We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking, cycling, marine cuisine and beaching”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Marina
Ranked #2 of 20 Spetses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalken, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking, cycling, marine cuisine and beaching”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay on Spetses was really magnificent with biking, walking and even some sea swimming. The sea-food of the restaurants on the shore and also these recommended by Filippos, specifically the old port, were even more excellent. B&B Villa Marina with nice rooms close to a beach and calm nights and Spetses are absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
51
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Marina in September and had a great stay.

The owner met us at the port and kindly took our bag with him on his Vespa whilst we dawdled along the port to the rooms. The hotel is in a great spot right in front of the town beach but still a street back so that it is relatively quiet. It is easy to stroll into town via the pedestrian mall which passes through plenty of shops and eateries.

The rooms are very clean and quite comfortable, but there was a minor issue with our room due to the poor quality spring mattress that had seen better days. Hence sleep quality didn't quite match the rest of the quality of the hotel.

Still a very nice and pleasant stay with a great owner and I would recommend the rooms especially at the great price they are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Good sized rooms which are very clean and bright with everything you need. there is a lovely garden. the hotel location is perfect, pretty much in town (but nice and quiet) with a beach opposite.
Great place to stay would definitely recommend especially for the price....we had friends who stayed further away from town in a hotel with a pool and for the amount they paid compared to us - our room was far better, their only positive was the pool but villa marina has a beach and is 1 minute away from restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsbourko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was amazing! The rooms were very clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful! The owner, Mr. Philippos was such a professional! He came to the port and carried our luggages to the hotel and also when we were leaving he did the same thing in order to help us! He was so willing and hospitable! The location was also excellent! Next to it there is a mini market and a bus station. Definitely we recommend it to anyone who is looking for a friendly environment, clean rooms and helpful staff! They are the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSavva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I gave Villa Marina 5 stars because there is no 6! If your minted you could afford the Poseidon Hotel on the plaza,then again why not sleep on your yacht,but even then yo wouldn't get to meet anyone like the charming Fillippos owner of Villa Marina.
You could not be disappointed with the quality ,location,service ,it would be nitpicking,
Just 3 minutes walk from the ferry,you can throw a tennis ball in the sea from the terrace ( if that's your style) as close to a host of bars and restaurants,yet perfectly quiet and serene in his lovely shaded walled garden,it's outstanding for the price.

A no nonsense ,helpful ,chatty if you want,charming,never see him ,owner as you could wish for.

An absolute winner,we were lucky to get in.

And Spetses is just outstanding.

No!!! Negatives ,so many thanks Filippos for an unforgettable week.

Room Tip: Pick the top rooms with the terrace ,fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Located just a short walk from the port, the place first welcomes you to its pleasant patio/garden. Rooms are simple given the price category, but nicely furnished, with plenty of space for luggage etc. Absolutely spotlessly clean.
Beware the heavy traffic of scooters, motorbikes and quads, which can drag out until morning, but if you close the window and turn the aircon on, this should not be a problem.
There is a small beach just across the road from the hotel, as are some good eating places, and basically the whole of Spetses Town is within walking distance. Overall, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemonadeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overclean, Superfriendly, Romantasstic ... our stay at Villa Marina is truly unforgettable.

The hosts, Fillipos and Laura, are extremely kind.

We particularly liked the great location of VIlla Marina,the possibility to cook and the cool, refreshing terrace.

Fillipos is always available to provide touristical advice,as well as inspiring words of (Greek) wisdom.

We left a little piece of ourselves in Spetses, and hope to return there soon or later.

Princess from Belgium and Nikos

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Préscillia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spetses hotels
0.3 mi away
Armata Boutique Hotel
Armata Boutique Hotel
#1 of 18 in Spetses
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissia
Nissia
#3 of 18 in Spetses
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Klimis Hotel
Klimis Hotel
#10 of 18 in Spetses
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Spetses
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kastro Apartments
Kastro Apartments
#6 of 18 in Spetses
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mare Monte Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina

Property: Villa Marina
Address: 200 Meters Left of the Port | Along the coastal road, 180 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Spetses
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Spetses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Marina is a traditional house with rooms for rent, conveniently located in the center of the island, just 200 meters (left) from the port along the coastal road, facilitating your activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing