We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location. Rooftop Breakfast Terrace To Die For!!!”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with 5 friends and it certainly fit the bill. You couldn't wish for a better location. It's situated at the beginning of all the restaurants that line the harbour, but quiet enough to get a decent night's sleep. The terrace overlooks the harbour, and is a great way to start the day. No. 1 bus stop is about 30 yards away, which takes you to beaches all along the South coast. Good place to board, as the route gets really busy along the way.
I'm sure at some point this was a really nice hotel, but it desperately needs a revamp. At least a good "bottoming" as they say up north! The bathroom was dirty, and there was rubbish under the bed. The door to the room had been painted so many times that it was really difficult to open and close. Yes, I know this is Greece, and accomodation is usually basic, but it's unusual for it not to be clean.
Come on, Alkyon. Spend some money. Stop trading on your location.
Having said all that, I'd stay there again because of the location , but probably upgrade to a superior room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotdunroaminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 439 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

The breakfast was minimal, but ok. The coffee was probably brewed once, at six in the morning, and served to us at ten. Was unable to drink it. The room was ok, one time we were out of hot water.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
Thank classic1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

On checking in the receptionist said " we'll try you in this one first" which we found strange, however between 3 and 5 every morning a local club played open air club music which literally shook our room, when I asked if we could move the receptionist, an arrogant man with a pony tail smirked and said no, he was lazy and rude. he also lied and said no one else had mentioned it and yeat local shops and car hire firms told us everyone was complaining. The bathroom was like something out of greek mythology, don't be fooled by the more modern reception areas. The pool area is frequented by more mature people and yet the bar staff played loud club music that they liked so you couldn't relax.
The cleaners and restaurant staff were excellent and a good choice for breakfast and the location is good but I would recommend that you stay anywhere but there

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poplarjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This may not be a 5 star hotel but if you're looking for a clean, functional base to explore Skiathos Town and the rest of the island then the Alkyon is a good choice. The staff were friendly, rooms spacious and clean with a pleasant swimming pool to cool off after a day exploring. Breakfast is generally the same each day but offers sufficient choice with great views across Skiathos Town's new port. There are plenty of free parking spaces outside or in surrounding streets and the hotel is a 50m walk away from the main bus stop for the bus route across the island.

There are some good restaurants along the sea front to the left of the hotel and a couple of minutes walk to the right takes you to the centre of Skiathos Town past the harbour.

If you want to spend your holiday sitting next to the hotel pool then this probably isn't the hotel for you but if you're looking for a clean hotel as a base then the Alkyon would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We arrived at this hotel and allocated room 105 I took one look and refused to unpack the room was in need of major renovation it was digusting cost me 400 € to up grade to the Hotel Esperides which was excellent .To be fair the Alkyon was in an excellent location but to be honest it needs knocking down and re-built !!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea52uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

It's a poor quality 3star hotel. They charged us 210 euros per week extra to move to a front room.They insisted the travel firm we had booked with knew we would be charged extra on arrival, although we were never told this. We had to move as the one allocated to us was dirty, overlooking wasteland, had broken tiles and in need of complete renovation. The breakfasts are basic, although the view from the balcony is super. There is a new hotel being built next door, expect noise from 8am if your room is in that wing of the hotel, and the pool is next to it too. An elderley guest was allocated a lower basement room even though she had to use walking stick, and couldn't manage stairs. She too was asked to pay extra for a change of room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

On this occasion we stayed at the Alkyon for the first time. On arrival we found the reception, lounge and bar area to be of a good standard. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were shown to our room but I personally wasn't enamoured with the decor of the hallways. However on entering our room found that to be quite spacious and clean. It was basic, nothing to go overboard about and the bathroom was quite dark and needed a facelift. I would return to this hotel again but probably only during the earlier months of the season or towards the end as it is situated close to Bar Street and would have thought that it could get quite a bit noisey during the peak summer months. Having said all that we had a brilliant holiday and are planning to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: $40 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing