We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Delicious”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Delicious”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived to Hotel Mistral as the first part of our trip. We were tired from the long travel. We were greeted right away and felt comfortable our entire stay. The hotel is very close to the port (about a 5 minute walk) but its far enough away that its very quiet when it comes to sleeping. The hotel lobby is very pretty with comfortable seating which connects to an outdoor patio that is charming and filled with flowers. This is where we had our amazing breakfast. I know others have mentioned this, but just to repeat, all other hotel breakfasts will disappoint once you've had Hotel Mistral's. Everything is made fresh. No menu, or buffet. Everything is brought to your table. Some example of what we had, cereal, fresh Greek pastries, hard boiled eggs, Greek yogurt, fresh fruit. The food kept coming. I would be shocked if someone couldn't find something to eat from all that was provided.

We traveled with our 2 1/2 year old daughter and the hotel was courteous enough to offer us a choice of rooms. We chose the main floor room so we did not have to bother with stairs.

The room was very clean and pretty spacious. The bathroom is small but very clean and has all the necessities.

Hydra is a gorgeous island full of personality and beauty. I highly recommend it to anyone who is contemplating where in Greece to travel. If you come to Hydra, Hotel Mistral is THE place to go.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor for function (we had a 2 1/2 year old) however, if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    61
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
111
248
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a wondelful week end of may at hotel Mistral. Very lovely rooms. Air conditionning if you wish, clean. We loved : the perfect organisation of the transfers from Athen's airport to Hydra, the amazing Theo's breakfasts, the beautiful green terrasse, the wifi connexion works very well. Hôtel Mistral and Hydra are a little paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After 2 weeks of an active trip from Croatia to Greece, the Island of Hydra and the Mistral Hotel were the perfect place to be. The hotel with its delightful courtyard is quiet and shaded and a pleasure to return to after a day of walking and exploring. Our twin bed room was large and bright and air conditioned and immaculate. Breakfast each morning was a special treat - always something delicious and new -- and more than we could eat. We had four nights and wish we could have stayed several more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This property is about a 5-minute walk to the port and shoreline shops. No cars allowed on this beautiful island but there is mule transportation. Jenny and Theo are fabulous. The extravagant breakfasts were prepared from scratch by the owner, Theo, and served in the beautiful garden. The Mistral is immaculate. It was hot when we were there in early June, 2012, so we took a water taxi around the island to one of the beaches. I would suggest a cooler time of year. We would have like to hike the interior but it was just too hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay in this hotel on the island of Hydra was one of my better hotel experiences in Europe. I stayed there for 3 days on October 2012.

I had had a pretty unsavory experience in Athens where I was scammed, and my stay in this hotel gave me renewed faith in the Greek people. I found them delightful people to talk to and had a couple of wonderful story-swapping chats with them. There was a real family atmosphere in the hotel, so it was a comforting place to return to.

The breakfasts in the courtyard were absolutely amazing. Home-cooked delights.

I left some clothes in the wardrobe of my hotel, which was a problem for me because I needed warm clothes when I continued my trip to England. They were courteous and generous enough to send the clothes to my daughter in England. It was one of those acts of kindness that deserved a special mention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dancin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Greece.... the Penisula and the islands. Hydra was perfect and staying at the Hotel Mistral made it more so. It's immaculately clean, the room is fine, and the garden, where breakfast is served, is beautiful. Jenny and Theo were perfect hosts and his breakfasts are "to die for!". They were not only delicious!... They were also beautiful to look at. We had only booked for 2 nights and were so sorry that we had not planned on staying for at least 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently stayed in the family suite at the Mistral. The room is on the top floor, and you actually walk outside across the patio to get to the door. The room has plenty of character- exposed beams, kitchenette, three beds, and a couch. The room was clean and breezy. The only issue is the sloped ceiling- the room is a converted attic. With the patio right outside your door, it made a great place to sip a glass of wine in the evening or a cup of coffee in the morning, listening to the sounds of Hydra.
Breakfast was very good. Different specialties each day,and prompt service. Jenny (expat Canadian-perfect English) and her husband were very helpful and accommodating. My kids loved their bottle cap chasing dog!

Room Tip: If you reserve the family suite, make sure to keep your head low
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MELPARTYOF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 20 in Hydra
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#7 of 20 in Hydra
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 20 in Hydra
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hydra
Hotel Hydra
#6 of 20 in Hydra
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral is a 3 star hotel located just 3 minutes from Hydra's port. A stone mansion with 17 rooms that its proud in keeping Hydra's traditional colors and atmosphere. All rooms are renovated with modern facilities and comfort. In our flowered garden you can enjoy a different breakfast everyday, homemade with traditional products. Mistral and Hydra ....both simple yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing