We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic rooms but lovely staff and amazing views”
Review of Spetses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spetses Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We know the island very well and have always loved to swim from the "beach" at the front of Spetses Hotel. However, we have never stayed there before until recently.
We were prepared for the fact that the hotel is a little dated in its appearance so weren't surprised by this. We stayed in a large, airy, sea-facing room on the fourth (top) floor. It was very old-fashioned and in need of an update but had a very comfy bed and was spotlessly clean. The main advantages of this hotel are the proximity to the sea and the wonderful views from the front-facing rooms. Each has a large balcony with a table and chairs. You go to sleep and wake hearing the sound of the waves. Heaven!
The staff at the beach bar are so very friendly and made our stay. Yiannis and Dimitris are particularly kind. The food is good and the beach and bar area are a great place to spend an entire day.
If you go prepared for the unglamorous and basic rooms, this hotel has a lot to offer for a very pleasant stay. Certainly, I wouldn't stay here if I couldn't secure one of the sea facing rooms.

Room Tip: I'd only choose a sea-facing room. Preferably, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We decided to splash out and spend a little more than we usual do on hotels when we decided to stay here. We were lured in by pictures of the sea front location and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in an Executive Double room with Partial Sea View - great size, nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
The food and drink prices were on par with many of the other hotels in the area, but there are lots of places nearby so worth exploring. The sea was a little choppy in the area in front of the hotel, however you can walk 100m down the road to the next beach if you prefer calmer water.

Facilities were fabulous - even providing towels for sitting on the beach, breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

Would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to spend a bit more than a usual budget stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangelyfamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very small room in the new ward, especially the bathroom and the bathtube! The air-conditioning was a bit noisy. The helpful and polite staff is a plus of the hotel, as well as the free transportation from/to the port. To sum up, 105euro per night was extremely expensive for the room we were offered!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panagiota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Big, spacious rooms, very clean, beds very comfortable. Amazing view from the balconies, the sea literally by your feet. Private beach (free beach towels!) and a relaxed beach bar with a full menu.
Enjoyed dinner (greek gourmet tastes) and full breakfast (very rich, even includes loukoumades on Sundays -a greek delicacy one simply has to taste) at the terrace.
Classic yet modern. I'd definitely choose it again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariannaGR_Athens_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great location - views to die for. The water is right outside your room. Fresh sea water swimming pool. Staff really helpful. Blisss......................................We have stayed here for years and always brilliant. We cycle round the island to visit the many beautiful locations. Great hotel.. don't miss it on your travels.

Room Tip: Sea facing with a balcony in main building...all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martine1234564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel at 10/15 minute walk from the new port of Spetses (2 minutes by taxi). The atmosphere is relaxed, the rooms are clean, bright, spacious and with a nice balcony. You can buy a card for wi-fi connection, while beach towels are for free. The breakfast is simple, but quite rich (sweet and salty). The Greek salad at meal is very good. You can also eat something at bar on the seaside.
The hotel is just outside the village of Spetses, so it is in a quiet area. However, on the island there are many motorcicles (scooters), so it can happen to hear them at night, but they are not so annoying (you can close the window and turn on the air conditioning).
On the way to the village (new port) there are a few restaurants, some on the beach with almost-cheap prices (fish dish at about 10 euro). Near the new port there are many places for dinner and post-dinner, while at the old port there is also a disco-pub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea-view, they should be the ones with lowest number (e.g., 301-8, if I remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marakella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

hotel facilities are good. good access to the sea. as it was by mid Sep, some of the services (like beach bar) were absent already. as wse were elaving early in the morning, the breakfast offering was exteremely poor, coffee from thermal can and a bisquit. hotel organizes transport from the harbour was organized by the hótel, we managed to get on the third bus schedule. kind of busy in the harbour.

Room Tip: pls choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank none006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spetses hotels
0.5 mi away
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Spetses
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissia
Nissia
#3 of 18 in Spetses
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armata Boutique Hotel
Armata Boutique Hotel
#1 of 18 in Spetses
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
7 Islands Hotel
7 Islands Hotel
#6 of 18 in Spetses
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klimis Hotel
Klimis Hotel
#12 of 18 in Spetses
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kastro Apartments
Kastro Apartments
#10 of 18 in Spetses
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spetses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spetses Hotel

Address: 180 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Spetses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Price Range: $128 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spetses Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spetses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing