We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dimitra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Poros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is close to the ferry btween the beach and town. The view is great and the room ok. My wife got sick and the staff helped getting a doctor within the hour.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

I made a booking for this hotel for one night (2 adults, 2 kids). We arrived on Poros at around 7pm and went to the hotel. No-one there except a concierge(?) who spoke no English; in sign language she told us we had to go to the "hotel office" to get a room number. After wandering the nearby streets we found a friendly Greek who told us where the office was, a few hundred metres away. We walked there; it was closed; no information either at hotel or office on how to get a room number. We tried the advertised phone numbers; not in use or no answer. We were forced to find another room for the night and left early the next morning for Athens. Now the hotel has charged us a no-show fee. I am furious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bishboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

When we first reach at the hotel, it seemed a good trade value for money. The room was very small but the price we paid was good, we thought it's a small but clean room. The problems appeared in the evening when we sat on the bed and we saw some small bugs. We saw one, we saw 2, and we saw many. In the morning we woke up with bites and all our bodies were itching.

We wanted to have a shower but the shower area was very small and the curtain not clean.

We'll definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We were hi-jacked/kidnapped straight off the Seacat by the little old lady who owns Hotel Dimitra. She took us to the building by car and when we saw the room, we weren't that impressed but as we had only just arrived on Poros and it was for only one night, it seemed OK. However, the view from the small balcony was obscured by outside blinds which were permanently drawn, the mini kitchen was very poorly equipped (no kettle and filthy cups/glasses/plates) and the tiny bathroom, particularly the shower area, close to squalid. No way did either of us want the shower curtain anywhere near us! In addition, having been assured how quiet the area was, we were awoken just after 3.00 a.m. by motorcycles revving up outside, followed by the sound of someone being very sick and then a noisy, family row (the old lady and her family lived upstairs) which carried on for around half an hour. The only positive thing I can think of to say is that the bedding was clean. Avoid Hotel Dimitra and old ladies in black who promise you "very good room, very cheap room" like the plague!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watergypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My first time in Poros was way back in 1975. In those days I used to sleep on a flat grassy area (big enough for two) by a rock, down a slope just after the Petros taverna at Neorion (it was run by his brother then ~ it's where we had breakfast & washed!)
Ah .... the wonderful times we had under the beautiful stars ... "Ena Para Me" & Tina Charles "I Love to Love" drifting across the bay from a taverna juke box.
Anyway ~ I have been back to Poros about 12 times since then ~ it has changed little, apart from more (tasteful) buildings in Neo Poro / Canali. I've have stayed at the Dimitra for the last 4 times. Their office was right smack-bang infront of where the boats came in, lucky eh? This year they have moved their office further along & are now responsible for other accommodation too. Zoe is really nice & friendly, as is Dimitra herself.
The Dimitra is in a fantastic location ~ slightly away from the busy tavernas (which, I guess, might be noisy in the evening or night.). It's up a couple of slopes (or steps if you wish) and very quiet.
It looks like Poros is building a new "harbour" for passenger ferries further along the front. It's about time ~ the car congestion around the front tavernas when the ferries come in has been a problem for years. The new harbour will be visible from the Hotel.
The Dimitra is clean, quiet, comfortable & very friendly. I would deffo go back there again or recommend it to friends.
The best rooms I have had have been the ones with a town & sea-view ~ with unbeatable unsurpassed views. Room 9 is great ~ larger than others ~ & apart from a dim light in the bathroom (I'm sure you'll do something about that), it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muswell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the Dimitra for 4 nights in August 2008 arrived on Poros on a Sunday at 9am having got the 1st flying Dolphin from Pireaus. After a wonderful breakfast at the Asteria (where else!) we were allowed to drop our cases at the hotel and use a small bathroom and shower there before heading off to Nerion beach and Manos' pool bar for the day. When we returned our luggage had been put in our room which was a double room (room 10) at the very top of the building, lots of stairs, in fact it was the only room on the top floor.

The Dimitra is situated about a 10 minute walk up cobbled streets from the main port and about a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach (Askeli).

The room itself was adequate, (see pics) a double bed tucked into a small space in the corner, a small sofa & wardrobe. A small kitchenette with a fridge and limited utensils, cooking equipment (no Kettle) a tiny bathroom with an OK shower. Small but exactly what we were after.

I would not describe this as a hotel but more like a serviced apartment block. We paid 55 Euros a night for this double room in peak season when other "hotels" wanted upwards of 100 Euros. Yes the facilities are a bit spartan and basic but there were clean towels and the bed was clean, comfortable and made every day and the room was clean. The Air con worked brilliantly but as it was above the bed took a bit of working out to get it right during the night. Brrrrrr.

As room 10 was right at the top we had the benefit of the amazing roof terrace just outside our door and whilst I guess this was open to all, it felt like ours! The views from there are fab and we watched the sun set each night before heading out for dinner.

We are regular Poros visitors and again hit all our favourite haunts such as Manos' pool bar which is independently owned and situated behind the Pavlou Hotel in Nerion bay. Although the beaches are lovely here, we prefer the pool. The Garden Taverna, Poisiden, and the Panorama Taverna at Askeli Beach.

No where is more than a 15 min taxi ride on this island and Taxis seen to cost about 3-5 Euros where ever you go. Poros is beautiful and despite the fact that the big tour boats stop here each day and hundreds get off each time, it has not become over commercialised or very English.

All in all The Dimitra was an excellent base for us and we would definitely stay there again.

Booked via www.greeka.com Where we also booked the Dolphin in advance and saved about 20 euros!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Dimitra in the middle of July. The weather was quite hot, but the air conditioning in the room worked beautifully and was quite a respite from the unrelentless heat and sun.

The rooms were nice, comfortable, clean and basic. There was a queen? sized bed, a small writing desk, tv on the wall (not the best reception but adequate) , wardrobe, and a small bathroom. There was also a small balcony with table and two chairs. We stayed in a room on the second floor the first two nights and then we needed to transfer to a room on the ground floor. (The room we had, was already reserved by someone else.) The second room was larger--two twins pushed together, a sofa and small kitchen. Had a few cups and plates, but that was about all. Still small bathroom. No table and chairs on the balcony, but the door did open to views of the sea.

It was the people that made the hotel. Ms. Zoe and Ms. Nikki at the travel agency (Mrs. Zoe is the daughter in law of th owner of the Dimitra hotel--Mrs. Dimitra) and Mrs. Dimitra and especially Ms. Sonda at the hotel itself. Upon arrival, Ms. Sonda insisted on helping with our luggage and then brought us (delicious!) iced coffee. That night up on the roof garden (tables and chairs set up), Ms. Sonda also brought us tea (all complimentary). The next day, we had need of clothes being washed. Ms. Sonda washed, dried, pressed, and folded our wash (1 load) for 10 Euros. When we changed rooms, Ms. Sonda moved our luggage to our new room for us so that we could go on a sightseeing tour . And upon leaving, she tried very hard to take our luggage to the main street for us! ( The hotel is up from the main street, I think the third level up. Walk was tiring with luggage!! ) We definitely got the impression that if we needed something, anything, they would go above and beyond to try to accommodate us!

Unless there was a need for additional bedding, the smaller room is very nice and perfectly adequate.

We would most assuredly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank sailingwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poros hotels
0.7 mi away
Xenia Poros Image Hotel
0.7 mi away
New Aegli Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Manessi City Hotel
Manessi City Hotel
#8 of 15 in Poros
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden View Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
7 Brothers Hotel
7 Brothers Hotel
#2 of 15 in Poros
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dionysos
Hotel Dionysos
#11 of 15 in Poros
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitra Boutique Hotel

Address: 180 20, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Poros
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Poros
Price Range: $31 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dimitra Boutique Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Dimitra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitra Hotel Poros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing