We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate”
Review of Hotel Alkyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alkyon
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than adequate”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

16th year in skiathos and now im 18 it was time to explore for myself ! my girlfriend and i Stayed in hotel Alykon for the first time on the 12th of July till the 26th, and as soon as we walked through the door we were greeted with warm welcomes and shown to our room (207) the room was large with a comfy double bed and large balcony, the bathroom was typically Greek but it worked for what we needed, I think people see one cracked tile and then judge the whole place! The room was cleaned every day with new bedding and towels, breakfast was what you made of it plenty of choice and with a view like that over the port from your table you can't really complain.
Advice to people who want to come to skiathos yes mopeds will be going backwards and forwards all day but its Greece !
If your planning a trip here hire a car or a moped and explore ! It's the best way to see the island !
Hotel Alykon is what you make of it, it's clean and the rooms are adequate ! Your only sleeping there anyway ! Why dwell on the dodgey coloured bathroom furniture !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adampiper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    135
    88
    40
    41
See reviews for
52
233
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a lovely room overlooking New Mariner - cost extra,but was well worth it !! Hotel is fab,staff very friendly,and our cleaner in room 204 was a little gem....pool and bar area were spotless - as was everywhere in this Hotel. It was great to have an actual bath - not just a shower (most unusual in Greece). Skiathos is a beautiful island,unique.....and the Town is fantastic - There is so much to see and do,and the boat trips were great...The old port is someting else,and the Sea U Restaurant was good for a lunchtime pint (food was good there too !!)all in all it was a wonderful experience !!!

I

Room Tip: I travelled with my friend Carole (left my husband at home,golfing !!) we had room 204 on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in Skiathos in June. Stayed at the Alkyon which is in the main town. Location is fantastic being at the end of the new harbour so in the evenings you walk along the new port past all the fab yachts and into the old port for pre dinner cocktails. The hotel itself is a good 3*, the reception/bar area is pleasant and clean and the pool although small is again well maintained. The rooms are typically Greek, old style furnishing which could do with a refurb but perfectally adequate and the bathrooms have been up dated. We were on B&B basis but only used the restaraunt about 5 times during our stay. Breakfast was limited to cereal, tinned fruit, eggs, croissants and sometimes bacon however adequate start to the day. Food in all the restaurants we used was fabulous and reasonably priced. Did a fab day trip to the Mama Mia beaches in Skopolos great value at 15 euros each and even saw dolphins. Bus stop for the beaches next door to the hotel, we loved number 12 stop beach the best. Yes the hotel is near the end of the runway however the airport can only have one plane in at any time and watching them land and take off was great, no noise problem as they don't fly at night. Fell in love with the place and easy to see why people return year after year. We will definately be going back and would only stay at the Alkyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlisonK-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

we were given a room down the dungeons of the hotel. There were high walls with no windows only 2 rows of glass tiles to give light.. It was like walking along the "green mile"

The room was very tired and needed upgraded. The bathroom was in great condition but the edge of the tiles hadnt been finished off,

There wa no balcony as such just a concrete area with 2 plastic chairs and an old table. There was a sunbed provided in addition but you didnt get any sun after lunchtime because of the high wall,

There was only on power point in the room and the telephone point had a paper hanky and tape over it so it would work.

You didnt need to switch your tv on as you could hear the one next door thro the paper thin walls.

There was also a strong smell from the drains in the morning and at night which we were told they were dealing with.

Breakfast was on the 4th floor and we waited an eternity for the lift which didnt come so we had to climb the stairs. With a fractured ankle that wasnt easy ! Dont know why i bothered as the breakfast was never that appealing.

As a result of the above most of our time was spent outside the hotel tho not at the postage stamp they called a swimming pool as the same people had their towels on the chairs at the crack of dawn.

I must say tho that the reception staff were always very approachable and helpful. I would never reccommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: make sure it is not in the alkyon hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notahappychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skiathos hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just come back from 3 weeks staying at the wonderful Alkyon hotel, our 11th time!. It is unique in it's location,and family orientated approach to their guests. KiKi and Angela are beautiful people both in their hearts and appearance! They will do anything to ensure our holiday is the best it can be. The roof top restaurant with it's beautiful views is enhanced further by the excellent buffet dinners at incredibly good prices. Hotels usually are inclined to overcharge their guests for drinks and food etc, but here at the Alkyon with Kiki, Angela and Nikos, they will give rather than take. They really are immensely generous people who give me faith in the kindness of humanity! I cannot really find words efficient enough to praise this delightful and still very Greek establishment, with caring and helpful staff, and excellent cleanliness. We appreciate life and good people, and we thank the Alkyon again for giving us joy and love with all it provides. Thank you Agapimou, karthiamou enai to eethio. See you next year. XXXXX

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the beautiful Alkyon Hotel from the 19th June until the 26th.
Our holiday was magical from start to finish. I now understand the meaning of "halcyon days"
when the kingfisher laid eggs to calm the sea at winter solstice. As stated in previous reviews
the position of the hotel is perfect as is the view from the balcony at breakfast.
If there is a downside it's only that the town doesn't have it's own beach but take a water taxi
from the harbour or a local bus from just round the corner.
We didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast. However we heard that the evening meals were
good. Just turn left from the hotel to find fab restaurants on the waters edge where we never had a bad meal.
If I say too many nice things about the Alkyon we might not find vacancies for next year!!
I must mention the lovely Anthi who was always smiling and forever helpful. Thankyou so much
for you company. (trish) Thanks also go to Nikos the perfect gentleman who had the patience
to listen to my efforts at speaking Greek. Hope to return.
A mention also to Alex who was always smiling when serving drinks. Praise must also go to
the cleaning ladies who did a wonderful job in extreme heat.
We would like to send our best wishes for the remainder for the season. If I can find your E mail address will keep in touch.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is much comment here about rooms in this hotel - the simple fact is that we would all like to have a room with a harbour view, well, that IS possible but the hotel will charge you 20 euros extra per day to have it. My advice is - if you want it, then pay for it because the experience of opening your patio or balcony doors and seeing that lovely view is worth it and you will have a different holiday experience as a result. Lets face it, they only have 8 or so rooms on the front so they are going to charge like everyone else does, e.g. extra legroom on the plane for £20 or £30! If you have one of these sea views then believe me you wont be so bothered about a restaurant with the same view so go further inland and get a better meal! Downside of course is that it tends to be a bit noisier especially as the youngsters walk by to the bars at midnight and stagger back a few hours later (some happy and some badtempered!). Breakfast basic but handy all the same. Mattresses are very hard. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take plenty of cash - they don't like card payments at the moment....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skiathos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Orsa
Hotel Villa Orsa
#31 of 84 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#5 of 13 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#54 of 84 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 84 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkyon

Property: Hotel Alkyon
Address: Skiathos Island, 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alkyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing