We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and ideally located”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Ignore the pre 2009 complaints! The hotel is well decorated with a pool. Breakfast was fine and eaten on the roof with a tremendous view. Friendly staff and free internet made it a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yattonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 439 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

Had a fantastic time in sunny Skiathos!! Again our 12th time.
Yes this Hotel is not the most modern but it has revamped the reception/lounge. All sea view rooms have now got plasma TV's in. ( whats the point when you're staying in such a great place). The breakfasts have improved. Great location. All I can say is those who've given a negative rating should go and "have it large" with all the chav's in Benidorm!! Skiathos is a wonderful Island full of beautiful people. Let's keep it this way!!
No McDonalds and thankfully the "pubs" hidden in the back alleys. Yes it's expensive (12 euros a cocktail) but your in the Greek Monte Carlo!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slicknick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Stayed at the Alkyon for a friends wedding. Originally, the wedding couple were due to stay here for two weeks but, after five nights, they came to their senses and checked in elsewhere!

GOOD POINTS - The location is very good, easy walk into the centre of town and all of the nightlife. Staff were friendly and helpful.

BAD POINTS - The rooms are very much in need of refurbishment. Bedroom doors let all the sounds from the corridor through. Glass patio door is difficult to move and makes a lot of noise opening/closing. Breakfast is very poor. No food available after breakfast.

Skiathos itself was nice but expensive - although part of that can be blamed on the exchange rate. Had definitely had enough of the island after a week (even with the fact that we were there as part of a large group and could make our own entertainment)!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank the_curl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I`m ashamed to admit that I was foolish enough to return to this hotel after having a bad experience a few years ago. But I believed it would have improved because other reviews were favourable. The first impression is good because the reception area and adjacent lounge (where they have spent their money) is satisfactory. The corridors are dingy , when it rained the water came through onto the stairwell.. The bedrooms are awful, tiny beds with just a sheet for covering (not changed the whole week) .Bathroom was horrendous, black mould around the bath, lavatory was dirty and never cleaned. The lighting was very poor, not as good as my garage at home. Extremely noisy with doors banging constantly. Reception staff were unfriendly and bar staff were smoking constantly. Passive smokers beware! EU law obviously does not apply here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BernieGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

If you have to choose the Alkyon make sure you have an upgraded room, they are few . The rest are very 1970's. Olive green bathrooms not too clean. Orange tiles. Very uncomfortable beds.with old dated linen. No hairdriers. Air con very noisy. Awful view. Heavy patio doors. The doors to the rooms made a terrific bang when closed and the noise of that and of guests woke guests up in the night. Cleaners would be banging around in the early morning. {6am.]
Never saw the pool checked or cleaned. Not enough loungers. Both steps to enter pool were very loose.
Was there when X.L. went bust. Came back to hotel late afternoon, asked at reception for my key and was told I was to leave hotel that evening,after much argueing I finally convinced them that I was booked as an independant guest and had no booking with X.L. They eventually checked on the computer and apologised. Need I say more!? I was concerned for any X.L. guests.I found the staff had a bad attitude
Overall I was happy to leave,.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Stayed at hotel recently, had seen reviews on here once booked, and most are true. Check in ok, room was in need of updating, dark bathroom, not clean at all, room cleaned daily, ok. Breakfast was good, lovely fresh croissants, fresh bread and homemade jams, yes, fruit is tinned but ok, fruit juices are very sweet squashes so left alone. The view from terraces overlooking harbor is beautiful. Shame they don't have sunloungers up there during day as don't seem to use area after breakfast.
Pool small but adequate, you have to be up early to get a sunbed, extremely comfortable, not many of them.
Hotel staff all friendly, helpful and polite. Safety deposit box available for 15 euros a week, access by reception. Security seems good all round hotel and felt quite confident leaving things in room.
Very noisy at night when people slamming bedroom doors-they can be shut quietly if pulled too gently-no need to slam-think people did it on purpose to annoy others who slammed doors! patio doors very noisy and hard to open. Not best view from room-brick wall with some trees. Best to have room higher floor if want good views.
Hotel in great location, few minutes walk into centre, 2 minutes walk to bus stops-buses to beaches, no 10 and 12 superb. approx 1-2 euros depending on distance each way. water taxi available, 4 euros each way approx, good fun and straight onto beach.
Many good restaurants, try Marias italian in old town-fabulous, had to wait for table but worth it. windmill is good too. restaurant near hotel has 10% off for guests so worth a visit, overlooking water.
Overall because of low euro to pound rate we found it a little expensive, 4-6 euros for beer, 2-3 euros for coke, 10-30 euros for meal depending on where/what you eat.
Flight from Skiathos with first choice, shame they dont tell you it is not direct back to uk, had to go via Thalassanaki, mainlandm to refuel. Also due to hotel location, your cases are taken to hotel and returned to airport on seperate bus, you are dropped off near to hotel and then short walk, the same with being picked up.
On returning to airport you have to go to taverna near airport, across road, to collect suitcase which is left strewn in garden!
Bags picked up about 4-5 hours before you leave hotel so you have to make sure you have everything you need when leaving room as bags go a long time before you do!
All in all a good holiday, recommend Skiathos and would probably go back to hotel, once updated, which they are doing slowly.
Great staff, ok hotel, fab location.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Caz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MooAnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#6 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
4.7 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: $51 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing