We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Restaurant Hydra

Sunset Restaurant Hydra
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

5 of us went for dinner at sunset. Location is lovely. Service was great. Food was excellent. We finished the meal with 'Orange Pie'. Oh my goodness! That is, without doubt, the best dessert I have ever eaten. Wow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pengwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    117
    48
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The view, the menu, the service and the food are all top rate. A trip to Hydra to not complete without at least one meal at the Sunset.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grannytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The only and lonely reason to go there is the amazing view from the balcony, especially during sunset.
The name is enough :-)
Food is good, I have to say, even though the place tries to move too much to a kind of "Italian cousine" whereas it should get much more focused on the Greek delicious meals.
No need for pasta or stuff like that - go to Italy if you want to eat real Italian food. Just enjoy the sunset, the peaceful location and the delicious Greek food

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome setting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I expected a great deal more from this restaurant. The setting above the bay is exceptional with views as far as Athens, the lining table cloths and well presented wait staff lead me to believe this would be a memorable dining experience. However this wasn't to be. Service is extremely poor, delivering mains while the empty starters were still on the table. Even though I'd asked them to remove them before attempting to deliver and no change of silverware. Dinner plates not cleared away even though we sat for a further 30 min after finishing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Humptyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited here two years ago and the service and shrimp with garlic sauce was exceptional. This time the service was pretty slow, and the shrimp dish was only adequate, but the view cannot be beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Restaurant Hydra also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Been to Sunset Restaurant Hydra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing