We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special place”
Review of Il Casta

Il Casta
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Neapolitan Cuisine. Homemade pastas, daily fresh seafood, salads, Italian wines.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a special place”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our evening at Il Casta was a great surpise. We absolutely had no intention to eat italian food in Greece, but when we walked by the place it looked so attractive and cosy that we simply couldn't resist.
We had a wonderful meal with the best fish we have eaten in a long time.
Also the wine Pietro, the owner, advised us was excellent.
Pietro is a very sweet person,, and it was lovely to get to know him
I raccomend ristorante il Casta very much to anybody who wants to have a really high quality neapolitan food experience in the enchanting atmosphere of a Greek coutyard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinevaneikema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    44
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality, high prices!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

As a greek I really do appreciate good quality ingredients in my dish. Il casta offers a delicate Italian kitchen with satisfying quantities and carefully chosen ingredients. HOWEVER, I simply cannot understand the 10€ for the salad or the 6€ for a two-piece bruschetta. I guess the place is top on the list here because foreign tourists are the main customers who don't really seem to have a clearer idea on how much the greek dining costs in average.

Helpful?
3 Thank Giorgos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't miss this place, it's superb!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Finding this restaurant tucked away in an idyllic little street not far from the port was a really great surprise. The food was superb.. truly authentic Neapolitan cooking, and the atmosphere was wonderful too. If you are going to Hydra this place is not to miss!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faenza, Italy
1 review
“Amazing place, the one and only in this island.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We've tryed this place just the day we landed and had't found a reason to move to another.
It's simply unique. We ordered the mussels and they were astonishing.
Some type of cooking which is mixture between southern italian e greek one.

Stoping at this place is a mandatory!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magic place! STUNNING”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have been here quite few times and i have to say this place is simply EXCELLENT!!!!
Great italian seafood, friendly staff and beautiful place, the perfect mix! Absolutely one of my favourite and i feel i would reccomend it to anyone !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffaele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Casta also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Been to Il Casta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing