We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & Friendly”
Review of Phaedra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phaedra Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing & Friendly”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

After travelling extensively over the past few years, this would have to be one of the nicest places we have been to. Hilda (the owner) provided us with warm friendly service and nothing seemed too muich trouble to her. We would highly recommend this and will definitely return to this idillac boutique hotel - well priced - outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAbroadAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    27
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
114
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My sister had put this hotel down as a possibility when listing places for her guest for her wedding to stay, but neither she nor the pictures of the hotel on the website did it justice. This is a lovely small b&b, with a charming decor, roomy bedrooms that are clean and inviting. We had just come from a 5-star hotel on Santorini and felt even more taken care of here.
The breakfast was lovely and classic. The location was just outside of the main port street, but not a far walk at all. And Hilda was magnificent!
there were so many issues with my travel that i hadn't planned for, including that i just can't do the fast boat to any island without getting sick, and Hilda booked taxis and sea taxis for us so that everything was right there when we needed it.
When the lights went out on the island during a storm on our first night, she came out with a torch to find us and led us back to the hotel, even though it was just around mid-night.
I have traveled so much for work and pleasure, but have never been so moved to write a review but this experience was beyond any expectation. I felt completely taken care of.


(the island is so quaint, no cars, only walking, sea taxis and donkeys... definitely wasn't a place where i needed a pool, it was more a perfect relaxing atmosphere... a colleague from Athens had told us to only spend a couple of days in Hydra but we so wish we had spent more... it was our favorite place the whole trip)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

had a lovely three nights here in sept, but having checked out, and stayed at, other hotels on Ydra..Phaedra is just a bit over priced. Rooms large and comfortable, friendly and helpful staff but sorry very expensive for the money. Had much better breakfasts elsewhere for less money, on our first morning fresh fruit, ham, cheese, pastries, etc, by the third morning no fresh fruit, same pastries as previus day and 'stewed' coffee. For 140 euros a night in sept (midweek) that's a lot!. You can certainly get more for your money elsewhere on island

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karpy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafina, Greece
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Really cosy and very traditional. Hilda represends kindness and fast service. Whatecer she suggested was super!! Great choise!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We just returned to the mainland from 3 nights in Hydra following 4 nights in Spetses (Villa Martha). I have to say I preferred the Hydra stay - leaving aside the better hotel (Phaedra) Spetses' better beaches were outweighed by the sometimes overwhelming irritation of scooter noise. Hydra town is lovely. As others have stated the island is very serene with transport limited to donkeys and by foot. On the noise front, I would have to conclude that the one negative review of the Phaedra has mixed up a hotel on another island - there is no restaurant next door and with no cars or scooters, there is no noise. We stayed in the Antigone room which was very spacious, with a kitchenette and decent sized bathroom. Bed was large double, - quite firm (norm for Greece - not as firm as some), with high quality sheets. The rooms are very well maintained and are spotless. They have been sympathetically renovated and have an old world charm. My only criticism would be the shower - with no hook that the shower head could be slotted into you have to keep the shower in one hand; a not uncommon annoyance in continental Europe. Breakfast was fine - expect Mediterranean style, with bread, ham and cheese, Special K and some extras served by Hilda for that day. For big buffet breakfast fans - Greek island hotels will rarely provide these. As stated by the other reviewers, Hilda is very helpful. She is a highly intelligent woman who one can have a good conversation with - other guests checking in permitting. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet holiday on a beautiful island in an old world charm hotel. While there we also looked at two other hotels - the Bratsera and the Hydra. Bratsera public areas are very nice and renovated from an old sponge factory it is interesting to look around and reception is very happy to allow you to. Pool is small but nicely done. Rooms we could not see. Hydra is newly renovated and it has been really well done. The review for that hotel on Trip Advisor is totally out of date - Hydra is now mainly studio rooms at Euro250 per night - stairs remain a problem there, but views are great. If you are fit and want to pay for a modern 'cool' room I would recommend serious consideration of that. We found restaurants in Hydra fairly standard in pricing with a couple of higher priced exceptions (Bratsera's restaurant being one) - beers at Euro3-3.50, and dishes except fresh fish priced per kg - at Euro7-9. Two cheaper Gyros places - one on the port, the other down an alley just 15 metres from port (beers there at Euro2.50 and Gyros at Euro3 - really good value). No complaints about quality. Also to note - Hilda has an apartment in the centre of Athens that can be rented - newly renovated and roof top views over the university area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2009

For care, concern and efficiency Hilda is unsurpassed! She supplied all of my special needs with resourcefulness and a great sense of humor. This B & B is delightful and my room was very clean with old world charm. Breakfast on the veranda has a lovely view
of rooftops, trees and churches. It is a pleasant walk from from the port. I would call it unpretentious and cozy. It is my home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marni09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We enjoyed a 5 night stay in the Phaedra hotel at the end of May.
Hydra's a beautiful island, which offers a unique taste of Greek island life, and the Phaedra hotel offers a relaxing base from which to enjoy it. Hilda, was a charming & hospitable host, and made excellent recommendations of which local restaurants to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for her. It's a small intimate hotel that we'd love to return to in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 20 in Hydra
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 20 in Hydra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Hotel

Property: Phaedra Hotel
Address: Hydra Town, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phaedra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet, picturesque part of the old city but only a few minutes gentle walk along level streets from the port, the Phaedra Hotel (class 4 stars) offers an intimate and charming atmosphere with rooms that have been sympathetically renovated to a very high standard ensuring superb comfort and convenience while retaining all the character of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phaedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing