We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Odyssey Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Odyssey Suites
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Poros
Certificate of Excellence
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time of my life!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was traveling alone for the first time and decided to stay at the Odyssey based on previous reviews I read, I felt that I'd be safe comfortable staying there and that was important to me. From the moment I was picked up at the airport by Vangelis, one of the men they use for transfers I felt as though I was with family! Then when I arrived at the Odyssey and was greeted so warmly by Katerina I knew immediately that I had made the right decision!

I met wonderul people during my stay. All so friendly and welcoming to the lady from NY. The staff was helpful and friendly. They couldn't do enough for you. I didn't feel as though I was staying at a hotel, I felt like I was staying with family. It felt like I was home...but without the responsibility of making my own bed and cleaning my room!

My cooking classes were wonderful. I made (or helped to make) so many wonderful dishes that I can't wait to try at home. There was never a shortage of food or wine during my stay! Katerina is passionate about cooking, Poros, and Greece. You can see it in the way she speaks. She is very proud of what she does and where she is from. she is a wonderful teacher and mentor.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this experience was. It was life changing. I never connected with "strangers" like this before. When I left after 9 days I felt as if I had made friends and discovered new family. I cried as I said my good byes to all the wonderful people I met and especially Katerina. I can only dream that some day I'll be lucky enough to come again and visit. Maybe some day I can go back and help make olive oil from their olive grove!

I highly recommend the Odyssey to anyone who wants to stay some place that feels not like a hotel, but like a home. Warm and inviting with friends that you haven't met yet!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3. I had water views in 2 directions! I think I had the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
25
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We wanted a simple break where hopefully we would get some sunshine and relaxation before winter came. Good food was also on our list, well at this was delivered with extras. I always feel that you get to know about something when thing go wrong, and it turned out that on our first night there was no room at the inn!. But no problem Katherina whisked us off to another hotel for our first night and instead that we should dinner on her, for our trouble. So, good food, a comfortable bed and we had not even arrived!

The next morning she picked us up and showed us to our beautiful room, and then the most wonderful breakfast. This set the standard for the rest of the week. Great food lots of laughs and always helpful. Love the place will be back.

Easy to get to as well flight to Athens and on Piraeus 1 hour boat trip and 5 min taxi.

Go and enjoy, visit your new family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djnl0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My fiance and i spent a week here in august. Katerina and her wonderful staff took every opportunity to make us feel at home and like family. They have created a wonderful environment offering guests a warm smile and beautiful accommodations. Stepping into the apartments was a great treat each story had a private balcony, and was kept in immaculate condition. The apartments had everything you would need to feel comfortable while on vacation just steps away from beautiful beaches, restaurants, scooter rentals, and markets. But there is absolutely no need to dine anywhere else the staff at the odyssey take great pride in providing their guests with the best treats on the island. Words can not convey the overall experience that you have while staying at the odyssey apartments. My fiance and I are not ones to travel to the same place twice but can not wait for the opportunity to visit Katerina, and her lovely staff. we came to the Odyssey as guests but left as friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited the Island of Poros from 28 Sep to 06 Oct 2012. This is our second time visiting the Odyssey having been there two years ago when we attended a Greek Cooking School which is conducted by Katherina the proprietor. There were four of us. This visit we were not coming to cook but to use the Odyssey Apartments as a base to explore the island once more and to see a bit of the Peloponnese. Upon arrival we greeted by Lyko the cute little dog who runs the place, and were treated like family and shown to the same apartments which were in before. The apartments are two stories, on the bottom floor there is a small kitchen, with a little fridge, a heating element, oodles of cutlery and dishes. There is a decent sized table with chairs, two settees and an ajoining bathroom with bathtub. There are plenty of towels. There are many interesting prints and knick knacks throughout the room giving it a most comfortable feeling. Upstairs is reached by a metal circular staircase leading to bedroom with a comfortable queen bed , plenty of linen, small single bed and a large closet to hang clothes and store other luggage. There is also a free safe located in the closet. Again, there is a bathroom with shower located on this floor. There are bedside tables with lamps and drawers to store stuff. Again there were a lovely collection of prints on the walls. There is a small balcony with chairs and a table which overlooks the Odyssey Apartments Courtyard. It is a great place to sit and have a morning coffee and read. There is also a clothes rake for drying towels or bathing suits. The apartments were spotless and always smelled like they had been scrubbed. Kudos to the cleaning staff.

On the ground floor outside the door there is also a small porch with table and chairs where one can relax after exploring or returning from a swim. Breakfast at the Odyssey is superb. Whether one wants simple Greek fare or a full breakfast it was available. There was Greek yogurt with honey and nuts, trays of tomatos, a variety of cheeses, wonderful fresh breads, juices and piping hot coffee. We sat at the same table each morning and there was hardly enough room for all the goodies. My mouth waters as I type. We had a few dinners at the Odyssey and they were all terrific. When talking with Katerina, who really must be the jewel of Poros, she learned that there were a few dishes which we did not have an opportunity to prepare and cook during our last visit. Katerina could not let this occur and, sure enough, we ended up in the kitchen preparing a variety of marvellous dishes. Katerina's mother also became involved and showed us how to prepare Greek pasta, a very labour intensive procedure. Now, of course, all this was accompanied by an endless supply of refreshing wine.

Askeli beach was only steps away and daily we had a refreshing swim in the clear and lukewarm waters. While in Poros we rented quads and explored and wandered through Poros Town. Katerina organized tours, even a trip to Semli Winery in the Peloppenese. She took us for walks in the forest in early morning which certainly stimulated the appetite for breakfast. There is so much more I can say but I have to finish this review.

It is rare that one can find a place where one is treated like family. We had so many good times and laughs that it's hard to remember them all. Katerina and her superb staff were great hosts. Wonderful accommodations, great price, fantastic food within a friendly atmosphere. Any visit Greece (hopefully in two years) would not be complete without a stay at the Odyssey Apartments. Arrive as guests, leave as friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself and two of my best friends heading to Poros with Flying Olive Adventures for 9 days in September. We a a whirlwind week full of site seeing, kayaking and learning to cook Greek cuisine in the cozy kitchen of the Odyssey Apartments. Katarina and Lynette not only opened their cookbooks but opened their hearts to us too. Brian, our kayaking instructor was kind and patient with us as we practiced open water rescue in the most beautiful and warm waters of the Saronic Gulf. We had a lot of laughs.
The accommodations at the Odyssey are clean, comfortable and conveniently located just steps from Askeli beach. A scooter rental is only a block which provided us with our transport around the island. It is located just a mile or so from the bustle of the market place which provides for a bit of tranquility. The staff is kind and quick to meet your needs. The food is quite delicious. What's the best part of staying at the Odyssey? The new friendships you will make. It's hard to say goodbye to Katarina, Brian and the girls which is why so many people come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jukielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent two weeks at Odyssey Apartments in Poros from 9th - 23rd September. Spent the first week sea kayaking with Brian the instructor, which was excellent. The second week we had guided tours by the spendid owner Katerina, hired quad bikes, snorkelled in water as warm as a bath, took at trip to Aegina to visit the amazing temple there, got involved with Katerina's cookery school preparing squid and other excellent dishes for the evening meal. Can't recommend this place enough, its a lovely family run business who just can't do enough for you. Hospitality was second to none. The food was excellent and all the staff were fantastic. We actually met three people there during our stay who had visited before and just keep going back for more. Thanks to Vangelis who took us on a fantastic day excursion - it was Excellent !! Would highly recommend this to anyone who was considering a holiday on a greek island. Hope to go back again - thanks for a fantastic time - Sarah & Andy xxx

Room Tip: All the two storey rooms had balconies and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandAndy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Odyssey for the second year in a row, and like before, it was fabulous!!! Katarina, Brian, Dora and Lyko the dog made us feel very much part of the family, and were all extremely lovely!!! The food was fantastic, we ate every meal in the restaurant apart from our lunches when we were out kayaking. The kayaking itself was great, a good way to see the island and keep active, and Brian the guide provided lots of laughs whilst being very safe! Odyssey cater to your every need, and Katarina's cakes have no rival. I don't think we have ever stayed somewhere as amazing as Odyssey!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyRR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poros hotels
0.2 mi away
New Aegli Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Xenia Poros Image Hotel
0.7 mi away
Saga Hotel Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden View Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Manessi City Hotel
Manessi City Hotel
#5 of 14 in Poros
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dimitra Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odyssey Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odyssey Suites

Property: Odyssey Suites
Address: | Askeli, 180 20, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Poros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Poros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury suites, spatious 2-room accommodation just 40 meters from the beach. Equipped with all comfort and free wifi. Theme weeks with Greek Cooking, Sea-Kayaking or Painting are organised regularly. Our fully licensed bistro serves traditional greek dishes with a twist. And very important, our beds are Cocomat beds, you'll sleep on nature and wake up more then refreshed to enjoy every day of your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Odyssey Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing