We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and quiet and perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phaedra Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Phaedra Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean and quiet and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived at Hydra's Phaedra Hotel after dark on October 29, 2013, and its owner/operator Hilda was up waiting for us (after we'd called and told her our approximate arrival time). She welcomed us warmly to her clean, quiet and pleasant small hotel, which appeared to be several guest rooms with separate entrances on the two levels of what was once a single large house and courtyard. Hilda proved to be a very nice and helpful host, preparing an excellent morning breakfast (by all means partake of her yogurt and honey offering) and orienting us with the layout of Hydra Town and the entire island. The tall-ceilinged room we had on the ground floor was safe and ensconced within the locked courtyard (big doors with a big wall ... not that I can imagine anyone would ever feel unsafe on Hyrda, it's simply a quiet island doing its tourist-driven daily life thing), large windows that open up to breezes, small kitchenette and large bathroom with a stall shower. The bed was a bit hard – a minor quibble, though. The cleanliness and peacefulness are the real main draw. Also, the neighborhood the hotel is in is lovely and perfect -- just off a wide tree-canopied street that zigs and zags but otherwise comes up directly from the port, and other back lanes that wind through the residential district but are fairly easy to figure out once you've walked them a few times. Tall mountain cliffs and the town's homes rise up the hillsides, which are visible all-around you. You have the sounds of birds, roosters, burros occasionally braying, cats. And NO motorized vehicles (a couple work-trucks here and there, actually)!!!! So the overall natural silence of the island is the biggest and most welcoming draw. We wandered Hydra Town and loved the waterfront and the cafes and the creperie, but our favorite experience was walking the waterside road/trail to nearby village Kamini, having lunch there in the tavern that overlooks the little harbor, then hanging out at the pebble beach Vlychos a little further on down the coast. Perfect island experience. And traveling in late October was perfectly doable, pleasant warm weather, sunny, people were still swimming in the comfortable water. Do it and get yourself there! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
107
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived on Hydra after having spent 3 days in Athens and then a 14 day cruise through the Greek Islands and Turkey. This was a highlight of our trip. We had not made a reservation ahead of time because it was the off season. We had a recommendation of this hotel from the friend of a friend. We were not sure what we were getting ourselves into. We arrived in this charming, cat and donkey filled town(there are no cars and we saw only 1 bicycle), and made our way through the streets pulling our luggage to the Phaedra Hotel (don't be afraid to hire a donkey. This is the Hydra "taxi system"). Hilda welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The hotel is small and quiet, but has very spacious rooms that are extremely clean and a wonderful sundeck, and Hilda provides an outstanding breakfast. She is an amazing hostess and so helpful. She is very knowledgeable about the island. Our only problem was waking up! The hotel was so quiet and comfortable, we could sleep forever. We loved every moment of our stay at the Phaedra Hotel and on Hydra Island. We are just sorry we had only 6 days. We will go back the first chance we get, and we will definitely stay at the Phaedra Hotel.

Room Tip: We are not small people, so the size of the beds were important to us. The pictures don't do th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived late at night exhausted from our long and tiring trip on a sailing boat and the owner welcomed us very warmly. What was remarkable about the price was that although there was only one room left at the hotel and no availability at the other hotels of the island, se made us a discount instead of trying to take advantage of the sitation.
The two-floor room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was delicious and caters for all tastes. Definitely cost for value

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the second time my boyfriend and I stayed here and we would both highly recommend it! Hilda is a wonderful hostess and you can tell she takes great pride in her hotel. I am a bit of a neat freak but I can honestly tell you the place is spotless! The breakfasts are delicious...lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The Phaedra Hotel fits right in with the island of Hydra and the location couldn't be better. We hope to return to Hydra and if we do...guess where we will be staying!
Karlarn

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but I was unable to delete the "terrible" rating...I don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Okay, so we landed in Hydra after 4 days in Athens ( more than enough). And what a beautiful landing; into cat-filled streets of Hydra and the gorgeous accommodations of the Phaedra Hotel. For 6 nights we enjoyed sound sleep after long, sun-filled days of beach going, boat riding, street exploring and serious hiking of Hydra hills. All made possible by the comfort and wonderful accommodations of this hotel. Hot, powerful showers, great air-conditioning when needed, and wonderful yummy breakfast. The room had plenty of closet and dresser space, small, but adequate fridge, electric hot water making, but no cooking. Of course, a TV which wasn't necessary and plenty of fresh air when necessary.
Just a few minutes walk up the stone lined streets from the port, the hotel is very convenient to everything, of course, some days you can walk in circles with the lay out of the town.
If we get a chance to go back to Hydra (Idra) I'd definitely stay at the Phaedra, and maybe with some more Greek under my belt I'd understand the interesting conversations of the hotel's local neighbor's as they enjoyed their patios well into the night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ravart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friend and I spent four days at the Phaedra last week. Hilda Eksian is, perhaps, the most welcoming, warm hotel owner I have ever met. She made our trip delightful from the moment we landed in Athens. The Phaedra is spotlessly clean, airy and well-appointed. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast (and excellent coffee) on the terrace each morning. The hotel is near the port, but feels secluded in a quiet neighborhood. It is a charming old building with high ceilings, beautiful windows and sunny spots in which to relax or have a glass of wine. We will return! We recommend the Phaedra Hotel without reservation to anyone planning a trip to Greece.

Room Tip: Rely on Hilda's advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_Vonnegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Phaedra is a charming B&B in a great location on the delightful island of Hydra. It is recommended in Rick Steves and deservedly so.

The owner, Hilda, is part travel agent, part grandmother. She seems to know EVERYone on Hydra and wants only the best for her guests.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with high ceilings and the air conditioners work. They even have kitchenettes but those have very few supplies. Many rooms also have a balcony or porch and the staff did our laundry for us which was very kind.

Hilda will set her guests up with non-rip-off mule rides and directions to the best beaches and restaurants. We felt as if we were getting not only a lovely place to stay but also some very helpful first-hand advice. If it weren´t for Hilda, Hotel Phaedra would be slightly overpriced since the rates are quite high. But, she will make sure that your vacation is as interesting and stress-free as possible.

We would definitely return and miss Hilda and Hotel Phaedra already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kern22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 22 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#8 of 22 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Hotel

Property: Phaedra Hotel
Address: Hydra Town, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phaedra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet, picturesque part of the old city but only a few minutes gentle walk along level streets from the port, the Phaedra Hotel (class 4 stars) offers an intimate and charming atmosphere with rooms that have been sympathetically renovated to a very high standard ensuring superb comfort and convenience while retaining all the character of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Phaedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing