We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud stereo at Miramare”
Review of Mandhraki Beach

Ranked #11 of 24 things to do in Hydra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sandy beach great for relaxing and sunbathing.
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loud stereo at Miramare”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mandhraki beach is the local name for the beach occupied by MiraMare hotell. They use the name sandy beach. Its mostly for the kids with a Watertrampoline as the main attraction. The most expensive beach on the island and loud music playing all day long from the bar. Not my favorite.
Walk by the coast for 20 minutes or take a boat (3 EUR) to get there. Sunbeds 3 euro.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank supersandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    20
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandbu, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little bit noisy, but the taverna is splendid.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The sandy beach is good for children.
It is clean and it is comfortable.
The music could however sometimes be a bit laud.
The most splendid thing about Mira Mare is its taverna,
Good food and a skilled waiter who knows what he is doing.
We recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandbu_NorwayOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The water was beautiful and clear. We loved the atmosphere. The hotel could clean up a bit. The garbage cans attracted a lot of bees!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank masgchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach but nothing special”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a nice walk from the port of Hydra. We got some nice beach chairs and stayed for about an hour but left before anyone asked us to pay or order drinks. The beach was pebbly. Visibility was poor in the water, but that might be because it was windy and waves were high. Still, you could see the bottom which was about 10-20 feet (3-6 meters) deep. We liked the beach on the other side of Hydra more, but the walk in this direction was more picturesque.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnapolisKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Long Walk from Harbor/Town, Very Very Pebbly "Beach".”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I visited Hydra in June with my brother and sister. We read that this is Rick Steves favorite beach in the Hydra area, so we decided to check it out. Most little taxi boats don't start running until after 11am in Hyrda, so we decided to walk. The walk from town to this beach is long-ish (between 25 and 40 minutes), but it was truly a very nice and beautiful walk -- soooo beautiful! We got to Mandhraki Beach at about 9:30am -- it was totally empty! Which was really nice. But be warned - this beach is very very pebbly. To the point that it was REALLY painful to walk. We hung out for about 20 minutes and decided to leave. On our way out, we tried to wash our feet in an outdoor shower. When we turned the water on HUNDREDS OF WASPS swarmed out from under the cement shower base. YIIKES!
Now, if you're interested in just relaxing and sunning, this is a nice beach -- you can rent a chair and an umbrella, and it's very pretty. But if you're interesting in swimming or have children, look elsewhere for water sport.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank annilizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandhraki Beach also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Mandhraki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing