We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100 Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“100 Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We sailed into Spetses from Aegina and moored on the public marina, sitting on the aft deck having a beer and looking at a most stunning building, we went to investigate. Wow, the Poseidonion Grand Hotel. With the thought of changing her deck shoes for heels for an evening, my partner suggested that we book for dinner at the “On the Verandah” restaurant and I am glad we did.

The view and ambiance of an open air restaurant were first class, as was the food and service. Not Michelin star quality but truly exceptional non the less.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    39
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
129
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Poseidonion exceeded our expectations!! We couldn't have made a better choice for our summer vacation in Spetses. The hotel is very well run and the staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. From the very beginning, when we made our reservation till our check-out, everything was super professional. Our room (superior garden view), which was immaculately and thoroughly cleaned every day, was spacious and bright and the buffet breakfast, served at the main restaurant, was amazing!
We had a perfect holiday and we will definitely come back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was really lovely, very classically stylish, rooms were really tastefully decorated and sound proof - no noise at all inside the room. Service was excellent as was the buffet breakfast taken on the veranda overlooking the ocean - would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetteandlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of the hotel is great and the room was comfortable, with a very large bed. I did not have a sea view room, which is definitely preferable, but it was charming nonetheless.
Its classic look is definitely worth it.
We really liked the breakfast options and the dishes we tried at the restaurant. The service of the restaurant, as well as the front desk was great, and people were very helpful.
The pool is a little smaller than expected but peaceful, with no music.

Room Tip: Do ask for sea view. It seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alxign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Fab location; rooms quite small but super comfy bed and classy. Hotel let down by young restaurant staff who don't know what good service is. We ate on the verandah with prime position for fantastic people watching but we're virtually ignored by the staff - not good at 320 euros a night before food and drink. Food was only OK, pool is very small - a better choice at a third of the price is the excellent Nissia, a couple of hundred metres further away from the Posi- better pool, bigger rooms and friendly service!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spetsesforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poseidonion G, General Manager at Poseidonion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I very much appreciate the time you have taken to write your feedback which is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the prime and central location of Poseidonion Grand Hotel, where we are afforded with great views of the Argosaronic Gulf and our guests are also spoilt with an array of entertainment attractions within walking distance. In addition I would like to thank you for your kind comments on our rooms' classy décor and comfortable beds, showing your appreciation to the careful preservation of the hotel's elegant style during the demanding renovation period. With regards to the room size, due to the nature of our building, the layout of rooms changes across our room categories, accordingly, I am sure should you choose to stay with us again, we can advise in finding a room suitable for your preferences.

I am however very disappointed and concerned to hear you did not have the service experience we strive to achieve for our guests. I have raised your comments with the F&B Manager clearly remembering your visit, so that each of your points were investigated. However, we failed to see what went wrong as the service provided the day of your visit followed the smooth operation it normally does and personalised attention we ensure for our guests. For us, our service delivery and attitude is fundamentally one of the most important aspects in our hotel. In any case, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to explain in detail the points that let you down. I certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Poseidonion Grand Hotel and I will do my best to accommodate any preferences you may have.

Kind Regards,


Anastasios Naoum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We visit Poseidonion grand hotel last year in August for 3 days. It is a 5 star renovated hotel in the centre of Spetses island. The rooms are cozy with classy decoration but small. The breakfast hasn't plenty of choices but everything is fresh, homemade and you will enjoy it in the small garden or in the balcony looking at the sea.
I am looking forward to visit Poseidonion and Spetses again this summer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meraios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The renovation and rebuild of Poseidonion is very successful. The architects have done a great job with both interior design and general planning. Everything is done with taste and style at the same time as we were impressed with the practical layout and planning of our room (Deluxe Sea View).
We were also quite happy with the quality of food in the restaurants, especially the Japanese.
Unfortunately the overall experience was destroyed by the unprofessional level of service from staff both in the hotel and in the restaurants. Most of the staff seem to have good intentions, but they are in serious need of coaching and basic training. For me it would have been easier to forgive the frequent misstakes if the staff hadn't tried to be so formal, but instead had followed a more informal approach.

Another thing that can be of interest to couples and families: During our stay (mid July) the hotel was dominated by families with small children. The main pool area was resembling a kids club and the families where enjoying themselves. A couple wanting a romantic holiday, might on the other hand not find this so amusing. I would recommend them to use the spa pool, that seem to be kids free.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Sea View room was excellent, but be aware that during high season the plaza in front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spetses hotels
0.1 mi away
Armata Boutique Hotel
Armata Boutique Hotel
#1 of 18 in Spetses
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nissia
Nissia
#3 of 18 in Spetses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spetses Hotel
Spetses Hotel
#7 of 18 in Spetses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kastro Apartments
Kastro Apartments
#6 of 18 in Spetses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zoe's Club Hotel
Zoe's Club Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spetses Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Klimis Hotel
Klimis Hotel
#10 of 18 in Spetses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidonion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonion Grand Hotel

Property: Poseidonion Grand Hotel
Address: Dapia | Poseidonion Square, 180 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Spetses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Poseidonion Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonion Grand Hotel comprises of 44 rooms and 8 suites, swimming pool, three restaurants, cocktail bar, spa, hair salon, as well as gym and conference facilities. The premier accommodation is the Royal Suite featuring three en-suite double bedrooms and a huge terrace with breathtaking sea views. The Cote d'Azur style hotel has been a landmark on Spetses for more than a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poseidonion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing