We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ippokampos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ippokampos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel ippokampos is a very nice hotel. The breakfast is ver nice with homemade cakes , marmalade and bread! The staff is very polite and always willing to help out with everything. The rooms have a marvelous view. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and is very close to the port.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Φανουρία Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

filthy room, hair on the sheets, very rude staff, room was smaller than a closet and horribly overpriced. i will visit Ydra again, because it's truly a gorgeous island, but as sure as hell im not staying at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

They have to do something with the reception timetable. During the night nobody is there that means that you cannot receive any telephone calls. they have good will and I hope they are going to correct it....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel responded exactly what we wanted: nice, sober, clean and spacious room. Nice view to the harbor. The hotel is quietly located near the shops and nice restaurants. The courtyard is an ideal place for breakfast in the freshness of the bougainvillea. We had a very restful stay in this hotel. We will certainly return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank RenzoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are -expectedly, given the age of the buildings in hydra- on the small side, but those on the second floor, boast a terrific view on the rooftops of hydra port. There is a lovely courtyard, where one enjoys the breakfast, which has some nice homemade touches. Staff are friendly. Not cheap, but by the standards of hydra affordable

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pontikak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
726 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Such a great location, charming courtyard, spacious rooms, balconies if you're willing to walk up a couple of flights - but the mattresses are hideous. I had the worst nights sleep for the 2 months that I'd been on the road. By the third night I'd almost solved the problem by using layers of blankets and clothes but it's such a pity that a potentially good hotel is undermined by this factor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stay in October 2013. The hotel and staff were very nice. Loved the island, not over crowded this time of year. Breakfast was quite decent with a nice variety. The owner even got up at a very early hour to make sure we had a breakfast before our trip back to Athens !
Some have complaints about the mattresses - mine was fine and I usually have problems with such.
The courtyard was lovely for late afternoons catching up on emails and skypeing back home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monhegan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#8 of 22 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 22 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ippokampos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ippokampos Hotel

Property: Ippokampos Hotel
Address: Tobazi, 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ippokampos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ippokampos Hotel,in a perfect place for relaxed and elegant holidays in Hydra, without cars or motorcicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ippokampos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ippokampos Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing