We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have travelled the world for years and I have to say this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, and one of the loveliest islands. I was there for a week end of March/April and didn't want to leave! My room was nice and big and spotlessly clean with a view of the town. The breakfast was out of this world - something new every morning and leaves you full well into the afternoon. The staff are really courteous and it's in a quiet part of the town, but just round the corner from some good restaurants and a short walk from the harbour.
The only downside for me was the lack of wifi in the room but there is wifi in the public areas and outside on the lovely terrace. Hydra is a little expensive but I would highly recommend a visit to the island and if you do, stay at this hotel!
(Christina and Manolis's restaurant just round the corner is really good value for money if you want to save a bit on food- the harbour side cafes and restaurants are much more expensive)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali_Bags_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 510 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mistral for three nights in March 2013 and in general were not very happy.
We made the reservation over the phone the same morning, and since we were traveling with our baby we asked for a spacious room. They had two options - they gave us the price for each. We decided to arrive and see what we like more.
The arrival was very nice - they sent a porter to help us bring our luggage from the port to the hotel. The hotel is located up in town, about 5 minutes walk.
Upon arrival they showed us the rooms, we preferred the larger one that looked fine at first glance.
However the price increased by 10 EUR since our phone call. We said that this was not the price given, so they reduced it back.
The room was very nice, but the shower was in bad shape. There were rust stains on the bathtub as well as the shower head which could hardly be hanged on its stand, and had very little water coming out of it, spraying in strange directions.
Breakfast was served to the tables. Each day they made something new which was nice. However we were extremely surprised that they charged us extra for espresso which we asked for on breakfast (and they never bothered to tell us it costs extra). It was the first and only time any hotel charged us for this in Greece.
In general the experience with Mistral is not the best. The hotel is nice, but the shower was not well maintained. They were polite, but had nothing of the warm Greek welcome we were used to.
We cannot recommend this place, and visiting Hydra again, we would chose another option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamochillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were recently in Hydra on a day trip. Our return boat got delayed due to weather. Another family who were on the same boat back to Athens, decided to take water taxi and taxi on the mainland to go to Athens. It was arranged by the Hotel they stayed in. Before they left, they gave us the name of the hotel with assurance that the staff there was very helpful and if needed, we can contact them. In turned out that our boat was ultimately cancelled leaving us stuck there which we could not afford given our tight schedule. Not knowing anyone, we decided to walk over to Hotel which turned out to be a nice boutique hotel. True to reference, the proprietor was more than willing to help and even though we had not stayed there, she went out of her way to help us get back to Athens. I would strongly recommend this hotel for the wonderful service and great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SamBar725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice cosy boutique hotel on a beautiful island. You will juste enjoy the great hospitality from Jenny and the excellent breakfast - Every day they surprise their guest with something new.
Jenny will also provide you with all insides what to see and where to eat.

Don´t miss Hydra! Stay in Mistral and you will just enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

For almost 30 years now we come to this hotel on the wonderfull island of Hydra. Excellent service and food as usual. Nice cool rooms with all comfort in a traditional old greek building.
Enjoyed drinks on the pleasing courtyard before going to dinner. We are still fascinated by the unique atmosphere of the island and are allready planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our favourite place in the world....have to fit in a visit every year. Should not be missed. Really perfection in every way. Don't miss out. Hydra and the Mistral Hotel go hand in hand. Just looking at our 2013 travel plans now. Roll on ... Excellent food and hospitality. Nothing but excellence.

Martine & Eric
IRELAND

Room Tip: All room are excellent and different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martine1234564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husand and I had the privilege on spending 5 nights at this hotel in August (we have just returned from travelling, hence the late review).
When we arrived on the ferry (we were told we would be met) there was a little man on the dock saying Australia, Australia and when I said yes the crew men threw our heavy luggage down to him (thought it was going to go in the water). When we arrived down the gangplank he had it in a cart and I said Hotel Mistral and he said yes, yes and off he went (apparently he was a porter that the hotel employs to assist visitors with the luggage).
We initially thought it was quite a long way from the port up and around a lot of small narrow streets. Thank goodness our man was there to show us the way and take the heavy luggage as it was 38 degrees that day. When we arrived he also bounded up the stairs with the heavy luggage and then headed off. I didnt even get to tip him.

We quickly booked and were shown to our large room overlooking the garden. The room was very clean and quite large compared to other hotels we were in, in Greece previous to this one.
The bed and the pillows were so comfortable that we slept in most mornings and if we hadnt have heard people chatting over breakfast in the garden, would have missed out.
Once we got a map and directions back to the port we found it wasnt really that far and in fact was just a 15 min leisurely stroll. There were quite a few restaurants close by that you might not find without recommendations from the owner.
Breakfast was lovely. Every day was something different that Theo had cooked up. Loved the frittata one morning. Mainly greek type food but we could always find something to eat.
When it was time to book the ferry to go back to Athens the owner rang the local travel agent to hold a seat for us a couple of days in advance as the ferries get booked out. We didnt know that. She also helped us change our seats on the flight from Athens to Paros to an earlier plane as we were leaving on an earlier ferry than previously planned (changes in the schedule). She also had a taxi waiting at Pireus to wisk us away to the airport (Wonderful I would recommend as there were no taxis on the rank outside when we arrived and we may have missed out flight.
This is the hotel you should stay at in Hydra. We saw some of the other hotels that we had considered but we were so glad that we chose this one. From the outside it looks like an old english house with ivy growing up the walls and a cool courtyard.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the front garden on the first floor was very large. Some reviews had said the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
344 reviews
0 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range: $100 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mistral is a 3 star hotel located just 3 minutes from Hydra's port. A stone mansion with 17 rooms that its proud in keeping Hydra's traditional colors and atmosphere. All rooms are renovated with modern facilities and comfort. In our flowered garden you can enjoy a different breakfast everyday, homemade with traditional products. Mistral and Hydra ....both simple yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mistral Hotel Hydra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing