We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only grumpy service in Greece”

Sunset Restaurant Hydra
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The only grumpy service in Greece”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Undeniably a sensational view for sunset, but spoiled by a surly waiter. We would have stayed for dinner but didn't want to give them our money. Plus, he over-charged for the wine. It seemed totally untypical from the rest of the service we experienced in Hydra and Athens. Instead, we went to Ostria and had the most amazing caught-that-morning calamari. Go there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-Adie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    118
    48
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful View with okay service and pricey food/drink”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a lovely looking restaurant that overhung the Aegean Sea that we stopped at on our walk from the beach back to town. It was a beautiful setting with white table clothes, but the staff was clearly very disappointed that we only ordered a snack and two drinks at 4 in the afternoon. He literally took to two nice placemats off our table after placing them there when he found out that we were not eating a full meal. However, we enjoyed our drinks and the view anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal view”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The view is just extraordinary, overlooking the magnificent port of Hydra. The whole restaurant has been set up as to make this experience unforgettable. This is why so many couple decide to have their wedding ceremony at Sunset!
Ideally situated with ample space, good quality food and a good selection of wines, makes it one of teh places not to be missed when you visit Hydra.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steli0s667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok View But Overpriced”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did not eat here but came for drinks. We thought the service was slow considering it was not busy and the drinks very overpriced compared to the rest of Yhdra

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adihighpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Worth a visit just for the view, a very extensive menu attentive and friendly staff and very child friendly. All the food was delicious, be sure to dine in the evening to appreciate the sunset. Would love to return here some day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank higadoconchianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Restaurant Hydra also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing