We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sea view from the room is fantastic but beware of smoking policy”
Review of Klimis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Klimis Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wife and I stayed in Klimis in mid March for 1 night as part of our Saronic Gulf Islands hopping trip. It seemed we could be the only customers at the time and we were upgraded to the 2nd floor room with the sea view. The view was fantastic and probably worth the stay alone regardless other things. The owner who runs the restaurant/cafe on the ground floor could speak little English but there were others to help. We were given the key and directed to the room via the side entrance. The hotel part had been newly renovated and the room was clean. The bathroom was smallish but clean and the shower was strong and hot but fairly poorly ventilated. The aircon/heating unit was effective.

The hotel was 100 meters away a small sandly beach and I could imagine it would really handly in the summer time. Breakfast was served in the restaurant/cafe downstair, nothing special, rolls, juice and tea. The waiter was friendly. The only issue we had was they allowed the locals to smoke in the cafe and we had decided to sit outside even though it was a bit cool. It was explained to us that during low season they needed to let that happen in order to retain the local customers.

Spetses is a nice island and has a nice seafront with very clean blue water. I can tell that it will be a very popular place in the summer for swimming etc. Klimis is very well located less than 10 minutes walk from the ferry docking point. However during low season many of the facilities /restaurants are not opened.

Would recommend but bear in mind the smoking issue.

Room Tip: Sea view from room is very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Klimis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dear Thanasis,
We wish you a very happy birthday ! ! !
Anita & Charlotte
Dear Thanasis,
We wish you a very happy birthday ! ! !
Anita & Charlotte
Dear Thanasis,
We wish you a very happy birthday ! ! !
Anita & Charlotte

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikitathann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel is certainly the best choice you can do if you want a nice, quiet hotel with a spectacular sea view. The owner is very friendly and the breakfast is not top notch but more than ok. Excellent freshly squeezed orange juice! I if I go back to Spetses, I surely will pick this Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed @ Klimis 1 night during the Spetses mini marathon 2012.
The hotel has been recently renovated so the rooms are very pleasant...with a sea view and a small beach 50 mtrs from the hotel.
The owner seemed 'distant' at first, but that's the island's approach to strangers (common in other Hellenic islands). Once we started talking, though, the people were very friendly and helpful.
Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After a 20 year break we returned to Spetses for a two night break and stayed three.
We were pleased to find that Spetses still has all of the charm of a great Greek holiday retreat with improved hotels and an upmarket feel.
We arrived by boat taxi at 8pm and walked the 100 metres to the Klimis Hotel, once in reception we were quickly informed that they had a cancellation on a small corner room with a balcony facing a street one side and a full sea view Juliet balcony on the other, we took the room and were extremely happy with it as it was fresh, modern and very clean. Our stay at Klimis was such a pleasure we stayed for three nights and enjoyed relaxing days and busy evenings with fantastic food in the taverna next door and opposite the fish market, a walk of 50 metres.
This hotel also has a great reputation for coffee and cakes, as the locals are continuously popping in we tested both and can confirm that once again the locals always know the best places.
Our last visit to Spetses was in 1990, Kostas of the Il Padrino Restaurant in the old harbour asked why we had not returned, I have no idea as this small island has lost none of its magic and thankfully it is off the package tour radar for now.
Great hotel, in a great location in the town centre, all the attributes of 4* hotel, clean, good staff and some stunning views. I felt I was on a liner as the sea was so close to the room.
There is no pool at The Klimis but with the beach is so close and the sea so clean who needs one.

Room Tip: Make the effort of the long drive from Athens or Patras and you will be rewarded.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puffaenquiries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Klimis hotel for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were just handed the key and pointed to the stairs. No mention of when breakfast was served, where anything was located or helpful hints.

The rooms are very nice, though small, but recently updated. The room is clean, bright, and airy. It has a very small patio with a beautiful view of the sea. The mattresses are very comfortable, but are two singles pushed together, which makes it hard to snuggle haha. There is a fridge and wifi that has a strong connection.

The bathrooms are very nice with new toilets, clean tiles and a comfortable sized shower. It would be nice to have a hairdryer in the room.

Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired - a few pieces of bread with butter and jam and a couple pastries. The orange juice is delicious though, also offered was coffee and tea.

The hotel has an elevator which is nice if you need it. Overall, the hotel is very nice and clean would only improve some customer service and spice up breakfast a bit. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndsJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Klimis for a week this summer with 3 of my friends! We got a gorgeous, modern room (the hotel had recently undergone renovation) with one queen bed and a pull-out couch, which were both very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and nice. The room had 2 balconies overlooking the port and town. It's a very good price considering the location and the amazing views! If you take the ferry from Athens, it's a two-mintute walk down the main road and just down the street from the hotel there's a great place to rent four-wheelers and bikes to travel around the island. If that isn't for you, there is a beach and many restaurants within walking distance! The costal roads on the island are closed off everyday starting at 7pm, so there's no need to worry about noise while you sleep or getting run over by a passing bike. The staff was great and were very nice (although they did have the typical greek disinterest) They had a wide range of foods that could be eaten for breakfast depending on what you like and the waffles are to die for! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone just looking for a nice room to relax in after a long day at the beach. It fits anyone's needs.

Room Tip: Any room that's towards the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 271,993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spetses hotels
0.7 mi away
Spetses Hotel
Spetses Hotel
#7 of 18 in Spetses
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissia
Nissia
#3 of 18 in Spetses
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
Poseidonion Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Spetses
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armata Boutique Hotel
Armata Boutique Hotel
#1 of 18 in Spetses
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Apartments
Kastro Apartments
#10 of 18 in Spetses
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
7 Islands Hotel
7 Islands Hotel
#6 of 18 in Spetses
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klimis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klimis Hotel

Address: Agios Mamas, 180 50, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Spetses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Spetses
Price Range: $82 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Klimis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klimis first operated in 1980 and was renovated in 2012. It has 2 quadruple connecting rooms, 2 triple rooms, 2 single rooms, 2 suites with connecting rooms and lounge and 12 double rooms.Most of the rooms are facing the sea. Room service is available between8:00 a.m.and 01:00pmfor breakfast or a drink or snack from our cafeteria.All rooms have air conditioning,safety deposit box,minibar, hair dryer andfree internetconnection.Also, our hotel has an elevator, an information kiosk, and double glazed windows that provide proper sound and heat insulation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Klimis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing