We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our second visit to the Alkyon and I would not hesitate to return again. Our room had a new bathroom and a spacious balcony. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast is basic but nice and I cannot think of a hotel with a better location. The swimming pool is well maintained and clean.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuBu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 439 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had read reviews on this hotel and e-mailed the hotel to request a sea view room. Cost us 140 euro's extra for 7 nights but the reviews sounded so good we went ahead. On arrival, given a ground floor sea view room and it is a very nice view with a private patio area with a couple of chairs & a table through sliding doors. A grassed area for another 3 metres and then the hotel wall beyond which is a road that follows the key side towards the town and towards the left the road leads you to some restaurants and three clubs....

Other reviews have covered the rooms in detail, suffice to say we were quite happy with the beds furniture and free air con.and the shower was very good.

On our third night (Thursday/Friday) we were both awoken at 3 am by the noise of youths returning from the clubs and this went on intermittently until 6 am - we assume the clubs closed at 5 am by the increased numbers of guys & gals returning from their night out plus a few boy racers showing off their wheel spinning skills.

We had this noise every morning until the end of our holiday and just want to alert other travelers that whilst the view from the sea view rooms may be excellent it may come at a price.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great but may be very noisy in the early hours of the morning Breakfast basic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We would recommend this hotel for location which was on the harbor front with a lovely walk taking you the full length of the harbor and all the restaurants. The staff were very welcoming and always ready to assist you. The main reception area was very nice and comfortable and had free wifi. Bar served drinks at typical town prices. The Breakfast was always the same thing offering cereals yogurt honey and then cheese, ham sausages and bacon omelette. Bread was in abundance and croissant. The down fall was the coffee it was look warm and had no flavor or body dishwater comes to mind. The rooms are basic with very old furniture but functional. Each room has a TV and air-con. The balcony is a good size with a view over a small garden area. The fridge was useful but you are not allowed to consume food purchased outside the hotel. The bathroom has been nicely modernised to a good standard with a really good powerful shower. The pool area was small for the amount of guests staying but it was very pleasant and a lot of the guests visited the local beaches so it wasn't a problem. We liked this hotel as it was friendly, had a wonderful location and was a little bit quirky. We would recommend it as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel has a few rooms facing the harbor we recommend you try for one of these as the views are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajackson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Recently returned from a week in skiathos, its a beautiful island and great place to visit just dont stay at the Alkyon.
We eventually checked in to the la piscine art hotel after a few nights in the alkyon dungeon which was much better with staff that welcome you with a smile. Location wise the alkyon wins hands down which is a real shame as the hotel lacks charm and seems to be slowly rotting away maybe thats why the bugs love it there. Honestly choose elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 13arts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have stayed here twice the first a little more succesful than the second where our luggage was delayed The Alkyon is well located and has a nice pool curteous staff and the rooms are pleasant and bright with tv for rainy days if any

Room Tip: get low floor for a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepSouth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked this last minute and we got a really bargain price as we have been to Skiathos before but stayed further along the island.We arrived at the hotel and first impressions are it as previous reviews a great location and a clean hotel with friendly staff.We were given room 408 and when we entered the room on the top floor to the side of the hotel it looked like a crime scene. The shower curtain was tatty and dirty and the shower unit only fit for a very small person when connected. There was a mix of different paint colours on the walls,telephone socket hanging off the wall and in all the room needed a complete refurbishment but the A/C was new and free. The breakfast was ok with coffee the usual paint stripper so bring your own as there is hot water and hot milk.The day rotates on small hot dog type sausages or fatty streaky bacon with scrambled eggs so bring some HP to mask the taste. Fresh bread,ham and cheese, croissants and jam look the better option or a good breakfast is 5 euro across the road.The hotel is near to the bus stop 1 and ideal to go to all the beaches on the island which we did as the hotel pool area is small and compact but you do go to Skiathos to see the beauty of its beaches and not to compare mosquito bites.There is noise at night from the nearby nightclubs which attract artists and this goes on till the early hours which you can hear in your room so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.We hope the development does not continue to the right of the hotel as more clubs will change this island and attract more of the younger party generation and not as it is currently a beautiful unspoilt haven. Restaurants there are plenty and great value with good food and we did not have a bad meal over the week so places like Sofia's and the Last Step in Skiathos Town worth a visit from our visit and other people we talked to. Overall we love the island and will be back as the beaches (Stop 10, Stop 15 with the two geese who come for bread,Stop 19 and Stop 24 then walk along the track through the forest to Mandraki) are superb and some of the best in the Greek islands. Would we stay at the Alkyon again well yes but hope its a different room but we only paid lest than £300 each for the week and it did the job we wanted it to do as a great base to see the island.

Room Tip: Avoid room 408
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireVinoverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hi all,
Back in our little paradise of a hotel again for the 4th time. Kiki once again excelled herself and arranged for the same room we had last year. Many thanks to her. Georgina on reception needs a special mention not only for her big smile but the pleasant way in which she and all of the staff treat their customers. Over the last few years the whole hotel has gone through a complete bathroom refurbishment from top to bottom. This hotel has got the best view by far in Skiathos town and continues as old as it is to go from strength to strength. We will now not even consider anywhere else to stay it is so convenient for every thing and we will be back there again next year that's for sure. A short walk across the road and there is the bus stop which will take you most places on the Island. All eating places are on your doorstep. 5 minutes walk and you are on the main Papadiamanti Street. Boats, Ferry Terminal, you are close to all of it.

Room Tip: E mail before you return visit, ask for a room on the 4th floor. Side sea view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NormanR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range: $41 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing