We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like it here !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Troulos Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troulos Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I really like it here !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've been to the Hotel Toulos Bay several times, usually at the start or end of the season. I appreciate mannerly, friendly staff and find that politeness from guests is well received and reciprocated. I would happily recommend this hotel to guests who need to chill out and relax; don't expect high level pampering, why would you ? it's not the Sandy Lane, Barbados ! This is a very comfortable hotel with a beautiful beach location on a fantastic Greek Island. This hotel is not for clubbers or rowdies ! If you like to catch up on books, get a tan, eat a great greek salad at lunch and watch a sunset with a G&T this is for you.

Don't be put off by negative reviews, this is a good spot for a nice break !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mski1751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    73
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
153
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just come back from a weeks stay in the Troulos Bay and thoroughly enjoyed it. As others have said it is in a superb location right on the beach, but an easy bus ride into town when you want a bit more action. We have stayed in a number of high end hotels both in Greece and other parts of the world and can honestly say that this supposed 3 star hotel had a near comparable level of service (what you miss is things like beach towels, free water, tea and coffee, service at your sunbed etc - but you pay a lot more for that in the first place!) and is great value for money.

We stayed at the pool most days and had no problem getting beds but I would imagine that this would be different in high season. There were still those that insisted on reserving beds at the crack of dawn though - sigh..

The clientele was definitely of the mature variety and it was consequently very peaceful, and most of them seem to have been here every year for goodness knows how long - not for us as we like to try different places but it shows a high customer satisfaction level.

Breakfast was ok, not much choice but ample enough, did not like the orange juice though, it tasted like concentrate. We had lunch several times and dinner one evening and the food was very good and the prices on a par with the beach tavernas which we also tried. These tavernas are little more than fast food places though, we didn't rate them and the quality was well below that of the hotel.

In the area we also ate at the Victoria complex at the top of the hill, this was good, and also at Salt and Pepper - this place is quite new and pretty upmarket, a change from the traditional tavernas, food and wine were great and reasonably priced, two starters and mains and a bottle of wine for approx 70 euros.

We also liked the Frog bar which had a nice vibe and was good to have a drink or two before heading into town as it was right next to the bus stop

We did try one of the Thomson excursions, the round the island boat trip and approached it with trepidation when we heard the boat took up to 150 people, but it was a nice, relaxing day, did not feel overcrowded at all and there was nowhere near that number on board. The boat went over to the mainland for lunch and across to another island before returning to Skiathos town.

Although we would probably not return this is no reflection on the hotel and we would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Supersmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great hotel in a fabulous location. Our room was nicely decorated and well equipped with a fridge (no extra charge), flat screen TV, plenty of storage, digital safety deposit box and large shower with shower curtain (frequent visitors to Greece will appreciate the presence of a shower curtain)! It was cleaned everyday no matter how late we left the room and was always immaculate. The staff are very friendly and helpful whatever the question.

All rooms have a balcony or terrace and have a view of the beautiful beach and sea. The swimming pool and grounds are lovely and well kept. The restaurant and pool bar are good and serve a wide variety of delicious food. Overall classy, clean and peaceful - one of the best places I’ve stayed in Greece and elsewhere.

Outside of the hotel - Troulos beach is great and there are a number of lovely tavernas and bars nearby. I would recommend Ratatouille and Sunrise for food in Troulos and the Frog Bar and Christakis Bar for drinks. For fabulous views, service and food in Skiathos Town you can’t beat Taverna Selini in the Old Port.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A3P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is an exceptional hotel as a base in Skiathos. The rooms are clean and attractive, evenings are quiet and the pool area is relaxed and unpretentious. The food is typical Gree ian fare and very well priced. The waiter may be little gruff but he is professional. The location is superb and whilst the beach, quite rightly, is popular youbreally wouldn't know while being poolside. Only one in the week did we struggle for a pools spot but this was compensated for with ample room by the hotel taverna which has a very relaxed vibe and superb bar staff. A small supermarket close by serve every possible need and the south coast bus stops within easy walk as is there a Sixt vehicle hire depot and several superb private tavernas. You don't actually have to leave the hotel at all but with so much history on offer you are missing out on so much. The hotel was a calm retreat from the hot weather and, despite being dissappointed that A/c is an extra cost, the room were cleaned so well and the shower so pleasant that we only needed it once. Clientele is mixed and whilst there were a few more children there than we expected they were well entertained with the facilities on offer. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone but, do not be tempted to take part in any of the reps organised tours. You are treated like cattle. Apart from this her advice was spot on. Hire a runabout and get out there yourself, if you get lost you've done well.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeddediah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for our family holiday with our two (adult) children. The hotel itself is immaculate. The rooms are very clean and well furnished, probably the best I have stayed in on the greek islands. The food in the hotel is excellent and really no more expensive than the surrounding tavernas or the restaurants in Skiathos town. The staff are very friendly and the service excellent. The beach is very clean although it can get a little crowded and it is worth investing in the beds and umbrella's espcially for shade. 8euro does seem expensive but then it is the same as the rest of the island. We made good use of the local buses to visit the other beaches and even hired quad bikes on one day for a wider tour. Absoutely great fun and something I would defnitiely repeat. Overall a fantastic holiday. Great hotel, wonderful beaches and just the right amount of night life in Skiathos town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tramway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Just returned from TBH with my wife and 15 year old son. Before the good bits, of which
there are many, be aware that, it you go via Olympic, they'll fly you with Skywings sometimes. See other forum topics but my advice is to avoid this and use Thomson

Anyway, onto the good stuff. I can't for the life of me understand how this just shows aa s 3 star. It is much much better. We stayed for a week and loved it. Room is a little 'compact' for three but sufficient for a week. I'd advise getting a family room for three if you're doing a forthnight

Lovely clean room, good a/c - we had 202. It was second floor with a great view. Contact them ahead of your trip and they'll help you get the right room

In 7 nights, we ate in the hotel for 5- it was superb. Never more than 70 euros including good wine. Service exceptional. Tavernas next to hotel also good though and other guests recommended Salt + Pepper on the way into Troulos. The walk into the village is a little hairy though- no pavement and the road is just mad!

It, like me, you like a pint while the missus gets ready, a 100 yard walk takes you to the Frog Bar next to the bus stop where Lisa will look after you. Frosted glasses, draft Amstel etc etc!

Pool area is spotlessly clean, quality beach is right on hand too. Get up early if you need a specific sunbed by pool or on beach though

Hotel will sort car hire for you- not a lot to see but Koukinares beach is close by and worth a visit. Skiathos Town is very bustly and good for a day out and we had a day via Hellenic Seways to Skopelos which was really nice

All in all though, i'd recommend going to TBH. It's a great holiday experience run by people who work really hard to make it successful. We'll definitely be go back

Room Tip: email hotel direct- they'll sort it. high floors give best views. room 202 is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank durrant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have just returned from another relaxing holiday at Troulos Bay Hotel. Service and attention to detail were spot on,as ever. The only irritation for us and other guests was the non policing of the pool and sun beds. On a daily basis non residents were using the facilities and disturbing the tranquility that is part of TBH. I am sure that the owners will rectify this for next season.

In our opinion the best hotel in SKiathos.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
1.1 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troulos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troulos Bay Hotel

Property: Troulos Bay Hotel
Address: Troulos Bay, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Hotel Class:2 star — Troulos Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Troulos Bay Skiathos
Hotel Troulos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing