We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third year in a row” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hydra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hydra
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
kvantum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Third year in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The photos shown on the hotel website do not do justice to the elegance of the rooms which are cleaned diligently every day. Fresh, soft and spotless towels are changed daily. Beach towels are provided on demand. Two bottles of mineral water are replenished daily in the fridge free of charge.

Breakfast is served on the patio or in your room. It is brought on a tray and by the moment it reaches the table …diet goes down the drain. You can order any kind of coffee and that for me is a plus. By the way, they make great cappuccino!

Katerina Nikolaidou, the manager of the hotel, pampers the guests and attends to every little detail of creating a perfect customer experience.

So, it would not be an overstatement to say that Hotel Hydra was the reason I fell in love with the island of Hydra three years ago. Likewise, it would not be an exaggeration to say that Hotel Hydra is the reason I return to the island every summer and the reason I plan to do so for the years to come!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kvantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Hydra Hotel in July. We had the "room with the view" and another lovely room. Beautiful experience, excellent service, breakfast prepared with care and love. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitsaZervou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Hotel, and we had a wonderful time. We stayed two nights in the downstairs room which was very comfortable. and then one night in the top room with a balcony overlooking the port, which was spectacular. You reach the hotel by climbing a few steps so you need to be fairly fit, but once you're up there you can enjoy a lovely breeze and view of the island, and there are some good restaurants within easy reach.

Katerina, who runs the place, is delightful. She invited us for a drink at another new hotel they are opening, and they couldn't have been more charming or helpful.

All in all, a great place to stay if you are looking for comfort and tranquillity on an amazing island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cab_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were recommended Hotel Hydra by friends and found a little gem when checking out the website. So we booked for 5 nights in June. The renovation of the hotel has been done with an eye for detail and design. The colours used to paint the lobby/room are soft, the books about culture and art placed in the common areas add a lovely touch, the cosy airy little patio and great bedlinnen were all superb. You could call the design 'Scandinavian Style' : pretty with subdued atmosphere. The room was very clean. Not a sand grain sticking when going bare foot. Airconditioning worked well and immediately without the usual bad noise.
The steps to the hotel, some people have complained about, are not bad. Do not go to Hydra if you cannot walk/climb steps! We found the steps to be good excercise to balance the great food and wine we were served during the holiday.
Katarina's and her colleague's hospitality were great. We felt so welcome and taken care of.

The only 2 reasons to give 4 instead of 5 stars are:
1) the pillows im the room. Each bed has two but they are quite solid and thick and we were both not very comfortable with these. I have to say though that we in general experience this when staying at hotels, so this may be our prejudice, and we actually did not ask for other pillows (that may have been available?).
2) the breakfast did not have much hearty choices; no ham, cheese, tomatoes. The bread was a bit simple (prepacked buns and then backed of is my guess). But the yoghurt, croissants, cappucino and fresh orange juice made it more interesting.

All in all a lovely stay and for sure a place to come back to. Stylish great quiet place in Hydra!

Room Tip: Looking for scandinavian style and cleaniness, whith great value for money - stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estdk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a charming, little hotel that is clean, spacious and well-run. Definitely stay in room 202 with the balcony. It overlooks the entire port and the views can't be beat!

No secret here...there are a lot of stairs. We counted 136 to the hotel, not including the 15 or so stairs leading to the front door and inside the hotel. Make sure you hire a donkey to take your bag(s) up (and down) the stairs....it's worth every penny!

The continental breakfast was lovely and we were able to eat it on our balcony. The breakfast includes Greek yogurt, pastries, hard boiled eggs, juice and fresh fruit. The juice was so good that when we got home, we searched multiple Greek supermarkets until we found it.

We would recommend this hotel and will stay there again, if we return to Hydra.

Room Tip: Room 202 with the balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodes244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

First of all, if you are a mellow vacationer, then Hydra is your place. Then, if on Hydra and you don't mind stairs, then this hotel is a very nice choice. Our room was the room with the balcony with the 180 degree view of the harbor, town, and surrounding hills. The room was spotless, the bed and furniture were very comfortable. Some have said the bathroom was small, but I thought it was fine. However, not convenient for a tall person to keep all of the water in the shower, but I guess that's what the drain is for. There's a nice indoor patio for breakfast, which is basic continental. Lots of raves on the yogurt, however. The only way to deadbolt the room is with the key, so I wisely decided to leave the key in the lock overnight (for safety - who wants to be looking for a key in the dark if you have to get out). Not so wise was letting the door close behind us when we left for breakfast - the staff can't open the door if the key is in the lock inside. They were a bit peeved at us. And although Katerina did a nice job arranging for the baggage donkeys to meet our ferry (we caught an earlier ferry and gave her very little notice), she also slept through our 6:30 am departure 4 days later. After renting 3 rooms for 4 nights some coffee and rolls was certainly warranted.

I would go back to Hydra in a minute, and alternate days of hiking with days of hanging out at the Sunset Bar, eating, drinking, sunning, and cooling off in the sparklingly clear Aegean.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyRicardo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked for one night on our way back to Athens from Spetses. This small hotel had been highly recommended by friends. We had been warned of the many steep steps and when Katerina texted me to ask our expected arrival time, I asked her to book a donkey to carry our suitcases. Be aware that it is a fixed tariff on Hydra for donkey hire, expensive at 15 euros each way, but with three sets of baggage we could not have managed without it.

We had a warm welcome on arrival and our large room with separate sitting room was lovely but quite expensive. The air conditioning was effective, and the TV had the usual English-speaking channels: CNN and BBC World News. The view across the harbour was amazing. The room was very clean, looked recently redecorated and to a maintained to a high standard. However the bathroom was quite small - shower cubicle but no bath..

We opted to have breakfast in the little internal courtyard although we could have opted to have it in our room. It was a fairly simple continental breakfast; I disagree with others that breakfast is 'huge'. For dinner there are plenty of restaurants nearby at the same level on the hillside, including the aptly-named Sunset Restaurant. Katerina and her colleague were charming, spoke excellent English and were very helpful.

In summary, not cheap but very pleasant for couples on a short break. Steep steps at the hotel entrance and more stairs inside with no lift left me breathless on arrival despite being fit. Therefore difficult to access for anyone not reasonably fit - but then so is most of Hydra.

Room Tip: Rooms face onto the harbour but windows are quite small. Don't try to carry suitcases to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hydra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 22 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#5 of 22 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#8 of 22 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hydra

Property: Hotel Hydra
Address: 8 Voulgari M., 180 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hydra 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours away from the port of Piraeus, “Hotel Hydra” underwent a huge refurbishment, reopening and it is already the V.I.P. destination. Tasteful and meeting high standards it is an addition to the island’s unique elegance and is in itself a reason for a trip to the island of Hydra, Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hydra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing