We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdas Kamares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magdas Kamares
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Poros
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great value friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

we stayed in a triple room at magdas for 4 nights and loved it

very quiet and out of the way (5 euro taxi ride from town) it's a five minute walk from a great beach and close to many great restaurants to cater for all budgets

the pool is the focal point and it's great plus the pool bar serves superb beer and meals

i would recommend magdas for a relaxing stay on a lovely island. don't expect many brits/ sky tv or happy hours but if you want good quality digs at a VFM price then google their website and have a look

  • Liked — the pool and pool bar
  • Disliked — it wasn't possible to leave the a/c on when out of the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durrantnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

We found this Hotel through the Yellow Pages in greece, booked it and stayed there in Septermber 2007 for 1 week. Family of 9 ppl, including 2 children. The apartment suites were wonderful, very clean, and cheap. Very friendly people. wonderful pool and great relaxation. The food is amazing, cooked fresh each time. You have everything around you, Askeli beach, 5 min walk away, 2 supermarkets within minutes, a few atv's/scooter/bike rentals. Poros town about 7min drive. The restaurants are wonderful, great food, excellent service. Best part I enjoyed the most and spent my whole vacation was at their swimming pool, wonderful for kids, got your shallow and deep end. I definately recommend you try out this place and stay here, the prices are amazing, and great for families with young children.

  • Liked — Loved the atmosphere, Quiet, great place for relaxation, Great for families with youing children, Food/Swimming pool * EXCELLENT* !!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank babygurl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in July 2006 after finding it on the web and booking/paying direct. Getting to Poros from Athens is a cinch with regular ferries taking approx 2.5 hours (includes stops at Aegina & Methana) - there is also a speedy hydrofoil service but the view is great from the larger ferry in our opinion.
The best bit about Magda's (especially in our 9 year olds opinion) is the pool. The apartments themselves are only 5 minutes walk from Askeli beach / several restaurants / two supermarkets and the half-hourly bus to Poros town.
The apartment was clean and had a fridge and small kitchen area as well as air conditioning for those hot Greek nights.
If in Poros again we would stay again mainly because of the excellent pool.

  • Liked — the swimming pool
  • Disliked — no views to sea
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WynTingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2005

I have visited Poros many times over the last few years and it is fair to say that I have fallen in love with the place. It has everying you could want for a really relaxing break. It is small enough to explore comfortably on a scooter - readily available to hire - yet diverse enough to keep you coming back year after year.
The last 3 times I have visited Poros I stayed at MAGDA'S APARTMENTS. See them for yourself on magdas-kamares Magda's is a family run business - the apartments, a beautiful pool / pool bar and great Greek food cooked freshly each day by Magda. Magda and her family are very welcoming and I can assure you - you'll be hooked once you've been there. Give it a try!
Magda's apartments are self-catering - breakfast included. Personally I have never bothered self-catering - Magda's cooking is fabulous plus half the fun of a holiday is finding new places to eat out and explore.

Helpful?
17 Thank Charlotte_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poros hotels
0.4 mi away
New Aegli Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Xenia Poros Image Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden View Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
7 Brothers Hotel
7 Brothers Hotel
#2 of 14 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manessi Hotel
Manessi Hotel
#5 of 14 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdas Kamares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdas Kamares

Property: Magdas Kamares
Address: Kamares | Askeli, 180 20, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Poros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Poros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magdas Kamares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magdas Kamares Poros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing