We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frosty reception, hot room”
Review of Alkionides Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alkionides Pension
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Frosty reception, hot room”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in June. After a long journey we made our way to the room. At the corner the owner (husband) asked if we were staying at the Alkionides, pointed in the direction of the rooms and left us to struggle with our cases.
We found them & were greeted by his wife with the news that our room wasn't ready. No offer of water, no sorry.
The room's air conditioning is cut if a door or window is open!!!! See photos.
The room's air conditioning is cut by the owner when you leave your room.
In short the owners have no interest in your comfort, enjoyment or well being.
Return later than they think you should, no lights on the staircase.
Nice place, owners anything but.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJK_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very clean place, great mattress!!!, close to harbor. They met us at the boat and showed us the way which was very thoughtful since our ferry arrived late at night. The room was spotless and had a fridge and kettle, which we really appreciate since we were there for 6 days It sits on a dead end and the courtyard gets locked up at night I think around 10 so it's very secure feeling. Only drawback was shower is quite small which was fine for me but my husband is really tall so it was a small inconvenience for him... Lol. The walls also seem quite thin, we could hear all the neighbors, however, no one was overly loud at the wee hours so it wasn't really an issue for us. I would recommend this place, it was a great price and really nice. The wi-fi did not work well. Had to take laptop outside to get it to pick up the signal. iPhone couldn't find signal at all. But for the price, it's a small inconvenience. Most cafes in Hydra have wi-fi also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNSHUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice, quiet, and convenient to the port. There's a great courtyard, too. The price was more than fair and they were extremely accommodating and hospitable. Our room had two twin beds but it didn't bother us. Can't wait to stay there again. We love Hydra!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable, we stayed in the room with it's own patio, looking over the neighborhood into the hills. Such a great break from the hectic Athens. We walked up the entire village, and loved the feel of Idra, with no cars- just donkeys for transport.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1959CARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I use to stay there many times and to send there also my friends and we always enjoyed it . Its located in a dead end street , 2 mns away from the port, no steps and very quiet . Stella and Vangelis are very friendly , rooms and garden clean and comfortable , prices reasonnable

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatachaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The rooms aren't fancy, but plenty of space. Table with coffee maker and tea. Shower curtain in bathroom was a little short, so we had water to sop up water on the bathroom floor. The maid service didn't get to our room til later in the afternoon, which was a problem one of the days. Location is 5 minutes walk from the ferry dock. Uphill, but not too steep. The best thing about the Alkionides was the courtyard. Was very cute and comfortable to sit and visit with our friends and/or other guests. Also, had a paperback "library" to exchange books.. "Cobblestone" walkways on Hydra were uneven and easy to trip on. We saw many arms in slings and wrists in braces!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jts1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The owner solicited us when we got off the ferry offering us a Euro 30 double room. Clean and on a quiet cul-de-sac 5 minute walk fro the harbor. Clean room and with an electric kettle with coffee and tea. Unusual for Greece. Stella the owner's wife runs the place. there was only one other guest and we had the patio to ourselves. Nice lovely town with no motorized transport. A lovely monastery is 2 hours walk up a hill. Small cute harbor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amarillis Hotel
Amarillis Hotel
#12 of 20 in Hydra
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 20 in Hydra
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 20 in Hydra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkionides Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkionides Pension

Property: Alkionides Pension
Address: Miaoulis Street, 180-40, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Alkionides Pension you will enjoy your holiday in a friendly, warm and relaxing environment close to all the fun and activity that Hydra has to offer. Pension Alkionides is only a three-minute stroll from Hydra's harbour and offers excellent accommodation, off a quiet cul-de-sac, in the centre of Hydra town. Ten comfortably furnished, en-suite rooms are arranged around an attractive courtyard garden where you can enjoy your morning coffee or evening drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alkionides Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkionides Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing