out though, just tinned which is a bit odd seeing as the markets always had loads of fresh melons, oranges, nectarines etc.
Fantastic situation on the beach. Easy to nip back in when you need to. Watch out for the hawks in the early evening. there was a family of them and they would come out at dusk to swoop for insects or sparrows which quickly zoomed into their trees! Sparrows at breakfast are very cheeky! They'll eat all your left over bread!
You won't regret going to this hotel. Lovely.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — nothing to moan about
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

The first time here but not the last.
The view from the hotel is wonderful, as are the staff who cannot do enough for you.
The rooms are cleaned every day and are spotless, towels are changed as required by you or every other day.
Food is great and a good menu of an evening of both greek & english,
All in all excellent 2 weeks of relaxation and good company.

  • Liked — great friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September. The hotel is one step away from a beautiful sandy beach and the Aegean Sea. Rooms are basic but very clean and in good decorative condition. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is as other reviewers said basic but plentiful and perfectly adequate. We ate outdoors each morning looking straight out onto the beach and the sea - fantastic! We also ate in the hotel a few evenings and found the food very good. There are two tavernas next to the hotel, literally on the beach and they were good, traditional Greek fare. Our only criticism was the beds are very hard but someone gave us a tip - put a duvet on top the mattress. It is a level, one minute walk to the small supermarket and bus stop. It is very easy to use the buses and Skiathos is only about 10 mins and Koukanaros also about 10. The hotel is only three stories high - aim for a sea view if you can but the garden view and side views were fine. We checked location of other hotels on the Island and we think this has to be the best. We loved Skiathos and found plenty to do for two weeks, even without a car. Do the boat trip to Skopolos and the trip around Skiathos - Lararia is superb!

  • Liked — cleaniness, views and close proximity to beach
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cornwallrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.1 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troulos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troulos Bay Hotel

Property: Troulos Bay Hotel
Address: Troulos Bay, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Hotel Class:2 star — Troulos Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Troulos Bay Skiathos
Hotel Troulos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing