We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, charming hotel in Hydra”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet, charming hotel in Hydra”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Mistral Hotel was very charming, secluded and serene. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the port and was very easy to get to all the restaurants, shops, etc. Hydra is a beautiful island, which was not full of tourists (we were there is late May, early June). The breakfast was really nice and always fresh. The hotel staff was also really friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small but other than that it was a very comfortable and nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    61
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
116
249
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mistral for several days. Very clean and well serviced. Beautiful courtyard to have breakfast, which was served to you. Not the usual buffet type, and included great variety, with soup, eggs, cheese pie and a small sweet. Someone must have told the owners that breakfast is the most important meal of the day! Very efficient manageress, but she needs to smile more. Certainly did not exude any warmth.
The location was quite a walk from the port, when lugging suitcases, but once you're here, and in holiday mode, the walk to the beaches and restaurants is fine.
Definitely recommend here as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel was a 5 minute walk from the port. Even with luggage, it wasn't hard to get to. Jenny was kind enough to upgrade us to the the white studio. The room had a double with 2 singles. The bed however, was too firm. There was a kitchenette with fridge, stove top, and utensils. There was a lovely, shared-courtyard outside the room which felt private since the other patrons barely used it. Of course, Theo and his breakfasts did not disappoint.

Room Tip: The white studio room for space and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuteye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for five nights in early June and found the Mistral the perfect antidote to busy city life. Our room, though small, was very comfortable and spotless. As everyone notes, the breakfast is exceptional with different temptations every day. You really don't need lunch! Jenny and Theo couldn't have done more to help. Hydra is a delightful island and we plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stripesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived to Hotel Mistral as the first part of our trip. We were tired from the long travel. We were greeted right away and felt comfortable our entire stay. The hotel is very close to the port (about a 5 minute walk) but its far enough away that its very quiet when it comes to sleeping. The hotel lobby is very pretty with comfortable seating which connects to an outdoor patio that is charming and filled with flowers. This is where we had our amazing breakfast. I know others have mentioned this, but just to repeat, all other hotel breakfasts will disappoint once you've had Hotel Mistral's. Everything is made fresh. No menu, or buffet. Everything is brought to your table. Some example of what we had, cereal, fresh Greek pastries, hard boiled eggs, Greek yogurt, fresh fruit. The food kept coming. I would be shocked if someone couldn't find something to eat from all that was provided.

We traveled with our 2 1/2 year old daughter and the hotel was courteous enough to offer us a choice of rooms. We chose the main floor room so we did not have to bother with stairs.

The room was very clean and pretty spacious. The bathroom is small but very clean and has all the necessities.

Hydra is a gorgeous island full of personality and beauty. I highly recommend it to anyone who is contemplating where in Greece to travel. If you come to Hydra, Hotel Mistral is THE place to go.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor for function (we had a 2 1/2 year old) however, if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a wondelful week end of may at hotel Mistral. Very lovely rooms. Air conditionning if you wish, clean. We loved : the perfect organisation of the transfers from Athen's airport to Hydra, the amazing Theo's breakfasts, the beautiful green terrasse, the wifi connexion works very well. Hôtel Mistral and Hydra are a little paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After 2 weeks of an active trip from Croatia to Greece, the Island of Hydra and the Mistral Hotel were the perfect place to be. The hotel with its delightful courtyard is quiet and shaded and a pleasure to return to after a day of walking and exploring. Our twin bed room was large and bright and air conditioned and immaculate. Breakfast each morning was a special treat - always something delicious and new -- and more than we could eat. We had four nights and wish we could have stayed several more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#7 of 20 in Hydra
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral is a 3 star hotel located just 3 minutes from Hydra's port. A stone mansion with 17 rooms that its proud in keeping Hydra's traditional colors and atmosphere. All rooms are renovated with modern facilities and comfort. In our flowered garden you can enjoy a different breakfast everyday, homemade with traditional products. Mistral and Hydra ....both simple yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing